1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do i get more air to the airbox?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by dultanur, Oct 18, 2006.

  1. dultanur
    Offline

    dultanur all promises, no action :)

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys. I have a K&N panel filter, but i also want the airbox to get more and cooler air. since it draws air from the wheel arch, i think it is not getting enough cold air. i have read everywhere that cold air intakes mess the MAF, so whta can i do to improve air flow/temperature?
    #1
  2. Defratos
    Offline

    Defratos You’re Dethpicable!!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    well, from my experience air intakes haven't messed my MAF, but wether it adds any extra power is another issue. I've seen somewhere around here people drilling holes at the bottom of their oem box and somehow feed more air in, but I've taken the other option and fed pipes down, one to the front fog light, the other to behind the wheel arch, you can see it in the linky below:
    http://00626e1.netsolhost.com/formoshun/s3/Air Filter.htm
    Someone else might be able to help with the oem box
    #2
  3. dultanur
    Offline

    dultanur all promises, no action :)

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    thats what i wanted to try with my OEM airbox, but couldnt get the hose through.the intercooler pipe prevents it. i guess you could do it because you have a FMIC?
    #3
  4. Ess_Three
    Offline

    Ess_Three Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    5,383
    Likes Received:
    6
    you'll struggle to get anything meaningful done with a standard SMIC in the way...
    However, if you happen to have a FMIC you can get a 4" duct in there:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Hardly visible:
    [​IMG]


    Not that it adds any power...even when running 275+ BHP and 331 lb-ft!!
    #4
  5. Defratos
    Offline

    Defratos You’re Dethpicable!!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    4" damn that's a big pipe, did you have to re-locate any wires?
    #5
  6. Ess_Three
    Offline

    Ess_Three Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    5,383
    Likes Received:
    6
    I had to bend a few brackets, move the battery tray slightly and haul a few wires around a little...and it was tight!
    But it goes...only with an FMIC though. No chance without.
    #6
  7. dultanur
    Offline

    dultanur all promises, no action :)

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    that exactly what i was trying to do. well i guess thats that, and if it doesnt give any power might as well wait until i get an FMIC.

    by the way, i removed my fog lamps in the hope that my intercoolers will work better (now you can see them from the fog lamp holes). do you think this would help any?
    #7
  8. Jonesy
    Offline

    Jonesy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    1
    What is a FMIC????
    #8
  9. Defratos
    Offline

    Defratos You’re Dethpicable!!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    FMIC = Front Mounted Intercooler
    SMIC = Side Mounted Intercooler
    #9

Share This Page