1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to play online with ps3???

Discussion in 'Video Gaming' started by Randomjim, Dec 4, 2007.

  1. Randomjim
    Offline

    Randomjim Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,752
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Dec 4, 2007]
    I have a new ps3 with the 40gb hard drive which doesn't come with the lead for hooking it up to the net. I have a ethernet cable an i tried that into the back of my computer but it didn't work. Anyone know?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 20, 2014]

  3. Sam-K
    Offline

    Sam-K Has a throbbing red german.

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Dec 4, 2007]
    should come with a black cable? which is exactly the same as an ethernet cable... also. you need to plug it into your router, if you're not wireless..
    #2
  4. Randomjim
    Offline

    Randomjim Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,752
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Dec 4, 2007]
    Whats my router lol. I have a bt modem thing but it doesn't have a ethernet input.
    #3
  5. Sam-K
    Offline

    Sam-K Has a throbbing red german.

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Dec 4, 2007]
    lol.. ummm.. what kind of internet do you have? is it a homehub? and is the modem the only thing plugged into the telephone line?
    #4
  6. Randomjim
    Offline

    Randomjim Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,752
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Dec 4, 2007]
    Got aol broadband silver with a bt modem plugged into the phoneline with dsl filters.
    #5
  7. Sam-K
    Offline

    Sam-K Has a throbbing red german.

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Dec 5, 2007]
    Not wireless at all then..? if not and you can't plug it in anywhere other than the computer.. i'm not sure! :S
    #6
  8. Randomjim
    Offline

    Randomjim Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,752
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Dec 5, 2007]
    Not wireless, i had wireless but it gave me a **** connection so i took it back. I'll just have to go into game or something an get the other lead.
    #7
  9. Sam-K
    Offline

    Sam-K Has a throbbing red german.

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Dec 5, 2007]
    yeah mate give that a go. And/or go to playstations website , theres a forum where most of this stuff is answered..
    #8
  10. Randomjim
    Offline

    Randomjim Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,752
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Dec 5, 2007]
    oh ok cool nice one, cheers buddy
    #9
  11. Big_Al_A3
    Offline

    Big_Al_A3 1st Gear 1st Audi \o/

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 10, 2007]
    As far as i'm aware there's no way of connecting a ps3 online without either the ethernet cable or wireless. I use a router so connect straight from the ps3 to my router and it's away. If you only have a usb modem to connect to the internet from your pc you either need to replace this with a router or if your pc has an available ethernet port connect this to the ps3 (note if your pc shows cable not connected you might need a "special" ethernet cable called a crossover cable) and then use internet connection sharing on your pc to get the ps3 online.
    #10
  12. Sam-K
    Offline

    Sam-K Has a throbbing red german.

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Dec 10, 2007]
    or borrow someones unprotected wireless :)
    #11
  13. Randomjim
    Offline

    Randomjim Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,752
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Dec 10, 2007]
    I've plugged it in to the ethernet port with a cable i found lying around at work and it recognises that it's plugged in and as far as i can tell it's giving it a 1gb connection. But when i do the connection test it times out so i dunno.
    #12
  14. howdy quattro
    Offline

    howdy quattro Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Dec 15, 2007]
    i had similar trouble gettin mine set up, as far as i no all ps3s are wireless capable, it might be a problem with your modem not clearing your ps3 for security reasons like an unrecognised wep key or even the ip address, best thing to do i reckon is try givin the wireless system another chance mate, thats what i did in the end, well worth it too!!
    #13

Share This Page