1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

help with srvice light ?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by jamhot, Mar 5, 2013.

  1. jamhot
    Offline

    jamhot Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have a 2009 audi s3... i have service due on my dash with a little spanner where the millage count is... ive serviced my own car with genuine audiparts.... when i do the reset sequence its only reset the oil change and not the service one can any one help as surley if you can reset one you should be able to do both ????/ thanks guys..
    #1
  2. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,969
    Likes Received:
    79
    I think you need VCDS to reset the service intervals.
    #2
  3. Jack_tdi
    Offline

    Jack_tdi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    12
    If vcds isn't readily available try a vgate 450 off amazon there around £40 and will reset oil and service indicators and read fault codes from all activated modules.
    #3
  4. Rom
    Offline

    Rom Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    6
    Check the vcds user map, though tbh it's out of date atm.
    Should be able to find someone who can do it for you.

    Can't see where you are on my phone, but I'm in Bristol if thats any use.
    #4
  5. Stol1975
    Offline

    Stol1975 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    20
    I got the vgate 450 and it didn't reset the service indicator only the oil. Now have vcds and its worth the money. There really is no point in skimping on ecu readers. I've gone from apps to vgate to vcds and I wish I hadn't taken the costly long way round lol.
    #5
  6. Jack_tdi
    Offline

    Jack_tdi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    12
    My v gate reset oil and service lights no problem.

    I can't justify the cost of vcds just to reset fault codes and service indicators.

    If I need to code something ill buy one eventually buy until then ill stick with my v gate.
    #6
  7. Stol1975
    Offline

    Stol1975 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    20
    Well I thought I'd tried every option to remove the light and it would always come back after restarting the car. I needed vcds for fitting my rnse so it wasn't a biggie and the vgate will be on eBay soon :)
    #7

Share This Page