1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How good is the sat nav?

Discussion in 'New A3/S3 (8V Chassis)' started by Ryanytchan, Nov 12, 2013.

  1. PilotAudi
    Offline

    PilotAudi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,353
    Likes Received:
    478
    [Nov 24, 2013]
    Would be interesting to see a breakdown of those stats.. where/why etc.. As we know statistics enable you to give a false impression i.e.
    Drinking and driving is safer at night as 30% of accidents involve drink therefore 70% of accidents are caused by sober people.. not sure I've got the numbers right but you get my drift!
  2. paullowther
    Offline

    paullowther Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    444
    [Nov 24, 2013]
    That's because it's quite hard to have a fatal when you're in the worlds biggest traffic jam.
    PilotAudi likes this.
  3. RobH_S3
    Offline

    RobH_S3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    159
    [Nov 24, 2013]
    I've always wondered what the fatal rate on Germany's autobahns is compared to our motorways?
  4. h5djr
    Offline

    h5djr Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,515
    Likes Received:
    569
    [Nov 24, 2013]
    I'm sure those figures may be correct but personally I always feel much safer driving in Germany that I do in the UK. They seem to have better roads, better junction layouts etc as well as on the autobahns they do drive fast, but they seem to be much better at lane discipline than in the UK. Their fast drivers can be quite 'aggressive' but they do drive with their headlights on so that you can see them coming up behind you on the autobahn and everyone else knows to get out of the way and they do.

    By the way do you know that the A3 can be set so that the headlights come on automatically if you go over 90mph. Not sure if it set that way as standard or if you need to set it accordingly using VCDS or the car setup screen.
  5. cuke2u
    Offline

    cuke2u Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    1,728
    Likes Received:
    352
    [Nov 24, 2013]
  6. PilotAudi
    Offline

    PilotAudi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,353
    Likes Received:
    478
    [Nov 24, 2013]
    paullowther likes this.
  7. h5djr
    Offline

    h5djr Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,515
    Likes Received:
    569
    [Nov 24, 2013]
    The 'ordinary' A3 I test drove the other day had the option to change the headlights for European driving as part of the Car Setup screen so I assume the S3 would have as well. The Golf VII also had the same facility so I assume the new GTi would also have it.
    PilotAudi likes this.
  8. PilotAudi
    Offline

    PilotAudi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,353
    Likes Received:
    478
    [Nov 24, 2013]
    Thanks... various 5s and 7 have it was hoping the S3 did.far better than Bloody tape sticky things etc... bit like the difference between integrated Sat Nav and Tom Tom Garmin wires and suckers faff in my mind!
    the_lecht_rocks likes this.
  9. h5djr
    Offline

    h5djr Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,515
    Likes Received:
    569
    [Nov 24, 2013]
    I've always done it on my 2012 A3 using VCDS. - no sticky black things for me either.
  10. PilotAudi
    Offline

    PilotAudi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,353
    Likes Received:
    478
    [Nov 24, 2013]
    Still a faff rather than via MMI And put in Touring mode!
  11. Itguy
    Offline

    Itguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,097
    Likes Received:
    431
    [Nov 24, 2013]
    I thought having the tech pack enabled the lights to be automatically adjusted for Europe driving?
  12. PilotAudi
    Offline

    PilotAudi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,353
    Likes Received:
    478
    [Nov 24, 2013]
    That's what I'm hoping... on A7n without Tech Pack but SD Nav MMI etc Touring mode is possible.
  13. A3sportbackMark
    Offline

    A3sportbackMark Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    230
    [Nov 24, 2013]
    I have an option in the MMI to change the headlights when driving on the right hand side of the road.
    My car is an SE trim, but added the xenon light package, I think it's the xenon lights (or maybe adaptive lights) that provide this option. I don't have the tech pack, but have SD sat nav.

    Iirc, if you have standard halogen lights, the MMI option to change to right hand side driving is not available. I'm sure other will correct me if they have halogens.
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2013
  14. cuke2u
    Offline

    cuke2u Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    1,728
    Likes Received:
    352
    [Nov 24, 2013]
    That sounds about right as the HID's have automatic levelling, the halogens probably have manual levers...
  15. cemerson
    Online

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    697
    [Nov 24, 2013]
    Adaptive lights needed for that option, and it's a manual adjustment in the MMI rather than automatic
  16. PilotAudi
    Offline

    PilotAudi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,353
    Likes Received:
    478
    [Nov 24, 2013]
    I always expected manual; adjustment via MMI.. Even with Adaptive lights (certainly on A5) you still need to manually adjust. I cannot see how it could ever be automatic on Adaptive lights unless there is a link via Audi Connect to tell the car you are in Europe !!
  17. cemerson
    Online

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    697
    [Nov 24, 2013]
    You wouldn't need that... just a GPS, which most cars have! I'm told the A8 adjusts automatically.
  18. snakehips
    Online

    snakehips Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    224
    [Nov 24, 2013]
    I gather the LED headlights automatically adjust based on GPS location, though I have obviously yet to test that. I wonder if that could be the case for Xenon?
  19. cemerson
    Online

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    697
    [Nov 24, 2013]
    Perhaps, it wouldn't be hard to do for the adaptive ones since they have the motors etc in anyway. Seeing as mine can be done through the MMI it would be very easy to just link that to the GPS and a database of which side of the road different countries drive on (which would be miniscule, easily part of the software)
  20. snakehips
    Online

    snakehips Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    224
    [Nov 24, 2013]
    Yes and I assume it is all already part of the software if it can be done with LEDs
  21. jeefro
    Offline

    jeefro New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 24, 2013]
    Just bought myself
    Navigation plus absolutely brilliant got it for130
    Perfect
  22. Leeber
    Offline

    Leeber Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    96
    [Nov 24, 2013]
    your point about misleading stats is well made, look at the numbers for the USA, or indeed pretty much every other country in the EU except for Germany, their limits are all very similar to ours.
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2013
  23. AllanG
    Offline

    AllanG Stronic

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Feb 20, 2014]
    My Garmin Nuvi 765 displays 'Lane Assist' information, which shows a view of the upcoming junction on motorways, and in which lane you should be taking, a function which I find very useful......can anyone tell me if this function is available with the Audi SD card system?
  24. snowfree52
    Offline

    snowfree52 Full LED baby !

