1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to change coil pack/ spark plugs on 1.6 FSi ?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by ItsAllGood, Aug 26, 2013.

  1. ItsAllGood

    ItsAllGood Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    8
    How do I change those on a 1.6 fsi. New to the car world. And want to learn the basics really :p
    Also need to know what the coil pack does. A friend said to me that i need to change it. thanks anyways!

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. stuartm

    stuartm Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    20
    The coil packs are for making the spark plugs work, that's where the electric charge comes from


    and also, if you get a set of water pump pliers that can grip the coil and it should easily pull out, that's how I changed mine
     
  4. ItsAllGood

    ItsAllGood Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    8
    i tried pulling it out with my fingers, seemd pretty hard so I didnt want to force it, and probably break it :p but thanks for the tips! Is there a specific type of spark plugs/ coil i need to use? Or is it universal?
     
  5. DomH

    DomH Active Member
    Audi S1

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    45
    The coil packs are the 4 black things, they send the spark to the plug, only change them when they fail so unless you have a misfire I wouldn't worry about them.

    As for changing the plugs, you need to remove the coil packs. For me personally, I use a flat blade screw driver and gently lever the coil pack out, if it's a bit stiff (ooerr) then try and lever it from another angle and just try work it out (I've never broken one yet, and I've removed hundreds of them). Once they pop out you can either unplug them or just put them to one side, once they are out you can get to the plugs using a suitable spark plug socket, they shouldn't be too tight but you might need a bit of effort to crack them off. Once they are all out, check against your new plugs and then just screw them back in. They don't need to be super tight, just wait for them to thread in all the way and then just nip them up, don't force them anymore! When you are done, you can put your coil packs back in, just push them down and you'll feel them sit in place, job done! :yes:

    Hope that's easy enough to understand
     
    stuartm likes this.
  6. stuartm

    stuartm Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    20
    They are tight for trying to pull out by hand. But are fairly easy with the pliers,

    You can go to audi for them, but can be expensive, I just went to a motor factors to get mine, and they are the Same as the ones that audi you.

    I replaced all 4 coils and plugs at the same time too.
     
  7. ItsAllGood

    ItsAllGood Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    8
    very helpfull, thanks! I was afraid of forcing it too much, since there were clippers holding them coils. Reason why i want to change them is my RPM is unstable when driving (on the cluster) i've heard that the first thing you must check is the spark plugs. Hopefully this will do the trick
     
  8. stuartm

    stuartm Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    20
    When my coils went the car would only misfire under acceleration. But idle perfectly fine.

    As for damaging them, there are no clips that hold them in place it is a rubber grommet that holds them tight in place.
     
  9. JohnE

    JohnE 2005 A3 Sport 1.6 FSI

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    40
    I bent a piece of wire to make a sort of special tool to extract mine - made it much easier. There is an Audi special tool for taking them out. If your plugs are beyond the (from memory) 40K service interval, why not change 'em anyway, it's a pain in the backside taking it all to bits so might as well do it while it's apart. Echo what Dom said about not overtightening - I used a torque wrench to cehck I wasn't overdoing it as I can be ham fisted.
     
  10. Bullys3

    Bullys3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    20
    For beginners a torque wrench is bad news if they get it set up wrong they snap things just use a ratchet and plug socket you can feel it tighten and just nip it a little
     
    stuartm likes this.
  11. ItsAllGood

    ItsAllGood Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    8
    I used a thick steel wire and twirled it around the coil, went off with ease. Changed the spark plugs. But still unstable idle / rpm when driving. I'm thinking of cleaning the throttle body and or the MAF sensor. Someone here who can help me with that. I've heard when taking the body off and connecting it in, you need to calibrate it via vagcom, which I don't have.. Is there any way to calibrate it without vagcom, and explain me why i need to adjust the throttle body? also need to know where the MAF is sitting. Thanks guys :)
     
  12. stuartm

    stuartm Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    20
    Unable to help with the throttle body part as I have never did it on mine.

    As for you MAF sensor, that it screwed onto the air box cover, you would have disconnected the connector wire when taking the engine cover off mate.
     
  13. JohnE

    JohnE 2005 A3 Sport 1.6 FSI

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    40
    Mine has an occasional misfire at tickover - it seems from the responses I got on here when I asked, to be quite common and just another unexpectedly **** piece of "German engineering" ho ho - at least one respondent had changed the coil packs without it helping if I remember correctly, so you may be on a wild goose chase. Not saying you shouldn't change 'em, but I've decided to leave mine (although I did change the plugs as it was service schedule) and try and buy a better designed and made car next time.
     
  14. ItsAllGood

    ItsAllGood Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    8
    Yes thats the thing that is screwed to the engine cover. But i thought the MAF sensor look like this: [​IMG]

    but mine has a resistor like and looks like a stick. Not like the picture.

    Is it really necessary to clean the maf sensor?
     
  15. ItsAllGood

    ItsAllGood Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    8
    The sensor that is connected to the cover looks like this: [​IMG]
     
  16. stuartm

    stuartm Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    20
    thats what mine looks like too mate, didn't think you could clean them to be honest but, I could be wrong.
     

Share This Page