1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hi from A8 D3 in Leicester

Discussion in 'The Welcome Section' started by A8Sam, May 26, 2013.

  1. A8Sam
    Offline

    A8Sam New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 26, 2013]
    Hi

    My name is Sam. My first Audi after years of BMW ownership, I have been converted for life!

    I have a silver A8 D3 4.0 TDI.

    I have been having major problems with my MMI system. After spending months trawling the net to find out how the MMI system works. None of the Audi "specialists" I visited would help or did not give me the confidence that they knew what to do apart from replacing expensive parts till they got the system working, I think I knew more than what some of them did! I felt I had no option but to go to a main dealer to get the car scanned. After realising they wanted £96 just to diagnose the car. I decided to invest in a Genuine Ross Tech HEX CAN USB Cable (unbelievable piece of kit) I have now got to the stage where the MMI works fine with the help of a Fibre Optic loop to bypass the amp. The amp does work sometimes. I have checked the connections but I guess something is not right somewhere. At about 1K for a new amp its not going to be a cheap fix.

    I guess I should have asked for help via a forum but never having been a member of one I went alone equipped with the information that I had discovered online.

    The car is pretty much as standard as it came from the factory. Once I have the MMI up and running properly I would like to add an iPod connection, wheels could do with a refurb. Possibly some DRL's would be nice too.

    Looking forward to learn more and help where I can too.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 21, 2014]

  3. Sandra
    Offline

    Sandra MODERATOR Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    16,188
    Likes Received:
    2,387
    [May 26, 2013]
    Hi Sam, welcome to audi-sport.net. You will find a lot of information and helpful people on here. Enjoy the forum. :) x
    #2
  4. A8Sam
    Offline

    A8Sam New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 26, 2013]
    Thank You Sandra.
    #3
  5. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    29
    [May 27, 2013]
    Pity you never asked me, I have owned 4 A8's and know them inside out, especially the MMI system which I specialise in. If it is the amp and it's BOSE then I have a spare BOSE amp for cars upto 2004/5. After that a different BOSE amp was fitted.
    #4
  6. A8Sam
    Offline

    A8Sam New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 29, 2013]
    Hi Craig,

    You know what ... I wish I did ask you too! Mine is a 2004 part number is 4E0 035 223A. I think I have just made my problem a whole lot worse ... I thought that I would remove the amp so I could get it looked at BIG MISTAKE! .. Although I have removed the parts in the boot many times in my quest to get it to work today went horribly wrong. As I re-installing the media rack plate touched the back of the fuse holder and parks flew! Now I have got the following on a MOST Loop test.

    Optical Bus Diagnostic : Standard


    Controller ` Electrical Optical
    19-CAN Gateway OK OK
    07-Control Head(High/D3) OK OK
    1E-Media Player 2 OK ERROR
    77-Telephone OK OK
    47-Sound System ERROR ERROR
    56-Radio ERROR ERROR
    57-TV Tuner ERROR ERROR
    37-Navigation ERROR ERROR

    To say I am gutted is an understatement. I have had quick check of the fuses and they all seem ok. Not sure what has happened. It has got dark now and I have locked it up and walked away, I am hoping that when I go back to it in the morning everything will be ok . I had got it to the point where I had looped the fibre optic cable from the amp and everything was working OK apart from no sound.

    I went to my local audi main dealer to find out about the cost of a new amp and it was about £900 plus I was told I would have to have it coded to my car at a cost of about £145! ("takes about a hour" ... apparently! ... i'm in the wrong job!) (I thought only used units would have to have component protection removed, I would have thought a new one would have been a straight plug and play) I waited for Jeremy Beadle to walk in but he didn't, so I left! Back to the iphone in the cup holder! :-(
    #5
  7. A8Sam
    Offline

    A8Sam New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 29, 2013]
    Craig ... when you said you specialise in the MMI system are you "tcl sat nav"? Please keep the amp for me I am desperate to get my MMI up and running. I am so kicking myself now, you replied 2 days ago ... had I checked my post, I would never have done what I did today! ... GUTTED!
    #6

Share This Page