1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hesitation after gear change after fmic getting fitted

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Goubo1, Apr 16, 2013.

  1. Goubo1
    Offline

    Goubo1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    26
    [Apr 16, 2013]
    Got my fmic fitted tonight finally but on the drive after fitting I noticed their is a hesitation/lag after a gear change I can't remember it being their before.is this normal ? Could this be due to the increased volume of the intercooler ?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 19, 2014]

  3. lovemelongtime
    Offline

    lovemelongtime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Apr 16, 2013]
    Could be a boost leak? Have you scanned for codes?
    #2
  4. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,916
    Likes Received:
    1,335
    [Apr 16, 2013]
    Airleak would get my vote... what clamps did you use?

    <tuffty/>
    #3
  5. Paradox1
    Offline

    Paradox1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    86
    [Apr 16, 2013]
    You want decent hoses like from mr silicone of ebay for example. Stainless jcs clamps and alloy pipes with beaded ends.
    #4
  6. Paradox1
    Offline

    Paradox1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    86
    [Apr 16, 2013]
    Also what size pipes and intercooler are you using? I got a tiny bit of lag but it was more like a surge or torque lol

    hardly notice it after a while
    #5
  7. Goubo1
    Offline

    Goubo1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    26
    [Apr 16, 2013]
    not yet will give it a scan later today I only have vcds lite

    it was jcs hi grip clips mate and they all had a good tight nip up

    that's what I have

    63 mm pipes mate and it is a ah v2 cooler,that's what I'm getting,it like if I giving the car some and go up the gears I change gear and foot to the floor again then less than second later I get a surge of torque
    #6
  8. Paradox1
    Offline

    Paradox1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    86
    [Apr 16, 2013]
    Thats a good thing! I dotn know if its the fact ive got used to it, or the ECU has made changes but now it feel like I get the extra torque without the lag. Go for a long drive and see if the thottle response changes.
    #7
  9. Goubo1
    Offline

    Goubo1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    26
    [Apr 16, 2013]
    sound mate I will do,should I maybe undo the battery for a bit first ?
    #8
  10. Paradox1
    Offline

    Paradox1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    86
    [Apr 16, 2013]
    Erm you can do if you like, leave it disconnected for about half hour then connect it and let it idle for about 5-10 before you drive it..

    or

    you can just go for a blast and it will learn it that way... I prefer the latter:racer:
    #9
  11. Goubo1
    Offline

    Goubo1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    26
    [Apr 16, 2013]
    the latter :),how long should it take to sort it's self out if its the ecu
    #10
  12. Paradox1
    Offline

    Paradox1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    86
    [Apr 16, 2013]
    Depends on your petrol tank lol

    Not sure on a time limit but i know the ECU learns everytime you drive
    #11
  13. Goubo1
    Offline

    Goubo1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    26
    [Apr 16, 2013]
    just done a 1/4 of a tank with mixed driving on B road and bypass,it's made no difference when after changing gear it's as if I have lifted totally of the throttle then went to the floor again ?? getting really annoyed with the car now :(
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2013
    #12
  14. Goubo1
    Offline

    Goubo1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    26
    [Apr 16, 2013]
    Scanned with vcds lite unregisterd and got no codes
    #13
  15. Paradox1
    Offline

    Paradox1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    86
    [Apr 16, 2013]
    I cant imagine it beeing that bad unless it has a leak somewhere mate. Mine felt like it had a little lag but it was much quicker than before.

    I fitted this connected up to my k03s so im guessing yours is a k04 and should be as bad? honeslty sounds like a leak somewhere though
    #14
  16. Goubo1
    Offline

    Goubo1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    26
    [Apr 16, 2013]
    mine is a k26 mate? Every clip was nipped up really tight and if its leaking it bumper back off :(,could it be the mtm map needs changed because the cooler is fitted ?

    will take it another drive later incase I've not gave it enough time
    #15
  17. Paradox1
    Offline

    Paradox1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    86
    [Apr 16, 2013]
    a remap with smoothing out the power delivery. Id advise going for a custom map tbh. I fmic always works better once its been mapped as it take all the bolt on's into account. Where would you get it mapped.

    Im not sure how big the MTM k26 turbo is. isnt that from a porsche? Im not sure how much bigger it is compaired to a k04.

    What was the lag like before the intercooler? like when did it start spooling and hit fully boost?
    #16
  18. Goubo1
    Offline

    Goubo1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    26
    [Apr 16, 2013]
    The only thing that's put me off going custom is my rods ain't been done,I am sure it is from a Porsche mate,I don't know how it compares size wise to a ko4

    it would spoil from between 3/3.5 k and be well on its way for 4k rpm,the turbo still comes on song at the same time it's just after a gear change,it's as if I have lifted of then went again surely it wouldn't be taking that time to build up pressure again after dumping ??
    #17
  19. Paradox1
    Offline

    Paradox1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    86
    [Apr 16, 2013]
    got to remember its got the lag from the turbo + the massive volume of space in ther intercooler to fill if you know what I mean.

    You dont have to get a full blown, all out agressive map. you could always get a map with low tq figures to keep things safe?What figures are you running at the moment?
    #18
  20. Goubo1
    Offline

    Goubo1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    26
    [Apr 16, 2013]
    but there should be no lag changing from 3rd at the redline into 4th as its still staying high in the rev range is my thinking right ?,I understand about filling the intercooler it's self does any one know the standard volume compared to the volume of the fmic ?

    Yeah I suppose I could do that mate,well on the dyno print from qst it says 328bhp and 467nm of torque but that's from who did the work so possible dyno lottery but the car is pretty quick
    #19
  21. Paradox1
    Offline

    Paradox1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    86
    [Apr 16, 2013]
    tbh i wouldnt do any more mods until rods are fitted.

    Welly bent rods on a stage 1 map after fitting a fmic (not to scare you) but these engines are getting older and things need replacing. Just change the rods then you an do all the mods you want within reason and know the engine wont go Kah-boom!
    #20
  22. Goubo1
    Offline

    Goubo1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    26
    [Apr 16, 2013]
    Thanks for that no sleep for me tonight haha,I've read about rods going but was told its all in the mapping as some maps have huge torque spikes the mtm map I have is very progressive that's why I've been wary of a different map,I do need to get the rods done but nowhere in scotland with a decent rep will do them well that I know of
    #21
  23. Paradox1
    Offline

    Paradox1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    86
    [Apr 16, 2013]
    may be worth going to a reputable place for them. Im sure there is loads of vag specialist that will do it for you. but i gues it all comes down to cose, yuo can get the install kit for around 500-600

    then maybe about 4-5 labour, just do it in stages
    #22
  24. Goubo1
    Offline

    Goubo1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    26
    [Apr 16, 2013]
    i will look into more in depth And see who is close by to get them done,with rods done is the engine good enough for 400bhp ?
    #23
  25. Paradox1
    Offline

    Paradox1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    86
    [Apr 16, 2013]
    I think so yeah.
    last time I saw welly's car ar castle combe, it was running 450 on the stock head, just rods lol
    #24
  26. Goubo1
    Offline

    Goubo1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    26
    [Apr 16, 2013]
    A 450 s3 must be awesome
    #25
  27. Goubo1
    Offline

    Goubo1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    26
    [Apr 16, 2013]
    well took the car out again and leathered the arse right of it and its alot better now just a ever so slight lag but that's surly just the time it's taking to pressurise the cooler
    #26
  28. Paradox1
    Offline

    Paradox1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    86
    [Apr 17, 2013]
    Yeah I wouldnt worry about it mate
    #27

Share This Page