1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

help with reading my ecu with vag-com

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by John Spooner, Mar 28, 2012.

  1. John Spooner
    Offline

    John Spooner Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 28, 2012]
    im after a remap and iv installed vag-com so was wondering if there was any way i could tell if the ecu is remap-able using vag com? if there is could anyone tell me how i could find out please, thanks
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 19, 2014]

  3. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,916
    Likes Received:
    1,335
    [Mar 28, 2012]
    VCDS will tell you the ECU number when you go to the engine module.... that will enable the numerous tuners that have already sorta answered your question to confirm for sure..

    <tuffty/>
    #2
  4. s3dave
    Offline

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    729
    [Mar 28, 2012]
    you can usually check by the level of boost that is been requested too,, block 115..
    #3
  5. John Spooner
    Offline

    John Spooner Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 28, 2012]
    apparently my a3 1.8t with the highest mass air flow readin at 110.14 in 3rd gear near 6000 rpm is 137.6 bhp:crying: not happy!!
    #4
  6. John Spooner
    Offline

    John Spooner Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 28, 2012]
    block 115?? for the 3 i used 003,005,011 is that right or have i done it totally wrong?
    #5
  7. R-Tech-Nick
    Offline

    R-Tech-Nick Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    24
    [Mar 28, 2012]
    just log blocks 025 and come back to me with the reading and ecu number an i will tell you if its mapped or not.

    You dont have blocks 115 on your ecu.
    #6
  8. John Spooner
    Offline

    John Spooner Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 28, 2012]
    i know its not remapped im just trying to figure out a way if i can read the ecu to see if i cam remap it through OBD2 or chip it
    #7
  9. John Spooner
    Offline

    John Spooner Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 28, 2012]
    also would i have to red line it through 3rd gear like it did with the bhp output mas air flow reading??? is 137.6 about right for 155k 1.8t?
    #8
  10. R-Tech-Nick
    Offline

    R-Tech-Nick Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    24
    [Mar 28, 2012]
    LOL I read the post wrong.. MYFUP.
    #9
  11. John Spooner
    Offline

    John Spooner Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 28, 2012]
    lol still do you think 137.6 is a decent output for a high mileage 1.8t? or is that figure not going to be 100% from vagcom?
    #10
  12. Alex C
    Offline

    Alex C Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,669
    Likes Received:
    160
    [Mar 28, 2012]
    137.6/0.8=172 bhp (rule of thumb)
    #11
  13. John Spooner
    Offline

    John Spooner Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 28, 2012]
    no i got 110.14
    #12
  14. Alex C
    Offline

    Alex C Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,669
    Likes Received:
    160
    [Mar 28, 2012]
    ah sorry, your air flow was 110 g/s. ok, got mixed up with the numbers. Yours is a 150 bhp model is it?
    #13
  15. John Spooner
    Offline

    John Spooner Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 28, 2012]
    yea its ment to be or 148 bhp according to wikipedia, the figures from vagcom say 110.14 at 5760 rpm in 3rd gear! maybe il try it again and then a 4th gear run to compare the difference but then again it has 155k on the clock, iv heard these engines dont really lose power tho?
    #14

Share This Page