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    124
    [Feb 20, 2014]
    pretty sure I have it
  25. andy203
    Offline

    andy203 181 BHP

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    56
    [Feb 20, 2014]
    Have been told prior to my order that the Xenons auto adjust when abroad, all done via the Sat Nav. Not sure if you have to input a route abroad or if they just adjust as the Sat nav mapping system puts car abroad.
  26. PilotAudi
    Offline

    PilotAudi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,353
    Likes Received:
    478
    [Feb 20, 2014]
    I suspect 'all done via the sat nav' means using the MMI.
  27. dieselguy
    Offline

    dieselguy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    17
    [Feb 20, 2014]
    Really? GPS tells car to automatic adjust?

    Mine has the tech pack but I am unable to adjust in the MMI manually. The option is greyed out. Does anyone know if you need the lane assist function to be able to adjust the light to drive on the right? or is it that newer cars have a newer software thats programmed in to enable this?
  28. JohnnyM100
    Offline

    JohnnyM100 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    157
    [Feb 20, 2014]
    You need adaptive Xenons to be able to change in MMI for driving on the right.

    LED headlights don't need changing for driving on the right.

    Can't comment on whether SatNav auto selects for left/right based upon location but would expect that to also require adaptive Xenons to be able to do it.

    John.
  29. dieselguy
    Offline

    dieselguy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    17
    [Feb 20, 2014]
    I see, I must only have the normal Xenons then (wish i had the adaptive lights now).
    Back to those silly stickers next time Im in europe….
  30. oufc1976
    Offline

    oufc1976 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    81
    [Feb 20, 2014]
    37 and have never owned a Sat-nav.

    Yet the SD version was the first option I selected when ordering my A3 Saloon.

    Partly because it avoids the horrible holders and wires that have always put me off getting one, but mainly because I couldn't drive a car for four years with a button on the steering wheel that if I pressed it would do nothing!
    PilotAudi likes this.
  31. PilotAudi
    Offline

    PilotAudi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,353
    Likes Received:
    478
    [Feb 20, 2014]
    SD Nav is fine. Nav is expected these days in premium cars. There are always Luddites who will disagree but it's become as important as BT and electric windows.
    We updated from original Sd Nav as the tech pack only cost £150 extra. Bigger screen and plays DVD a feature we use when queuing for ferries.
  32. cemerson
    Online

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    697
    [Feb 20, 2014]
    I'm the same, can't stand buttons in my car I can't use :p I've mostly filled out the central row of buttons with my options as well, but there are still a few blanks there. I think the e-tron uses one of them to change charging mode so was never going to get that, but Park Assist, Park sensors, Drive Select are all there, I'm sure there's others I've forgotten as well (other than the standard ones like MMI screen retract and start/stop disable)
  33. cemerson
    Online

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    697
    [Feb 20, 2014]
    I think some higher models (A8) do it automatically, it's strange that the A3 doesn't seem to. At least, there's still an option in the MMI for it so seems manual. Maybe it'll prompt you if you take it abroad?
  34. PilotAudi
    Offline

    PilotAudi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,353
    Likes Received:
    478
    [Feb 20, 2014]
    You may xenons but they don't have to be adaptive. Had Audi arc car 13 plate a3 last year and I think that worked but not 100% will find out in 7 sleeps time ;-)
  35. cemerson
    Online

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    697
    [Feb 20, 2014]
    I've read before that they do need to be adaptive for you to adjust them. Otherwise how would it change them if the motors aren't there to do it?
  36. PilotAudi
    Offline

    PilotAudi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,353
    Likes Received:
    478
    [Feb 20, 2014]
    Well my A5 and A7 did not have adaptive and they both adjusted for euro use!!
  37. dieselguy
    Offline

    dieselguy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    17
    [Feb 21, 2014]
    Stupid question. I have the code 8Q3 (Automatic headlight-range adjustment dynamic), is this the adaptive lights system?
    But still can't seem to change the light direction in MMI to drive in europe, as its greyed out and wouldn't let me select.
    Wondering if this can be changed with coding.
  38. h5djr
    Offline

    h5djr Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,515
    Likes Received:
    569
    [Feb 21, 2014]
    Does your car have Sat/Nav. If so perhaps it's done automatically.

    Also what type of head lights do you have.

    8Q5 is listed as Automatic headlight range control, with cornering light circuit.

    PXA is the option Adaptive headlights with Xenon Plus headlights.
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2014
  39. cemerson
    Online

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    697
    [Feb 21, 2014]
    It's not the same thing - adaptive lights is left/right adjustment, dynamic range is up/down
  40. dieselguy
    Offline

    dieselguy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    17
    [Feb 21, 2014]
    Yeah it has the HDD Sat Nav which came with the Tech pack.

    Interesting if it can do it automatically. I have no way of checking in the meantime though…..

Share This Page