1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HID install (picture heavy!)

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by jcb, Oct 4, 2009.

  1. ian52
    Offline

    ian52 2000 a4 1.8tqs-yellow

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,199
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 26, 2009]
    not that deep,its a scuff from a car bumper by the look of it.
    #41
  2. rasA4
    Offline

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 26, 2009]
    #42
  3. ian52
    Offline

    ian52 2000 a4 1.8tqs-yellow

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,199
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 26, 2009]
    think ill give it a go with some wet/dry and some polish.
    #43
  4. manzi
    Offline

    manzi Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 17, 2009]
    I've previously bought a H4 hi/lo (or however you say it, HID main beam, normal small bulb for other) HID kit, to my knowledge, all i need is the right bulbs to use this kit ......right? as ballasts are fine.

    what size/type do i need?

    cheers
    #44
  5. impster
    Offline

    impster Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 9, 2010]
    great guide there - just fitted mine. 'like a glove' as you say.

    Quick question - in my kit there are 2 extra bags of cables - each with a 20w 10ohm resistor. What's that for? any ideas?
    #45
  6. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,571
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Nov 9, 2010]
    at a guess, its to fool some kinda bulb monitoring system that everythings working ok?

    The A4 ones designed for HID's anyway, so it should be happy.
    #46
  7. Geeman
    Offline

    Geeman Low Life

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Nov 9, 2010]
    Extra cables with resistors...?

    Send them my way! My M3 needs them as the bulb check keeps throwing up bulb errors!
    #47
  8. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Nov 10, 2010]
    yep, only required on flighty systems.
    mine pops a code every no wna dthen when I turn them off but it is instantaneous and goes as quick as it came.

    have some resistors here also if anyone wants them.

    thought I had a dead ballast last week, turned out to be a loose connector.
    #48

Share This Page