1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

High Beam Assist

Discussion in 'New A3/S3 (8V Chassis)' started by drtav13, Jun 26, 2013.

  1. drtav13

    drtav13 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    3
    My 8V Sportback is equipped with High Beam Assist , however I haven't managed to get the damn thing working , not even once!
    after visiting the dealer to check all the related sensors , they said that every sensor is working fine and probably the problem is related to driving conditions. They gave me a list with all the driving conditions that should be met in order for the system to work
    1) the road should have no lights (makes sense)
    2)should not be near a populated area (almost makes sense, cause of lights from houses etc)
    3)should not have traffic signs (makes no sense , im speculating maybe it refers to reflections from the high beam ???)
    4)the minimum speed of the car should be at 56mph / 90kmh (way to fast for a dark road with low visibility if you ask me)
    5)the road should be almost straight with no turns or big curves
    6)no other car should proceed or follow for at least 1 km / 0.6miles range , same or opposite direction.

    I find most of the above excessive and I would like to know other owners experience with High Beam Assist. (hopefully someone else has optioned it :) )
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. SJW

    SJW Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    65
    Seems rather extreme to me Drtav13 for High Beam assist to function properly given those conditions required.

    I am pleased I did not spec this if these conditions are required for it to work.
     
    Daveotto likes this.
  4. Daveotto

    Daveotto Well-Known Member
    Gold Supporter Team Sepang Audi S3

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,280
    Likes Received:
    590
    I am sure there are a few posts on here or on the 8P forum stating that the system is way to senstive and dips the headlights way to early at the slightest indication of any sign of brightness in the distance
     
    #3 Daveotto, Jun 26, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2013
  5. cemerson

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    4,059
    Likes Received:
    865
    I've got the variable range control instead, will be interested to see how that works
     
  6. drtav13

    drtav13 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    3
    well mine haven't turned on not even once! I activate the system the High Beam icon with the letter A appears on the dash , but the high beam light stays off....
     
  7. Artimus

    Artimus Shortback

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,965
    Likes Received:
    418
    Not sure if this will be useful or not!

    On the 8P3 you can adjust some of the sensitivity parameters using VCDS! I haven't done it personally because I don't have that option fitted to mine, but I remember seeing the option when browsing just yesterday & thought you might like to take the info back to the dealer to see if there's anything they can fine tune.

    HTH.
     
  8. drtav13

    drtav13 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    3
    as far as i know vcds compatibility for 8v is limited at the moment , however thanks for the tip!

     
  9. junkbuddy

    junkbuddy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    2, 3, 4, 5, 6 are wrong

    Totally wrong! I have assist in my 8v and only first option is ± true. With public ilumination high beam goes on... when a car enters in high beam range... car automatically turn off that.

    Cars that come in opposite direction neved blinked me with high beam. So should work well.

    Sorry for my bad english.
     
  10. drtav13

    drtav13 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    3
    thanks for the info , could you please confirm at what speed the high beam assist starts working?

    please also let me know if you have high beam assist as part of the driver assistance package ( Adaptive Cruise Control , Lane Assist , High Beam Assist , Parking Assist , Light Rain Sensor , tinted front window line)
     
    #9 drtav13, Jun 27, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2013
  11. drtav13

    drtav13 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    3
    After Further testing on completely dark roads. I've reached the following conclusion:
    1) the road should have no lights (makes sense)
    2)should not be near a populated area (almost makes sense, cause of lights from houses etc)
    3)The speed required for the system to start working is 65km / 40mph . High beam then activates and stays on until a light source appear in front of the car. In case you slow down below 65km/40mph it still remains activated.

    So on all occasions when I'm on a dark road I have to momentarily reach at least65km/40mph so that the system can be activated.

    STILL MAKES NO SENSE TO ME!!! :banghead:
     
  12. mjcourtney

    mjcourtney Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,381
    Likes Received:
    385
    If that's the case then it seems very limited :think:

    And if so I'd expect more explanation in the brochure so that customers can decide whether it's worth the extra money, as it just implies in the brochure it works under most conditions.
     
