1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How much should I sell this part for ?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by crypric23, Sep 12, 2009.

  1. crypric23
    Offline

    crypric23 Never satisfied

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    #1
  2. aristides
    Offline

    aristides Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you change the aircon unit too?

    Is it actually plug&play or not?
    I remember a topic where NHN said it isn`t

    About the price not really sure, i guess 100 is low for sure :)
    #2
  3. beanoir
    Offline

    beanoir Sharpest Tongue in the West

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2,174
    Likes Received:
    19
    150?
    #3
  4. crypric23
    Offline

    crypric23 Never satisfied

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes i did the job my self, i was a bit nervous , but yes it was plug and play although i took my time as i had no idea what is was doing , i spoke with matt andrews THANKS MATT ! and once he told me which way to attack it from it took about an hour , as said i went very slowly.

    Before :

    [​IMG]

    AFTER :

    [​IMG]

    also added the chrome TT air vents £ 100 from ebay.de
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2009
    #4
  5. aristides
    Offline

    aristides Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    0
    Excellent result mate, loving it

    What about the "AC" button? It`s the other way around in the facelift model isn`t it?
    I thought this would need a change!

    Nevermind love it!!
    #5
  6. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    It all depends on the year of your car, if you have a late 07 onwards 8p then the wiring etc is the same & will work ok via plugnplay, but pre late 07 is not the same, as late 07 onwards has less motors, it actually changes a motor for a cam linkage on the fan unit & also less wiring involved & the loss of a sensor which isnt needed, there are few parts different aswell but nothing major, still on my list to look at doing.

    What year/month is your car crypic cause if it doesnt use the same system then you're heading for issues with the whole climate system, trust me I've worked on this alot & tested vigorously, it will appear to work but wont or will go wrong later & its expensive to fix.
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2009
    #6
  7. crypric23
    Offline

    crypric23 Never satisfied

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh , bloody hell ! March 2008 sportback HELP !
    #7
  8. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    You should be fine with march 08, what was the part number of your old climate unit & whats the part number of your new one, elsawin has info related to this & also you can check by removing your glovebox & looking at the main fan unit behind this to see if it has the 2 blue plastic motors or the cam unit with 1 motor, if the latter then alls good.
    #8
  9. crypric23
    Offline

    crypric23 Never satisfied

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    part number of the old one is 8PO820043AH 5PR , or ? A2C53242447 i have no idea of the new one as it is now in and i really do not want to take it all out again.

    It is from a 2009 s3 or so i was told

    How on earth do i get the glove box out to check ?
    #9
  10. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Undo the bolts that hold it in place namely 2 underneath, 1 inside at the back on right, 3 under the lip where the lid meets the main unit & then remove the left side plastic trim which is held in place by some clips & the door closed is hidden, just levers of & a few fingers behind & the 2 bolts at side IIRC, make sure you hold the glovebox whilst doing, can be done on your own.

    I think yours is ok tbh, but check if you want.
    #10
  11. crypric23
    Offline

    crypric23 Never satisfied

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorted it s off , not sure what i am looking at , so here you go,

    [​IMG] Fingers crossed , breath held , is it ok ?
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 20, 2014
    #11
  12. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    As you can see the orange plastic is the cam linkage & you can see the blue plug that should connect to the motor that this cam unit connects to, so yours is the newer version so alls good from what the image shows.
    #12
  13. kaz219
    Offline

    kaz219 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,806
    Likes Received:
    2
    Glove box removal

    open box and there's 3 screws at the top and 1 near the light

    close box and there's 2 in each corner at the bottom

    :s ignore- beaten :D
    #13
  14. crypric23
    Offline

    crypric23 Never satisfied

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorted so looks like the climate unit will be all good, glove box back on already.
    Also have learnt how to remove glove box and put back today , so was all worth it !
    I am learning slowly , but always feel slightly more comfortable checking the pros !

    Next today , how the hell to remove small on off button on sat nav , so i can spray it silver !

    Thanks guys
    #14
  15. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    You have to remove the nav unit & take it apart, I have actually done a mod for various others to change for the newer version chrome dials, trust me its not for the faint hearted given whats involved & I dont care what others say, its delicate work given the design of the actual on/off pcb mounted knob & the selector pcb knob, if you play with them to much when modding they will go faulty & the volume control will not work properly & the selector wont select properly, also its not cheap mod.
    #15
  16. crypric23
    Offline

    crypric23 Never satisfied

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    The selector button , just pulled of and then it clicked back into place , the on off button the very end piece is the same click on and off , but leaves the bit i want to spray on the head unit , i think the selector button would look a bit weird on its own , what do you reckon ?
    #16
  17. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Yes it would look weird & if you keep pulling of the selector knob & the cap of the lower knob it can make the pcb mounted dials go faulty, so you have been warned, I know the pcb dial design & its very delicate.
    #17
  18. evapor8
    Offline

    evapor8 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    That sounds like a good reason for someone clumsy like me to spend a little more on the chrome-buttoned version!

