1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how long will a concert HU retain code for, without power?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by VAGMAN1, Apr 26, 2007.

  1. VAGMAN1
    Offline

    VAGMAN1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 26, 2007]
    i.e. if I remove the radio and unplug all the leads, how long is it before the radion requires the code re-inputing to make it function?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 26, 2014]

  3. SonicDeathmonkey
    Offline

    SonicDeathmonkey Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 26, 2007]
    dude, i bought one from a scrapy for 20 quid. left it for at least a year and it still had the code.

    I think it is because they use flash memory these days...

    Thats wht causes the volume problem, too
    #2
  4. jojo
    Offline

    jojo Looking for Boost! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,720
    Likes Received:
    2,020
    [Apr 27, 2007]
    As soon as the battery goes flat, the radio requires the code on my car!
    #3
  5. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Apr 27, 2007]
    On later CANBUS Audi's it'll never require the code unless it is fitted to a different vehicle.
    #4
  6. Aky
    Offline

    Aky Aky

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,512
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 27, 2007]
    I took mine out of the car for 10 minutes and it didn't require the code.
    #5
  7. mordz
    Offline

    mordz Audi S3 (2000)

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 29, 2007]
    any more than 30 secs mine wants the code.
    #6

Share This Page