1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how good is bose?

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by electricracer, Oct 13, 2008.

  1. electricracer

    electricracer Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    bloody good i can tell you. when i got my car it had after market stereo in sounded ok but lit up blue, not good. old unit had volume fault. so bought recon unit from eBay from Stafford Audi for £109 bargain highly recommended next day delivery. put the new unit in and it looked so much better all matching, but sound not as it should be a bit too much bass. just been and recoded it using vag com so that the bose was turned on and wow what a difference crystal clear and no distortion when cranked up. so quite pleased with my bose system:arco::s4addict:
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. rasA4

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist
    Team V6 Audi A4 saloon

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,214
    Likes Received:
    77
    i assume you have the bose amp/speakers?
     
  4. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    17,577
    Likes Received:
    641
    whats this recoding you talk of?

    My bro's S4 has a concert system with Bose and i felt the audio felt a bit muddied with too much bass.

    My A4 has the standard spec front and rear door speakers driven by a Pioneer head unit with a amped sub in the boot, and i find that mine sounds a lot crisper. Obviously it has more powerful bass due to the sub, but the midrange etc feels a lot crisper too...

    I'm not sure if its just that having the seperate sub means that there is less bass going to the main speakers leaving them to reproduce the rest of the frequencies more clearly. The only real way to test it would be to run the bose system in the S4 from a decent head unit and get a sub hooked up so the main speakers arent trying to reproduce all the bass...
     
  5. dieselfitter251

    dieselfitter251 Blow ma own trumpet?

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Generaly, in music and sound, frequencies are more defined, crisper and balanced (both volume wise and technically i.e. cross-overs / separate amps) when the full depth and range of sound is used. A hit from a bass drum has many harmonics and overtones which may support or destroy a high note form say a guitar. Depending on how well they're e.q'ed
    It may be that your system, while more simple is more effective, purely because it's all working.
    If a part or parts of teh speaker system is broken on the bose setup part of the sound, due to a couple of blown mid-range speakers, will be missing. Hence an unbalanced or muddy sound. The bose system had 8/9 speakers or something? so the speakers will have a more defined frequency range. It may be a problem with the hardware or not e.q'd properly on the head unit.

    *jeez that was nerdy*:redface:
     
  6. electricracer

    electricracer Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes sorry i have bose fitted. the new head unit was an audi concert unit, this needed to be connected to vag com and the bose settings turned on if your unit says bose when it turned on then its already set mine wasnt and did sound a bit bass heavy now with the correct settings its much better

    try here for info on how to code http://www.ibiblio.org/tkan/audi/radios/concert.html
     
  7. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    17,577
    Likes Received:
    641
    His does say bose when turned on...

    From what i can see his car has two speakers in the rear door and two on the rear shelf, plus the four in the front doors. Not quite sure what the two extra speakers on the shelf are for, our avant just has the 6 door speakers (plus the sub, but thats aftermarket) Perhaps they're using the shelf speakers as woofers and the door ones as midrange and treble?

    We should probably have a listen around to ensure all the speakers are working... Failing that we can see how it sounds once he's upgraded the head unit or something i guess.
     
  8. electricracer

    electricracer Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    there is another graphic equalizer menu hidden somewhere i cant remember where i read about it though or how to access it sorry
     
  9. dieselfitter251

    dieselfitter251 Blow ma own trumpet?

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Aye, if somebody has messed around with the terminals the speakers may be on different channels as to what they should be.
    I'm like yours Aragorn minuss the extra bass but with a Sony Xplod head... Pumps out more than enough for me.
    If the shelf speakers are original then they've probably got most of the bottom end but also maybe dual coned. A bit like 6/9's.
    My days of thumping bass (and headaches) are long over!
     
  10. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    44
    Bose isn't turned on by VAGCOM. You can turn on the Bose welcome using VAGCOM but this has no effect on the sound. The flat EQ is turned on/off via the wiring loom, so if you have a Bose system then the wiring will dictate the EQ settings on the HU.
     
  11. electricracer

    electricracer Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    i beg to differ it made a world of difference once i had enabled bose
     
  12. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    44
    You don't enable Bose. Bose make the speakers and amps on a Bose upgraded system. That's all Bose is. If you don't have the Bose amps & speakers you don't have a Bose system. The HU is the same with either system Blaupunkt, Grundig or Matsushita. All you can do via VAGCOM is turn on/off the internal front amp and likewise the Bose display on start up neither of which effect the sound. Earthing the Bose pin on the back of the HU is the only thing that effects the sound, taking a nice smiley face EQ down to the Bose flat EQ, but this is already enabled or disabled by the wiring loom.
    If you think it sounds better with the HU saying Bose when you switch it on then all well and good but in reality it doesn't make a blind bit of difference.
     
  13. a4turbos

    a4turbos New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ive tried changing the vag-com setting back and forth a few times. It does make a difference. The bass changes dramatically when Bose is turned on. Not sure if the actual sound is much better...but there is a definite change in bass level.
     
  14. rasA4

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist
    Team V6 Audi A4 saloon

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,214
    Likes Received:
    77
    what year is your car? also do you have the wording bose sound system on your speaker grilles?
     
  15. stapo69

    stapo69 All hail the mighty quattro!

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    969
    Likes Received:
    1

Share This Page