1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

high idle speed s4

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by Tuffty, Oct 16, 2010.

  1. Tuffty

    Tuffty Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    my s4 has randomly started idling at 1100 - 1200 rpm
    i've checked all the hoses i can get to for leaks, the recerc valves are seating nicely,
    i've cleaned the throttle flap and reset it.
    the only fault codes i'm getting are the EGT sensors (supprise supprise lol ) and an intermitant lambda heating fault.
    the car idles smoothly drives ok, although you can feel a slight surging at very light throttle.

    any thoughts?
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. SonicDeathmonkey

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine did exactly the same until I had the EGTs sorted, except it would also hessitate at about 3,000 rpm before kicing off again. Weird.
     
  4. SonicDeathmonkey

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    0
    bye the way, how does the 84 GTE turbo go? I used to have a J plate GSi Red Top. When I went to pick up my brand new Fiat Coupe turbo in '99, the woman at the fiat dealer asked me if "I made it myself". I didn't know what to say to her...
     
  5. Tuffty

    Tuffty Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    mine does sometimes hesitate which i put down to the EGT's but it's idled fine up until now which is what i find odd.

    The astra's just shy of 290bhp, so makes the S4 seem very tame lol
     
  6. evilscotsman

    evilscotsman Space Cowboy

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    13
    cts?
     
  7. Tuffty

    Tuffty Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Think that'll be my next port of call, started it today from cold and the idle dropped down to normal after a min or so, but after driving it was back up to 1200.
     
  8. SonicDeathmonkey

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Doh, I should have said that I changes the CTS at the same time!!!
     
  9. mwarrey

    mwarrey Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    What's CTS? I have the same issue on mine
     
  10. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    17,761
    Likes Received:
    673
    Coolant Temp Sensor.

    Easy to check with vagcom before condemning it though.

    Does your coolant guage behave? it should quickly climb to 90 in about 5-10mins and stay there resolutely.
     
  11. Tuffty

    Tuffty Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    changed the cts, no joy, looks like i'm gunner have to put my hands in my pockets for some new egt sensors and hope that solves it.
     
  12. evilscotsman

    evilscotsman Space Cowboy

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    13
    a log of vag com for various values might provide a picture mate before you spend any more cash, a cheap lead and a run using the laptop then post the graphs, fuelling, boost, maf, temps, etc etc its all in there :)
     
  13. Tuffty

    Tuffty Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    have the free version of vag com but my laptop battery died a long time ago so it needs permanent 240v lol, what should the maf read under load on an s4?
     
  14. evilscotsman

    evilscotsman Space Cowboy

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    13
    240v inverter plugged into the fag lighter - thats what im using, laptop wont run more than a minute off the mains lol
     
  15. Tuffty

    Tuffty Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    chucked a couple of Exhaust temp sensors on and she's still idling high. tried with the maf unpluged and she coughs and splutters but idles lower.
    bring back carbs! lol
     
  16. evilscotsman

    evilscotsman Space Cowboy

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    13
    tps calibration maybe work?

    Asda selling a 80W inverter that plugs into the fag lighter, £15 and it'll run yer laptop in the car for ever...
     
  17. Tuffty

    Tuffty Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    have tried reseting the tps. will run off some logs tomorrow, at least the fault codes are clear now lol
     
  18. Tuffty

    Tuffty Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    think i've found the problem, looking at the logs the bank 2 lambda is basicly shagged and not doing anything.
    Why do I get the feeling that bank 2 is the passenger side one which a complete sod to get to lol.
     
  19. evilscotsman

    evilscotsman Space Cowboy

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    13
    haha yeah it probably is mate :)

    Good find. Likely its preventing closed loop mode operation eh.
     
  20. Tuffty

    Tuffty Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    lambda now fixed, still not idling right.
    think it's gunner catch fire soon !
     
  21. Tuffty

    Tuffty Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have now sorted it.
    turned out that the throttle flap had come out of alignment, and the foot on the throttle with the ignition on then off doesn't work on the S4, a quick reset on vag-com and job jobbed. :beerchug:

    Ross-Tech: VAG-COM: Throttle Body Alignment
     
  22. Advert Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. S4twiggy

    S4twiggy Fully Certified Detailer!!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,815
    Likes Received:
    9
    if you leave the ignition on for about 30 seconds ive been told the TB resets itself
     
  24. Tuffty

    Tuffty Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Doing that only sets the max open and shut of the flap. Not the idle / overun etc positions
     
  25. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    17,761
    Likes Received:
    673
    TBH i cant believe that.

    Seems completely stupid to design an ECU that every time the battery was removed the car NEEDS to be plugged into a dealer computer to reset the throttle body. Given the throttle position is a safety critical component, there MUST be an automatic alignment system built in.

    Did you actually try just turning the ignition on without touching any of the pedals and leaving the car for a minute or two to do its thing?
     
  26. Tuffty

    Tuffty Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trust me I've spent 3 weeks searching for an answer to this. I've tried with and without moving the throttle and various lengths of time with the ign on and off. Ive even left the battery off overnight to try and get it to reset. But the vag-com way was they only thing that worked.
     
  27. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    17,761
    Likes Received:
    673
    Fair enough. Maybe yours was extra-stuck or something :p
     
  28. Swifmcvay99

    Swifmcvay99 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Guys,

    Mine is doing exactly the same thing, I will try the turning off the ignition and leaving it for a minute and see what it does, I don't know anyone in the surrey area with a VAGCOM which is rather annoying, because when I'm sat at the lights,the idle is so high, people think i want to race them, the only way i get it to go down a little to about 1k rpm is to turn the aircon on
     
  29. Swifmcvay99

    Swifmcvay99 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just an update to this, the turning on the ignition and leaving for a few minutes doesn't work i'm afraid.

    Looks like a vagcom fix
     
  30. slepy

    slepy Extremely smart and handsome person.
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,042
    Likes Received:
    303
    I disconnect the battery in mine every night because something drains it. Runs fine after couple of mins with ignition on.
     

Share This Page