  13. cemerson

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    4,059
    Likes Received:
    865
    I'm pretty sure I've read that before somewhere. I wonder how the variable range version differs, as that's what I'll get.
     
  14. Vertigo1

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,314
    Likes Received:
    486
    Strikes me as one of the most pointless options ever. So touchy/unpredictable as to be virtually useless.
     
    Daveotto likes this.
  15. cemerson

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    4,059
    Likes Received:
    865
    Sounds fine to me - when would you ever be driving below 40 outside of a built up area?
     
  16. Daveotto

    Daveotto Well-Known Member
    Gold Supporter Team Sepang Audi S3

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,280
    Likes Received:
    590
    Was thinking exactly the same - the rules and sensitivity of the sensors need to be able to be changed based upon where you drive to make it even vaguely useful
     
  17. The Challinor

    The Challinor Well-Known Member
    Regional Rep Audi S3

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    4,334
    Likes Received:
    1,091
    Glad I gave this one a miss
     
  18. sstorra

    sstorra New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    8
    With VCDS you can change this, it's an adaption on the A5 controller, "Activation speed for high beam assistant". On my Australian delivered S3 it is set by default to 57 km/h. I haven't altered it, as for our local roads that is fine - I've tested it and find it to work very well for my requirements.

    There is also another adaption, "Speed threshold for high beam recommendation off" which is set to 27 km/h and controls when it turns off. Also "Main_Beam_Assist_Urban_Area_Detection" which is set to "On", "Night vehicle detection activation brightness" set to "3 lx" and "Night vehicle detection deactivation brightness", set to "20 lx".

    By tweaking these values, you could significantly alter the behaviour of high beam assist.
     
    #17 sstorra, Oct 11, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2014
    Ceho and glospete like this.
  19. Pulp84

    Pulp84 Well-Known Member
    Audi S3

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,951
    Likes Received:
    776
    Mine works perfectly with the LED headlights.

    Had it on two cars now and would never not have it - bargain for the price.
     
    Helifella likes this.
  20. glospete

    glospete Well-Known Member
    Team Glacier Audi TT Team Ibis Audi A3

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    452
    I also have it with LED headlights and find it perfect. Yet another thing not to have to think about when driving at night so can concentrate on the main job.
    I didn't know you could adjust the thresholds with VCDS although the defaults seem to work fine for me. I would certainly recommend it and would spec it again. A bargain as Pulp84 says.
     
    Helifella and Pulp84 like this.
  21. Zygote

    Zygote Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    12
    Ive also had some issues with the high beam assist. What I think I've figured out is that if I manually activate the high beams, then push the lever back so that its in "auto" mode, it seems to work fairly well although I find it to be a bit too slow to come back on after Ive passed a car.
     
  22. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. pgl

    pgl New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    3
    I use high beam assist every weekend. It works above 30ish miles an hour. Never lets me down. The only issue is that large road signs sometimes make the high beam dip. The best little extra along with hold assist.
     
  24. HawkeyeS3

    HawkeyeS3 Active Member
    Audi S3

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    65
    +1 - I think its a fantastic option, works perfectly well around country lanes, notices cars/lights coming towards you or in front and reacts in betetr time than I would if I were doing it manually. Even better around country lanes for night sporty driving as you don't have to worry about dipping light sit does it all for you.

    One of the best options on the S3, I'd spec it every time.

    As for all the conditions for it works drtav13 in your first thread - dealer clearly has never used it IMO or has no idea how it operates.

    What I do is push the lever away to activate it when I have started the car and am driving down the street - then forget it, it does the rest itself :)
     
  25. cemerson

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    4,059
    Likes Received:
    865
    I don't understand what you mean... manually activate high beams? How do you do that? The only way is to push the lever back twice - once to put it in auto mode, then again for manual override / full beam on
     

Share This Page