1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to on... Hardwiring in an accessory.

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by TAC, Feb 25, 2010.

  1. TAC
    Offline

    TAC 3.2 V6 Burble... hmmmmmmm

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Feb 25, 2010]
    Right Now having completed the install and with photos is a blow by blow guide of how to do it.

    First things first what you will need:

    Cigarette adaptor £9.99 (got mine from road angel however sure more available on the bay)
    Fuse Holder £3.49 (Halfords)
    Mini fuse 20A £1.89 (Halfords)
    Blade connector
    Bullet connector
    Some cable ties and some foam.

    Right step 1
    Identify which fuse point to use I went through them all with my meter and found which were constant lives and which were live on the ignition. I went for fuse 9 which was a mini fuse and was not allocated to any devise.
    [​IMG]

    Step 2

    Secure power cable behind dash and through to fuse box, achieved by simply feeding wire along dash and the pushing under the trim.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Step 3

    Now to put the power loom together. On the positive wire I have wired in a fuse connector and inserted a 20A mini fuse just to be safe. I then on the negative terminal crimped on an O ring connecter. The fuse block could be soldered in place however I used a bullet connector here.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Step 4

    Next I attached the O ring to the dash bolt which gave an excellent earth.

    [​IMG]

    Step 5

    I now had to trim the spade connector to fit fuse space 9 as this was a mini fuse and then inserted into position 9.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Step 6

    Now to tidy up all the wires....

    [​IMG]

    To do this and protect the adaptor and inster and stop it ratteling about when placed behind the fuse box I wropped it in foam held together with cable ties.

    [​IMG]

    I then carefully placed everything in behind the fuse box area.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]


    Install done all working.

    [​IMG]

    Hope this is of help to everyone!
    #1
    jimlfc likes this.
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 22, 2014]

  3. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    123
    [Feb 25, 2010]
    Well done TAC, that looks really good. Before i got the RNSE my sat nav wire used to drive me made.
    #2
  4. TAC
    Offline

    TAC 3.2 V6 Burble... hmmmmmmm

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Feb 26, 2010]
    Yeah cheers for that Paddy, I got fed up with the wire trapsing over the dash. Shame the RNSE doesn't also do what the road angel does!!!
    #3
  5. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    123
    [Feb 26, 2010]
    #4
  6. beanoir
    Offline

    beanoir Sharpest Tongue in the West

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2,174
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Feb 26, 2010]
    Thats really helpful TAC, thanks! :icon_thumright:
    #5
  7. djgc
    Offline

    djgc Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 9, 2010]
    how do you open the cover of the fuse box? do u just dig it open? or there are some screws?
    #6
  8. beanoir
    Offline

    beanoir Sharpest Tongue in the West

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2,174
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Mar 9, 2010]
    Yes, just lever it off, there are 3 spring clips holding it on that will pop out. Gentle persuasion with a plastic spatula or something similar that wont damage the plastic.
    #7
  9. djgc
    Offline

    djgc Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 10, 2010]
    i managed to open the fuse box peacefully : )

    here is my cable..
    [​IMG]
    do i some how have to mod or cut this wires connector to make it fit in the fuse box? cos it wont fit just like this.

    [​IMG]

    : )
    #8
  10. beanoir
    Offline

    beanoir Sharpest Tongue in the West

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2,174
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Mar 10, 2010]
    the end with the ring connector should be fine for the earth point (as mentioned above use the dash securing bolt for this). The end with the spade connector will have to be modified in order to plug it into the fuse box.
    #9
  11. VWAddict
    Offline

    VWAddict Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Mar 10, 2010]
    You have a female spade connector. You should either cut it off and replace it with a male crimp connector, or male a short male-to-male cable (a few inches long).

    Keith
    #10

Share This Page