1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hold assist retro fit ?

Discussion in 'New A3/S3 (8V Chassis)' started by Casey87, Oct 7, 2013.

  1. Casey87
    Offline

    Casey87 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Oct 7, 2013]
    Does anyone know if this can be retro fitted as having read the reviews on here it sounds like a very nice bit of kit for only £90.


    Thanks guys
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 21, 2014]

  3. cemerson
    Offline

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,444
    Likes Received:
    704
    [Oct 7, 2013]
    £90 when ordered with the car - doesn't mean it'll be that much if you retro-fit it!
    #2
  4. Casey87
    Offline

    Casey87 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Oct 7, 2013]
    I know that was the option price and to retro fit would be more i just want to know if it could be done.
    I enquired about retro fitting the folding mirrors and was told it was a new wiring loom and that it couldnt be done :-(
    #3
  5. faisal_16
    Offline

    faisal_16 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    18
    [Oct 7, 2013]
    I think it is probably something that can be coded with VCDS since there is unlikely to be any additional hardware (except the swtich).

    Perhaps it can be activated with VCDS to always be on meaning the switch isn't needed? I don't have a copy of VCDS personally otherwise I'd have a play around
    #4
  6. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Oct 7, 2013]
    Huh, who told you that?
    #5
  7. Schizophonic
    Online

    Schizophonic Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    52
    [Oct 7, 2013]
    NHN, If you have any information on what can be retro fitted to the 8V, that would help owners like me what could be added at a later date

    I only enquired about the Xenon lights and you advised this could be fitted but dont know if you have performed before.
    #6
  8. Casey87
    Offline

    Casey87 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Oct 7, 2013]
    The service guy in Liverpool Audi.

    I expected that it would require additional motors in each mirror but to be honest i didnt think it would be a full wiring loom required.

    What do you think ?
    #7
  9. snakehips
    Offline

    snakehips Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    661
    Likes Received:
    230
    [Oct 7, 2013]
    After all the great reports I am beginning to regret not speccing it. What odds that a small addition like this would push my build date back? Worth the risk?
    #8
  10. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Oct 7, 2013]
    Without being arrogant, asking any service desk personnel that doesn't/hasn't lifted a tool to an audi, would be a mistake as they have no real technical experience of working on the cars, often I read about service desks that say no it cant be done, when I've already fitted certain options to the same car they're discussing, rather annoying to say the least.

    What they should say is, we don't personally install these systems.
    #9
  11. Pganders
    Offline

    Pganders Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Oct 7, 2013]
    I suspect anything is possible for a price.
    #10
  12. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Oct 7, 2013]
    It all comes down to time, effort & money.
    #11
  13. CraigI
    Offline

    CraigI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    324
    [Oct 7, 2013]
    Hold assist retro fit solution; use a combination of handbrake, foot brake, clutch and accelerator (if you have s tronic replace clutch with automatic biting poit); like you have managed to do without any issue in however many years of driving that you have been driving for.
    #12
  14. A3sportbackMark
    Offline

    A3sportbackMark Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    230
    [Oct 7, 2013]
    Depends on your current build date.
    After I placed my original order, 4 weeks later i added Hill assist, didn't change my build date. Now that i have the car im so pleased that I added it.

    IMO, even if it does change the build date, it's well worth it, you have waited this long............
    #13
  15. A3sportbackMark
    Offline

    A3sportbackMark Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    230
    [Oct 7, 2013]
    NHN, don't mean to hijack the thread, but do you know if the Tyre Pressure Monitor be retrofitted to the new A3? And if so what would be the cost?

    Thanks
    Mark
    #14
  16. Casey87
    Offline

    Casey87 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Oct 7, 2013]
    i was in getting the satnav fitted and just asked the question about the mirrors ? If I'm not to ask the service desk how would I ever no any different if it could or could not be fitted.
    It's either the service desk or the sales floor for advice and I would expect the service desk to be a little more clued up about it than the sales staff.
    #15
  17. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Oct 7, 2013]
    The sat nav isn't a retrofit as such, as the hardware is already fitted & its just the activation they do via Germany, that's by design tbh so service desk would know about this in as far as it can be activated, but not hardware side of things, but anything above the spec of your car & not an official install, wouldn't be known to service desks tbh, even if it has & can be done, as allot of them have no real technical expertise or knowledge of the cars anyway.

    Yes I understand what you're saying & nobody is suggesting you shouldn't ask them 1st, as joe bloggs would expect them to know these things, it as just an observation & comment of what I know about the service departments, forums know allot more about the cars than allot of service personnel tbh.

    TPMS relies on abs controller mostly, so if yours is the same as someone with tpms working, then yes by this we could assume it can be enabled, if its not blocked by audi or another module wont allow the enablement.
    #16
  18. A3sportbackMark
    Offline

    A3sportbackMark Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    230
    [Oct 7, 2013]
    Thanks NHN. Looks as though it may be possible, more digging required!
    #17

Share This Page