1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How does one change the front bulbs?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by yak, Nov 16, 2005.

  1. yak
    Offline

    yak Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 16, 2005]
    I tried to use search, I remember there was discussion about changing lightbulbs to some Philips VisionPlus/Osram Silverstar. The thread was apparently destroyed when the database went or search is buggy.

    Anyway, how did one change the bulbs? The manual doesn't say anything, and I'm not into going to dealer and pay them for changing to my silvervisions. Does someone have a picture/instructions how to change the dipped lights? Seems kinda tight in the engine bay.

    - Yak
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 21, 2014]

  3. h5djr
    Offline

    h5djr Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,569
    Likes Received:
    583
    [Nov 16, 2005]
    Hello Yak, how are you.

    I have created two PDF files from the ElsaWin electronic workshop manual showing how the bulbs are changed. Both myself and others on the forum have changed the bulbs OK without taken any of the components out as the manual suggests. It a bit tight but can be done.

    Here are the two files:

    dipped headlights

    main beam headlights
    #2
  4. mikep
    Offline

    mikep Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 16, 2005]
    Dave to the rescue again!

    I replaced mine without unscrewing any of the bits they mention and I don't have small hands. But to be sure, follow the instructions.
    #3
  5. yak
    Offline

    yak Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 17, 2005]
    Excellent Dave, thanks for those pictures and the tip. I was hoping to not remove those pieces, and if you've done so.. I hope I can do so as well /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif

    And hehe, I'm good, just not so sober while writing this, so allow few mistakes.. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif. Have been a little away for a while, found out my FSI errors were because they had done programming wrong at the Audi Center.. (doh).. so, any better news at your side?-)

    - Yak
    #4
  6. steeve
    Offline

    steeve Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,196
    Likes Received:
    337
    [Nov 18, 2005]
    I did mine with no problems, you just need to remember the bulbs clip in....
    #5
  7. yak
    Offline

    yak Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 18, 2005]
    Nope, I couldn't, I didn't get light bulb out, there's prolly some weird technic to that. Also, there's no space to even open the clip on the left-side. Maybe there's more space in the 2,0TDI, but there's insanely little space in FSI. No chance to put hand in there.
    #6
  8. steeve
    Offline

    steeve Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,196
    Likes Received:
    337
    [Nov 23, 2005]
    If its OK on a 3.2 then the other engines should be a doddle ....
    #7

Share This Page