    Chris
    #18
  19. crypric23
    Offline

    crypric23 Never satisfied

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Think i will leave well alone , that is my list of mods now complete for today , You are a star !
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2009
    #19
  20. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Yeap very good reason, lol
    #20
  21. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Click on the thanks box then matey, lol.
    #21
  22. crypric23
    Offline

    crypric23 Never satisfied

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
  23. VWAddict
    Offline

    VWAddict Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    8
    I have a question:

    Does the light on the 'AC' button correctly indidate when the air-con is functioning, or does it light when the air-con is inactive. like the 'econ' lght does? -In other words, does it autimatically reverse it's state, or does it light up 'wrong' -if you know what I mean...

    And -my only comment about the aesthetics of it all- the 'swept-curve' button 'styling' of the old symphony2+ head unit you had matches the NEWER climate control and cupholder/hazard button styling you fitted... whereas the older, 'rectangular' button styling of the RNS-E matches the more 'rectangular' butons you took out better...

    -To my personal taste, at least.

    Those 'swept-up-at-the-edges' buttons make a nice 'smiley-face' shape, but they are matched by the same shapes on the Symphony 2+, and nowhere to be seen on the RNS navi-plus unit, which reverts to the old 'rectangle theme'.

    Keith
    #23
  24. crypric23
    Offline

    crypric23 Never satisfied

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah i did think that , but in the flesh they look a lot smoother and i think the old hazard button is just to in your face and has been around for years.

    The AC button only light up when turned on ,if that is what you mean.
    #24
  25. aristides
    Offline

    aristides Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cryptic where did you find the newer climate unit?

    And how much did you pay for it?
    Im loving the new style, steel not keen on the newer buttons, they seem a lot cheaper in quality, but the Aircon roxx!
    #25
  26. aristides
    Offline

    aristides Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    0
    At what price NHN?
    #26
  27. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Yeah AC button does correctly indicate on/off & the led denotes the status interms of led on for on status, all they've done is reversed the led feed & changed the button label as I checked the circuit with a meter, so effectively on old units you could rewire the circuit to change the state when pressed, personally think the econ thing was always **** as per previous audi's, just stupid imho & also to lose the off button of the climate from my last audi is a pain for sure as you have to keep holding or turning dial all the time as sometimes I like to turn it of completely in one stroke but no button, dohhhhh

    Yeah the newer buttons are actually alot better than the older ones & took week to get used to & now can see how much better visually they are over older ones, much better.

    I have one for sale but doesnt have heated seats, works perfectly & only got to check all the info as above stated, I actually had 2 & paid about £200 for it as they're £400 or so new, been searching for months for one, then decided to test it 1st before buying new one, so ended up with 2 without heated seats, sold 1 to guy in south america & other one is available for anyone interested.
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2009
    #27
  28. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Preferrably what I paid as above considering the new one costs & the availability of them on ebay, not looking to profit on this just recoup if possible mate, PM for further dealings please.
    #28
  29. crypric23
    Offline

    crypric23 Never satisfied

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    I originally bought just the air con unit from ebay on wednesday night for £ 125 including a chrome light switch.

    ( which i have put back on ebay )

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI....49831&ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT#ht_500wt_1182

    As it was not the correct set up on the dials for my car , although i new this at the time and was not needed , they would not split the items.

    When i went to get them , the air con was still in the cage with the switches and they did not know how to get the air con unit out , I DID ! i was going to buy the switch section from Stoke audi anyway on Monday, so when i saw they where all still in the cage i offered them £220 for the lot settled on £ 250 , but i still have the cage to sell and the chrome switch. So hopefully will recoup some.

    I have as you know put my old air con and switches in the cage to get some money back , but am tempted to keep the air con just in case it all goes wrong. Although thanks to NHN , i am confident it's all good.
    #29
  30. influxsg
    Offline

    influxsg ANdi P.

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    crypric23 - how mch do you want for the item you posted on ebay ecause i wanna by it if the price is fair :).

    Many tanks,
    ANdi
    #30
  31. EvolutionV
    Offline

    EvolutionV Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've just read this whole thread but can't distinguish between the new and old type heater matrix. Can anbody tell me if its okay to have the new style climate control unit fitted to my 06 A3, here's a pic of the heater unit behind glovebox:-
    I hope its possible :sadlike:

    [​IMG]
    #31
  32. EvolutionV
    Offline

    EvolutionV Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
  33. TAC
    Offline

    TAC 3.2 V6 Burble... hmmmmmmm

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    3
    Don't think so as if you look at the earlier post by crypric and NHN and the photo of crypric's heater matrix he has the orange CAM and Blue plug which you don't have!

    [​IMG]

    Hope that helps

    Tom
    #33
  34. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Yeap 100% Tom, the older version has 2 motors on the fan unit flaps, where as new has 1 motor & a cam system so the single motor basically operates all the flaps, you have to have the newer cam version to fit the newer climate or remove dash & update heater system to make it work properly.
    #34
  35. EvolutionV
    Offline

    EvolutionV Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    okay, thanks for your replies guys :)
    #35

Share This Page