1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Helping the standard IC's

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by smoothy, Sep 3, 2005.

  1. smoothy
    Offline

    smoothy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 3, 2005]
    I came across this on a Cupra forum, wondered if it may aslo apply to S3's. As you can see they are talking about cutting vents into the inerarches to imporvoe air flow aver the standard IC'c and also allowing more cold air into the intake. Worth a look or do we aready have the vents like the TT.

    http://www.seatcupra.net/forums/showthread.php?t=24237&page=1&pp=20
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Jan 31, 2015]

  3. jojo
    Offline

    jojo Looking for Boost! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,800
    Likes Received:
    2,091
    [Sep 3, 2005]
    S3's have the slats as standard I think, I can see them on my wheels archliner.
    #2
  4. smoothy
    Offline

    smoothy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 3, 2005]
    haha! Oh well!

    Good work JoJo!
    #3
  5. Danielson
    Offline

    Danielson Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 3, 2005]
    this is something ive done on my a4.

    [​IMG]
    #4
  6. PaulRS3
    Online

    PaulRS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    83
    [Sep 3, 2005]
    yep they are standard on S3.
    #5
  7. smoothy
    Offline

    smoothy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 3, 2005]
    Dam I thought I was onto a scoop!

    I'll get me coat! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/bang.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/shutup.gif
    #6
  8. The Slug
    Offline

    The Slug Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 5, 2005]
    I presume you can do this for the other side if you had a carbonio CAI ?
    #7
  9. smoothy
    Offline

    smoothy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 5, 2005]
    I think the common opinion is that CAI's do nadda but make noise on the S3/A3T. The vents are there to allow the ic'c too disperse with the hot air created across them and keep the inside of the wheel arch area cooler for the air intake.

    I suppose if you already don't have an IC on that side (like I believe the 1.8T etc) then you can get a nice big bit of ducting in for a cold air intake and a vent would help!

    When I get home from offshore and then Dublin I'll be looking to try and find a way of best getting cold air into my air box while I still have the standard IC.

    Not sure if I can justify the cash for a FMIC as I live in Aberdeen and were lucky if we get 2 HOT days a year! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/idea.gif
    #8
  10. PaulRS3
    Online

    PaulRS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    83
    [Sep 6, 2005]
    smoothy, with the standard 2 IC set up on the S3 there isnt much in the way of space to do anything with the air box.


    that said air box is actually supposed to be fine anyway. MTM retain it for their big turbo conversions.
    #9
  11. The Slug
    Offline

    The Slug Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 6, 2005]
    what would be the best replacement filter for the air box then if they still use the original box?
    #10
  12. jojo
    Offline

    jojo Looking for Boost! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,800
    Likes Received:
    2,091
    [Sep 6, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    what would be the best replacement filter for the air box then if they still use the original box?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Using standard Audi OE filters are good enough, just change them anually.
    #11
  13. PaulRS3
    Online

    PaulRS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    83
    [Sep 6, 2005]
    i replace mine every 10k miles.
    #12
  14. The Slug
    Offline

    The Slug Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 6, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    i replace mine every 10k miles.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Do they get that dirty so quickly?
    #13
  15. evotista
    Offline

    evotista Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 7, 2005]
    Replacing the air filter with a stock one more regularly can certainly make a difference to performance. I replaced mine on my non chipped TQ after 13,000 miles and gave the airbox a good clean at the same time, and the difference in responsiveness was immediately noticeable...not just by me but my wife also...and she didn't know i'ld done anything!

    From now on, i'm going to replace at max intervals of 10k...some people on the TT forum replace every 6k. Letting the car go a full AVS interval (19k) wiothout replacement ...you'ld certainly be losing out on performance IMHO.
    #14
  16. PaulRS3
    Online

    PaulRS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    83
    [Sep 7, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    [ QUOTE ]
    i replace mine every 10k miles.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Do they get that dirty so quickly?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    they are about £8 quid.

    i run the car on Optimax at a extra cost

    Ive spent money tuning it at extra cost


    Im not going to worry if its dirty or not at 10 K, I just replace it anyway for optimum airflow and performance.
    #15
  17. The Slug
    Offline

    The Slug Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 7, 2005]
    i asked audi when it was in for service if the panel needed replacing, they said it was fine? I was willing to pay for it?? So why not just charge me and do it? lol, best get one fitted while im desciding about Carbonio or bmc or just a K&N replacement?? I dont know, so many options.
    #16
  18. PaulRS3
    Online

    PaulRS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    83
  19. Ess_Three
    Offline

    Ess_Three Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    5,383
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Sep 8, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Audi paper.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Absolutely...no need for anything else...in fact, everything else is a waste of time and money in my view.
    #18

Share This Page