1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hid kit - Diy guide for the b6

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by Ryanmt, Aug 12, 2010.

  1. Alan H

    Alan H Need a V8 or Bi-Turbo.......

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    7
    Yes, there is a hint of blue, but not as much as the 6000k

    Perhaps a good compromise for people seeking something different from OEM....
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Max M4X WW

    Max M4X WW Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yea I'm not doubting it doesn't look blue, 6000k tend to be a turquoise sort of blue too I think.
     
  4. Alan H

    Alan H Need a V8 or Bi-Turbo.......

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    7
    Yes, I'd agree with that.

    I didn't want too much blue when I got these.

    But I think when modifying, people do it to be different, not to look like out of the factory.

    Don't you think?
     
  5. Max M4X WW

    Max M4X WW Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yep I guess, but when fitting something that a higher spec car already has I'd like it to look the same.
     
  6. Leaky Lloyd

    Leaky Lloyd Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    1
    cheers for the help guys,,
    im hoping the links provided should help me sort it all out!
    it was a rush job really,, i only went to the car t see if i had the right sized torque bit to remove the headlights and ended up doing the whole bloody job
    which due to losing daylight,, i rushed,,!
    im therefore gunna take the whole lot out and start from scratch!
    fingers crossed,,
    and thanks again to all!
    wish me luck!
     
  7. quattrojames

    quattrojames Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Audi A6

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,993
    Likes Received:
    522
    A trial run? Very dedicated! ;)
     
  8. Leaky Lloyd

    Leaky Lloyd Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    1
    yeah mate,, lets call it a trial run!
    the missus is going crackers
    "dont know why you changed em anyway,, there was nowt wrong with the others"!

    they just dont get it do they?
     
  9. Leaky Lloyd

    Leaky Lloyd Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    1
    forgot to ask,,
    is it as important to hide the other bits of wiring as it is the ballast?
    the only reason i ask is that i dont really like the idea that i could jam up the adjuster motors and i was also concerned about the heat inside the unit itself?
     
  10. quattrojames

    quattrojames Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Audi A6

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,993
    Likes Received:
    522
    Its a personal thing - personally i ran the wires up the edge of the wings, and mounted my ballasts by the aircon pipes/ABS pump and partly attribute this to never having had an error code. The slimline ones are pretty easy to hide.
     
  11. Leaky Lloyd

    Leaky Lloyd Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    1
    would it be possible to post a few pics james me old mate?

    need as much feedback as possible , hate it when something doesn't go right!

    no emidiate rush as the cars booked in tuesday morning for the tints (NO,, NOT PIMP STYLE,, JUST SUBTLE ONES)
    i know what im like,, ill start rushing it tomorrow and cocking it up for a 2nd time!

    cheers pal!
     
    #50 Leaky Lloyd, Sep 26, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2010
  12. quattrojames

    quattrojames Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Audi A6

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,993
    Likes Received:
    522
    Its literally just the wires threaded neatly out the back of the light unit, and I zip tied the ballast onto the brake pipes like this:

    [​IMG]

    Which are all hidden under here anyway:

    [​IMG]

    This is a VERY old pic of the previous full size ballasts, the slimline looks a LOT neater, and will shortly be hidden by the cover I'm going to get for the other side anyway:

    [​IMG]

    A cover like this: (courtesy to Scott for the picture)

    [​IMG]
     
  13. Alan H

    Alan H Need a V8 or Bi-Turbo.......

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    7
    You're right, they just don't understand. I've been messing and modging with cars since 1991 (all you needed for a cover car was lowered suspension, 15's and a set of headlight rows.....LOL) and after all these years she STILL asks me why I'm doing it......
     
  14. Leaky Lloyd

    Leaky Lloyd Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    1
    cheers for that james,, dont think my wires are long enough to mount em there,,
    but i get the general way of thinking,, as far back and as neat as possible!!!
    cheers brother!
     
  15. simon.m

    simon.m Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,747
    Likes Received:
    6
    leaky Lloyd i put mine in the front wheel arches you can see strate into them with the head light out and just bolt it to the bumper
    where it joins the boddy panel its out of the way there ;-)
     
  16. Leaky Lloyd

    Leaky Lloyd Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    1
    and you dont get any error codes there?

    sound,another option there,, cheers simon!
     
  17. Leaky Lloyd

    Leaky Lloyd Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    1
    just thought id say thanks for all the advice fella's,, got em sorted this morning,, did it same as james,, error codes are now gone,, although i keep waiting for them to pop up sooer or later LOL!
    cheers again fella's,, top mod,, looks awsome!
     
  18. fourcircle

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    887
    Likes Received:
    17
    quick thanks from me for the original post. installed mine today (finished tonight in -5 actually). what a difference!
     
  19. tubbyttop

    tubbyttop New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I've got an older style HID (larger ballasets and no canbus) kit that isn't being used. I'm hoping to order some canbus kits and install the HIDs into my B6. If I don't plan to fiot the ballasts in the compartment as you have done will I need to drill a hole through plastic bulb cover instead? Thanks
     
  20. quattrojames

    quattrojames Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Audi A6

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,993
    Likes Received:
    522
    Yes you will, but if you use a hole saw it does a neat job and isn't a problem.
     
