1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Horrifying steering issue,

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by chrissy20vt, Apr 14, 2014.

1. chrissy20vt

chrissy20vt New Member

[Apr 14, 2014]
    We have a 2001 163 T Sport, Recently I drove the car after my partner complaining of it not driving as it should...
    I did, and WHAT!!!! - It has something seriously up with either the suspension or the steering setup.

It feels like the front wheels going over uneven surfaces are connected to a Tesco trolley wheel setup, just wanders all over the place - while the steering wheel is tight in my hand!

I am no mechanic, But would assume track rod, or ball joint play normally, I would normally have a look and feel, But upon getting under the Audi, I can say the suspension setup is waaaaay more complex than I am used to. lots of complicated arms everywhere!

Any advice before I get toasted at a garage!?

Thanks...
  2. AlexGSi2000

AlexGSi2000 Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

[Apr 14, 2014]
    Check the tyre pressures & tracking, sounds like it could be a dud ball joint though.
  3. BlackQuat

BlackQuat Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

[Apr 14, 2014]
    It does look a little daunting at first. But it's fairly simple. Jack it up, use the wheel as a lever to work out where the play is.

Only replace parts with Meyle or Lemforder.
  4. pecrow

pecrow New Member

[Apr 14, 2014]
    in my case, a broken spring
  5. chrissy20vt

chrissy20vt New Member

[Apr 14, 2014]
    Ok - Problem sorted,

However what I found was utterly alarming!

I jacked the passenger side up & the wheel has soooo much play, it was as if my wheel bolts were 95% undone, I looked behind the wheel and the inside of the hub - surrounding the CV joint are some large allan key fitment bolts, One was undone entirely except one turn! Grease has escaped from the hole it is in too,