1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hold Assist - Can it be added in via a code change or is factory fitted

Discussion in 'New A3/S3 (8V Chassis)' started by rayss3, Jan 13, 2014.

  1. rayss3

    rayss3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Far as i understand Hold Assist is not available on S3 Sedan in Australia.

    Can it be added in via a code change? or is it component thats added from Factory?

    I have the feature on my Passat R36 and love it.
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. misthills

    misthills Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    70
    It's a good question - It is definitely factory fitted as the button to activate it will be missing from your car (it is the blank button beside your park brake). I agree it would have been nice if it was available as an option here in Australia, particularly as it is so low cost in the scheme of a $60k+ car. Having said that, as best as I can tell, the hold feature provided by the standard park brake does almost everything the hold assist does apart from applying the park brake automatically when you park. The car automatically holds for a short period of time (6 seconds from recollection) when you release the foot brake. I suspect that you won't really miss it if it can't be cheaply retrofitted.
     
  4. snowfree52

    snowfree52 Full LED baby !

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    125
    It should be possible, the coding via VCDS has already been found but you need a security code for module 03

    For the button I know it has been done on the Q3.
     
  5. rayss3

    rayss3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your replies i will investigate further when i get the car.
     
  6. cemerson

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    4,205
    Likes Received:
    916
    You'll need the button to retrofit the option... but whether you can turn it always on or always off without the button via VCDS I don't know.
     
  7. snowfree52

    snowfree52 Full LED baby !

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    125
    That's what I was talking about, the option is there. but the security code is not known yet
     
  8. rayss3

    rayss3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    i would be happy to have it permanently on, only issue i can see is launch control not working maybe; because you need to turn traction control off?
     
  9. Schizophonic

    Schizophonic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    320
    It's a £90 optional extra so having extra modules for hold assist is ridiculous. If it's a plastic button and a code change in vcds then it makes sense.
     
  10. h5djr

    h5djr Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User Gold Supporter quattro Audi A3

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    8,930
    Likes Received:
    1,323
    Out of interest the cost of the switch in the UK is £30.24.
     
  11. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    29,125
    Likes Received:
    1,644
    Yes but abs modules differ in features & no guarantee just cause you have, whether other module part number will aswell, but if 2 people share the same part number module & 1 has & one doesnt, then yes its possible for sure, issue then lies in gaining security access & also if audi will wipe the feature when it goes in, as vin comes back with it being disabled.
     
  12. h5djr

    h5djr Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User Gold Supporter quattro Audi A3

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    8,930
    Likes Received:
    1,323
    For the cost of £90 on a 25-30k car it is just not worth not including it. If you have purchased a used-car that did not have it included in it's original spec, then that is one of the disadvantages of buying a used car. Personally I don't think the ABS module is something to start playing around with, which is no doubt why Audi put security on it.
     
  13. Stephen C

    Stephen C Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    37
    Slightly OT: I have test driven S tronics and they have held once I came to a complete stop and then released the brake pedal. From what I have read, without hold assist you will roll back after 6 seconds?

    Does hold assist also work when you're not on a hill? i.e. In an S tronic A3, you would be able to stop at traffic lights, take your foot off of the brake and keep the car in D with no parking brake on? Without hold assist on, the car would start to creep/roll back after 6 seconds.
     
  14. cemerson

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    4,205
    Likes Received:
    916
    Hold Assist works regardless of hills!
     
  15. rayss3

    rayss3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im pushing to get this put in from factory if i can. They might just make it available if enough pressure is put on.
     
  16. cuke2u

    cuke2u Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    3,936
    Likes Received:
    1,012
    Hold assist stays on until you release the clutch and move off. I've got it on the loan Q3 I have and I find it quite intrusive compared to the system on the focus I had. You can definitely feel quite a 'grab' before it releases and a noise from the pads. I'll live with it though...
     
    #15 cuke2u, Jan 14, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2014
  17. cemerson

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    4,205
    Likes Received:
    916
    It's a lot smoother on the A3, don't notice it 95% of the time
     
    cuke2u likes this.
  18. JohnM100

    JohnM100 #teamSepang
    VCDS Map User Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    951
    Likes Received:
    394
    I have S-Tronic and Hold Assist.
    Yes it does hold. Hill or no hill.
    In S-Tronic it does exactly as you describe, even when start-stop kicks in. When the traffic lights go green, just press the accelerator and it moves off.

    You don't have to apply the handbrake at the end of a journey either. Just turn off the ignition and it does it for you.

    I think in the 3 months I have had mine, I have only used the hand brake button twice, and that was because I was trying to manoeuvre my car on my drive without putting my seat belt on (with no seatbelt, the car won't automatically release the handbrake).

    John.
     

Share This Page