1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hill hold assist

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B8 Chassis)' started by johnnevett, Jul 25, 2013.

  1. johnnevett
    Offline

    johnnevett Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi all
    is hill hold assist a retrofit option for the b8?
    Is it just a case of installing the right switch and programming?
    Is there any guides anywhere to help do this ?
    cheers
    john
    #1
  2. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,217
    Likes Received:
    29
    Requires abs module to be compatible.
    #2
  3. johnnevett
    Offline

    johnnevett Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for the reply
    how do I check if the module is compatible
    cheers
    #3
  4. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,217
    Likes Received:
    29
    With vcds, check if its got the option.
    #4
  5. johnnevett
    Offline

    johnnevett Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok, thanks.
    if the option is there is it just the switch that would be needed?
    #5
  6. Leeroy1
    Offline

    Leeroy1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is this just the auto hand brake release when you pull away?

    i just thought it was a standard feature?
    #6
  7. Stonefish
    Offline

    Stonefish Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    2
    #7
  8. johnnevett
    Offline

    johnnevett Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    1
    No, it's a different switch which makes the car hold when stationary once engaged you don't have to keep pressing it like the normal hand brake switch
    #8
    Audi Dynamik likes this.
  9. Spr0cket
    Offline

    Spr0cket Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    1
    You also need to run wiring from the ABS module in engine bay to the new switch in the centre console.
    #9
  10. johnnevett
    Offline

    johnnevett Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    1
    Even if the option is already there in vcds like mentioned above?
    Is there a guide to this wiring if not
    cheers
    #10
  11. johnnythepie
    Offline

    johnnythepie Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    7

Share This Page