1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hill assist

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B7 Chassis)' started by johnmandy, Apr 5, 2012.

  1. johnmandy
    Offline

    johnmandy Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 5, 2012]
    I know this is the a4 forum, and my post contains reference to the a5, but i'm sure the question still may get the nod here.

    My elderly parents have just purchased an audi a5 tdi, (yes i am serious), anyway there's lots of confusion over the electronic handbrake... and hill assist.
    My mothers who's probably not the best driver i know, she is 72, but a very competant driver, worries continuously about the hill assist button, apparently it needs to be activated everytime you start the car, but is concerned she'll forget to turn it on, with a chance she causes a bump.
    Now my question, can the default setting for the hill assist be changed via vag com, i have the full version.

    john.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 20, 2014]

  3. PetrolDave
    Offline

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    82
    [Apr 6, 2012]
    Hill Assist is an option on the B8 A4 not the B6 or B7 A4, so you would be better posting in the B8 A4 Forum.
    #2
  4. johnmandy
    Offline

    johnmandy Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 6, 2012]
    Thanks,
    I've tried that, but they don't seem as talkative as we are on this forum, i own the b7 3.0 litre quattro myself, only posted the question for a member of my family.
    #3
  5. Sandra
    Offline

    Sandra MODERATOR Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    16,184
    Likes Received:
    2,384
    [Apr 6, 2012]
    maybe try a pm to quattrojames, he may be able to help you. :)
    #4
  6. kite
    Offline

    kite Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    17
    [Apr 6, 2012]
    Try asking over on A5oc
    #5
  7. PetrolDave
    Offline

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    82
    [Apr 6, 2012]
    Thing is, that as B7 owners we won't have hill assist on our cars, so we're not very likely to know the answer to your question.

    If there's no coding shown on the Ross-Tech wiki (which I have to admit is spectacularly empty on the B8 platform, with only hint that the Long Coding Assistant will help you), then you need to post in a place where A5 or B8 A4 owners visit.
    #6
  8. quattrojames
    Offline

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,892
    Likes Received:
    477
    [Apr 6, 2012]
    Lol no pressure.... sadly I've no idea.

    If Dave can't help you, try NHN, failing that I'd ask a dealer. I know they're not always the most helpful, but if the car is quite new still hopefully they'll help.
    #7
  9. johnmandy
    Offline

    johnmandy Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 8, 2012]
    Thanks all,
    It seems my question is not valid, not having seen the car until today.... it seems the car doesn't have hill assist, apparently with having the stop/start function, this makes the hill assist a non starter... the engine needs to be turning to use this feature.
    Anyway, i'll think i'll stick with my good old b7 quattro.

    john
    #8

Share This Page