How to build an engine?

S3_Mitch

Money pit owner
Reaction score
Hi all,

I have a newly christened stage 2 s3 (265bhp, 265ftlb badger torques), it is burning oil suspected valve stem seals and is running the original turbo (130k) which is working flat out to produce 20psi.

I graduate this summer and I plan to rebuild the engine, the head clearly needs work and IE rods will be fitted. At this stage I plan to upgrade to a GT2871 keeping the build cost to a minimum without cutting corners.

I plan to do all the work myself (short of machining the head etc.) but I have no experience working on an engine. My real question is, would it be better to:
1. Remove the head, leaving the engine on the car (refurb/refit), then fit turbo, rods, mani etc?
2. Invest in a hoist/engine stand, remove the whole engine, rebuild and fit all new hardware, then refit?

Advice is appreciated, as always.

Thanks.

Take it out , sooo much easier on a stand. A stand is about £40, crane is a lot more so rent/blag one. You'll end up changing and fixing quite a few other things as well.

100% engine out it makes everything so much easier if your doing so much work. Its going to need a clutch if your going bigger turbo, its going to need headwork, its going to need rods piston rings etc at the very least

Make your life easier and take it out

Reactions: S3_Mitch
Being in the middle of an engine build at the moment, I can't imagine how much more awkward a huge amount of it would be in the car. Don't get me wrong, there's the faff of getting it out/putting it back in etc but realistically the extra access and space you have to work is worth it all day long.
That said, given you're not pulling the crank it'd certainly be possible to do in the bay if you had no way to remove/refit the engine.

Not really an engine build if all you are doing is changing the rods tbh..