1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How high can I raise the power

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by JamesA3, Apr 11, 2004.

  1. JamesA3

    JamesA3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    What will a 1.8TQ take and still be reliable?

    As you know its booked in at AMD on Friday and I was wondering what other mods they could do to it while its there to really make the most of it

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. RichA3Turbo

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you!
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    [ QUOTE ]
    James M said:
    What will a 1.8TQ take and still be reliable?

    As you know its booked in at AMD on Friday and I was wondering what other mods they could do to it while its there to really make the most of it

    Any suggestions?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    ONly other reasonable cost mod is a turbo intake pipe, and if you want to go all out, a full milltek turbo-back system.

    Rich
     
  4. PaulRS3

    PaulRS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,142
    Likes Received:
    98
    normally the A3's the tuning stops around where the S3 tuning starts...

    your be nudging just 200 - 210bhp mark.



     
  5. JamesA3

    JamesA3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    AMD have quoted me 210-215bhp for the chip, if I had the full system and turbo intake pipe would it not take power to around 220-225bhp?
     
  6. PaulRS3

    PaulRS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,142
    Likes Received:
    98
    millteks on the S3 dont appear to work as well as some of the other models.

    Its reported and documented that its not so much a bhp increase, but driveability and smoother.

    i certainly wouldnt bother with one on mine until the standard one falls off.

    not sure about the intake pipe. It doesnt fit the S3
     

Share This Page