1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

hid install fuse change?

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by swarcup, Dec 2, 2013.

  1. swarcup
    Offline

    swarcup Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    37
    [Dec 2, 2013]
    Quick question

    Am about to install my first hid kit and it says to change the headlight fuse to min 20a, ive never read about this in any threads that i can remember. Is it correct?

    Many thanks
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 16, 2014]

  3. BRILLO
    Offline

    BRILLO Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Dec 2, 2013]
    It said something about that with mine but I didn't do it yet.
    #2
    swarcup likes this.
  4. AlexGSi2000
    Offline

    AlexGSi2000 Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,196
    Likes Received:
    118
    [Dec 2, 2013]
    Depends on the kit I suppose, mine said nothing about swapping a fuse (35w kit)
    #3
  5. swarcup
    Offline

    swarcup Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    37
    [Dec 2, 2013]
    Its a 35w kit from hids direct. If they dont blow then surely they wont need changing
    #4
  6. AlexGSi2000
    Offline

    AlexGSi2000 Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,196
    Likes Received:
    118
    [Dec 2, 2013]
    I have the canbus pro kit from HID direct.
    Leave the fuse as it is. Is it asking for a higher or lower amp fuse?
    If lower then I would understand if the kits require less current, if it requires more then leave the fuse as it is at the moment.
    #5
  7. Andy27168
    Offline

    Andy27168 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Dec 2, 2013]
    Though a HID kit does use less current, when it is intially switched on there is a current surge as the Ballast/control units have an inductive load, this initial surge can far exceed the fuse rating, but as it is only for a fraction of a second before it starts dropping the fuse depending on its condition/quality/standard in this case can with stand it, the upgrade of the fuse will be just in case the original fuse blows.
    The advise to leave the original correct rating fuse is quite correct, indeed I would be a little nervous uprating the fuse to 20A if the original cable in the car was rated lower than this figure, but if they have said this in there installation instructions they must have taken this into account.
    #6
    BRILLO likes this.
  8. BRILLO
    Offline

    BRILLO Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Dec 2, 2013]
    Mine is the 35w terminator from hid direct. Not touched fuse and had no probs. though Andy above has a good point. They do use a lot of current on start up.especially when hot.
    #7
  9. swarcup
    Offline

    swarcup Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    37
    [Dec 2, 2013]
    Many thanks for the help. The one I have bought is also the terminator 35w.5000k. Did you fit in the headlight, I looked at doing this but I'm not sure if the two boxes would go in.
    #8
  10. BRILLO
    Offline

    BRILLO Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Dec 3, 2013]
    I put the ballasts under the headlight but the rest is outside the headlight. I will tidy it up later maybe.
    #9
  11. bradh
    Offline

    bradh Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    27
    [Dec 4, 2013]
    hmm glad i came on hear this morning as i was doing the un manly thing of reading the instructions and spotted this also so was going to ask, so in stead i just went ahead and fitted them and no issues no fuse blowing and this was the hid's direct kit too only 35w on 4300k bulbs cant wait to go out and drive the car later now :)
    #10
    BRILLO likes this.
  12. swarcup
    Offline

    swarcup Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    37
    [Dec 4, 2013]
    Yes all fine but throws loads of warning lights up sometimes. Will have to Ty putting the ballasts etc inside the headlight
    #11
  13. BRILLO
    Offline

    BRILLO Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Dec 4, 2013]
    mine did it at first but randomly. Follow krisavants guide posted recently. Worked for me and it's 10 mins work.
    #12
    swarcup likes this.
  14. swarcup
    Offline

    swarcup Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    37
    [Dec 5, 2013]
    Many thanks il get on it this weekend
    #13

Share This Page