1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do I remove the air vent to install a boost gauge?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by S3KO4, Jul 1, 2010.

  1. S3KO4
    Offline

    S3KO4 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi everyone.

    I have finally bought an average boost gauge for £25, it does not come with the pod, and I want to modify the air vent on top of the headlight switch to fit the gauge inside it. (It is small enough to fit) but stuck on the first hurdle of removal.

    Does anyone have a guide on how to remove it without damaging anything?

    and how hard would it be to get the wire and hose running through there.

    Thanks
    #1
  2. S3KO4
    Offline

    S3KO4 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    2
    anyone?
    #2
  3. DaveA3
    Offline

    DaveA3 Audi A-Trizzle!

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,374
    Likes Received:
    14
    #3
  4. BigD-a3tq
    Offline

    BigD-a3tq Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    as above thats what ive got, you can source power from the headlights switch, you will have to take the bottom bit of dash off 2-3 torx screws located left / right under the steering to get to it, theres a guide on fitting here http://www.wak-tt.com/mods/boostgauge/boostgauge.htm
    #4
  5. S3KO4
    Offline

    S3KO4 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    2
    thanks everyone.
    I have done a DIY job of it, special thanks to tuffy, who has been constantly replying to my private messages.

    I will buy one of those if they were half the price but for now the DIY would have to do.
    #5
  6. S3KO4
    Offline

    S3KO4 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    2
    [​IMG]
    #6
  7. S3KO4
    Offline

    S3KO4 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    2
    [​IMG]
    #7
  8. S3KO4
    Offline

    S3KO4 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    2
    few issues though, firstly the light diming does not work on it, so would have to rewire it at some point. and I when the engine is on it stay on -20 so thats vacume. I guess it is because I have connected it to the vacume line on top of the DV. I saw boost spike of 20 and held it at 15 psi.
    #8
  9. actualeddie
    Offline

    actualeddie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    2
    Looks pretty sweet this.

    Was this a couple of hour job? wondering whether to start it now or next weekend

    Cheers
    #9
  10. S3featesV9
    Offline

    S3featesV9 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,033
    Likes Received:
    12
    I wired mine into the air vent light harness so it dims. maybe you could rewire it into there.

    [​IMG]
    #10
  11. actualeddie
    Offline

    actualeddie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    2
    Managed to get it in the vent quite well, dont look pretty yet but its in. Just need to wire it up. Would like to wire it the way you said but i have no idea how too, i'm not an electrician lol. I have four wires: Yellow, Purple, Orange and black...
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2012
    #11
  12. S3featesV9
    Offline

    S3featesV9 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,033
    Likes Received:
    12
    Mine only had two, black and a red. The air vent harness is also just a black and red so was simple for me :)

    Chop the wires, splice together again with gauge wires. Then heat shrink so they don't come loose and then just use elec tape to hide the splice.
    #12
  13. actualeddie
    Offline

    actualeddie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    2
    #13
  14. S3featesV9
    Offline

    S3featesV9 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,033
    Likes Received:
    12
    Well as its only a mechanical gauge, all you need is to power the led. And just run a hose to dv like you have.

    I'd just get a 9v battery and find what two wires you need to illuminate the face. Should just be one neg and one pos. And just use those two. Forget about the rest.

    Unless it's a completely different design to mine. But mines mechanical too and only requires two wires.
    #14
  15. actualeddie
    Offline

    actualeddie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    2
    nice one, ill give it a go tomorrow. Cheers :)
    #15
  16. ZeroOne
    Offline

    ZeroOne New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can someone send me instructions how to remove audi a3 2000 air vents(passenger) ?
    #16

Share This Page