1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do I fit an oil temp gauge?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Benjiman46, Feb 18, 2012.

  1. Benjiman46
    Offline

    Benjiman46 R-Tech Terrorist

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    23
    [Feb 18, 2012]
    Hi all!

    How would I fit an oil temperature gauge to my S3 8L APY?

    I need to know where I would put the sensor or where I would get the reading.

    Hope you can help

    Cheers
    Ben
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 23, 2014]

  3. jay1601
    Offline

    jay1601 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,259
    Likes Received:
    34
    [Feb 18, 2012]
    put a sensor in the oil drain plug. adapter is about £5 from ebay. and just buy a external gauge for the readings
    #2
  4. Benjiman46
    Offline

    Benjiman46 R-Tech Terrorist

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    23
    [Feb 18, 2012]
    Thanks for the reply.

    And will the oil drain plug sensor set-up be ok? I've heard mixed reviews about these.

    I've ordered the Gauge and it comes with a "Fitting Kit" so I'm guessing I'll need the sump plug with a certain thread in it that matches the kit?

    Cheers
    #3
  5. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    16,458
    Likes Received:
    1,536
    [Feb 18, 2012]
    The oil drain plugs for these sensors are quite frankly an pile of sh*te

    Stick it in the top of the oil filter housing or tee it into where the oil pressure sensor is...

    All the cars I have seen that have these things leak or have rounded the stupid brass or aluminium POS adaptor nut so you can't get them out to change the oil..

    <tuffty/>
    #4
  6. jay1601
    Offline

    jay1601 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,259
    Likes Received:
    34
    [Feb 18, 2012]
    i didn't have one problem with the sensor being in my sump. i've still got the sensor and adapter in now (taken the gauge out to fit a wideband AFR gauge instead)

    i've done 2 oil changes having the sensor didn't cause a problem (oil change every 6 months)
    #5
  7. Benjiman46
    Offline

    Benjiman46 R-Tech Terrorist

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    23
    [Feb 22, 2012]
    Ok, mixed views there lol the kit I've bought has a 1/8 NPT threaded sensor included (which is M10 I believe) is there ANYWHERE on the engine, oil filter housing or sump where I can just bolt this straight in?

    If not, what size sump plug adaptor will I need? Is it M14 x 1.5?

    Cheers in advance! :)
    #6
  8. Benjiman46
    Offline

    Benjiman46 R-Tech Terrorist

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    23
    [Feb 24, 2012]
    Anyone? :) I'm going to have a look tomorrow, but would love for someone to save me a job hahaCheers
    #7
  9. jay1601
    Offline

    jay1601 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,259
    Likes Received:
    34
    [Feb 25, 2012]
    the sump plug is m14x1.5
    #8
  10. Benjiman46
    Offline

    Benjiman46 R-Tech Terrorist

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    23
    [Feb 25, 2012]
    Nice one! Thanks very much :)
    #9

Share This Page