  21. scottshere

    scottshere Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    2
  22. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. crazy88

    crazy88 Loving the anonymity

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4,894
    Likes Received:
    411
    I'd be intrigued by them. Been putting off HID's for too long I think :)
     
  24. stu_m

    stu_m Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    37
    I have just ordered a set of 55w hid's will let you know how I get on
     
  25. CMD

    CMD Pointing Forward's!!!!!!!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,016
    Likes Received:
    17
    I'm still on the fence with HID . Flicker, Off, Flash Flicker Off, Flicker Flash, OFF is something I don't need agin at 3am on the M50 Scared the Poop out of me.
     
  26. stu_m

    stu_m Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    37
    Sounds like they wasn't getting enough power!
     
  27. crazy88

    crazy88 Loving the anonymity

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4,894
    Likes Received:
    411
    Yeah, it's things like this that have scared me away. Hmmm, we'll see. One day I'll have the balls to give them a try. Maybe :)
     
  28. Tooks

    Tooks Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    753
    Likes Received:
    29
    I've just been fiddling with my HID kit today, using my existing slimline ballast to drive some Philips D2S bulbs with some D2S to H7 adapters and D2S bulb power connectors.

    I sourced the bits from eBay, and first thing I've noticed after a test drive this evening are the much better cut off, and the brightness over my std H7 HID bulbs which are shorter than the D2S bulbs.

    I understand that the B6 housings are designed to work with D2S bulbs in HID guise anyway, which might explain the cut off, whilst the D2S bulbs are better quality than most HID kit bulbs which might explain the brightness.

    I'm pleased with the improvements anyway, and the setup all still fits within the headlight housing so totally hidden.
     
  29. stu_m

    stu_m Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    37
    just to let anyone know i have just fitted a 55w kit to my A4 with no problems at all no warnings nothing!

    although i dont have full DIS so no fear of bulb out warnings but i dont have any brake warnings either had them on and off all day and been fine with a lot more light output then my 35w kit which is now in my high beam!
     
  30. crazy88

    crazy88 Loving the anonymity

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4,894
    Likes Received:
    411
  31. stu_m

    stu_m Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    37
    no i got a cheapo one off ebay i will find a link for you

    my car is a low line one so not sure if it makes much difference to be honest i have had the ballasts close to all the sensors and wiring and all was ok!!
     
  32. stu_m

    stu_m Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    37
  33. scottshere

    scottshere Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    2
    For some reason i thought you couldnt have HID replacements for high beam
    Keep us informed as to how good they are and if you have any problems. They are very cheap, i want some :think:
     
  34. crazy88

    crazy88 Loving the anonymity

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4,894
    Likes Received:
    411
    Yeah, at half the price of the ones I linked they're very tempting indeed. Was the 35w kit the same brand? And did you have errors with them?

    Soooo tempting. :)
     
  35. stu_m

    stu_m Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    37
    Who says you can't have hid in high beam! They take a bit to warm up but once warm they are better then normal bulbs!

    The 35w kit was different they was again cheap ones off ebay but the large ballasts no errors at all with any kit and no errors while both are on together
     
  36. crazy88

    crazy88 Loving the anonymity

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4,894
    Likes Received:
    411
    Did you mount the ballasts close to the lights? I think I'm gonna order some of the 55w ones. A nice little christmas break project I think. :)

    Thanks for the answers to my many questions.
     
  37. stu_m

    stu_m Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    37
    They are the slim ballast's so can be fitted where the oe ones fit although I didn't have time to fit them there

    Once you remove the headlights if you look down each side you can see the mounts for the bumper I mounted them on there they are out the way

    Some people have errors some don't it is trial and error the 35w kit gives less errors overall and I would go for 4300k bulbs too they have no blue and give out the most light

    I would check to see if you can exchange them for a 35w kit before you order just in case you get brake errors don't worry about buld warnings if you have full DIS you can get cancellers for bulb outs
     
  38. Q4

    Q4 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Guys got a Question for all who have fitted HID kits, has anyone fitted a kit that does not interfere with the radio reception.

    Fitted Hid's to my last audi and they were a dramatic improvement over standard and I had no error messages what so ever. The only downfall was poor to no radio reception with them switched on.

    So if you have fitted a kit that has no error messgaes and does not interfere with the radio then could you please post a link to the kit so I can fit them on my latest A4 to allow me to see in the dark again!

    Any Info much appreciated

    Cheers
     
  39. stu_m

    stu_m Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    37
    All ok with the kit I have

    You sure you didn't have a bad earth somewhere
     
  40. crazy88

    crazy88 Loving the anonymity

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4,894
    Likes Received:
    411
    55w kit as above ordered. Decided that at half the price it was worth the risk :D

    I'll be fitting them over Christmas all being well. I can't wait. I have fill DIS so my dash may be lit up like a Christmas tree, but hopefully not.
     
  41. stu_m

    stu_m Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    37
    You will have to get some bulb out cancellers in that case which is normal for full dis unless you run them off a relay and fit the appropriate resister in line ps god knows on the resister lol

    It's the brake warnings that cause the big headaches
     
  42. crazy88

    crazy88 Loving the anonymity

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4,894
    Likes Received:
    411
    Is that basically a resistor in line with just the headlights to fool it into thinking it has the same load? And I take it it'll only be my headlights that I lose bulb-out warnings for? It'd be a pain if I lost all warnings for even rear lights.

    I'll get googling the resistors.
     

Share This Page