1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help with my A3 1.8t please

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Jay-a3, Feb 7, 2010.

  1. Jay-a3
    Offline

    Jay-a3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Feb 7, 2010]
    hi i recently bought an a3 1.8t. the engine management light was on so i had the car checked for codes and it came out with the MAF. i changed the sensor and the engine light went off on its own. every now and then the car stalls on me now when i slow down for junctions!?and a couple of times when i start the engine it struggles to idle and i cannot get any revs out of it for about 5 minutes.any ideas guys??
    would be a big help
    thanks
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Feb 1, 2015]

  3. djdougalno1
    Offline

    djdougalno1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Feb 7, 2010]
    try disconecting the maf sensor alltogether so pull the plug out and see if the car drives and idles better if it dose then the maf is fooked get a new one
    #2
  4. Jay-a3
    Offline

    Jay-a3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Feb 7, 2010]
    ive only just boght and replaced it tho. it only happenns now and then. if i drive without it connected will it do any damage?
    #3
  5. djdougalno1
    Offline

    djdougalno1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Feb 7, 2010]
    no mate wont do any damage just runs to a default setting on the ecu its the test that everyone dose to see if the maf is faulty unless u have vagcom give it a try if the car runs better then u know the maf is faulty also when u say u changed the sensor did u get a whole new sensor including the housing i mean the round plastic bit or just the sensor witch fits inside the housing could be the wrong sensor for ure car
    #4
  6. Jay-a3
    Offline

    Jay-a3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Feb 7, 2010]
    i just bought the sensor but it was ordered from autocom shop, he said it was the rite one for my car, looked the same when i changed it just the seal underneath was a diffrent colour.it wasnt cheap either.i just think its weird the way the ems light hasnt come back on. if i get it plugged into vag com will it tell me if theres a fault even though no warning lights are on?thanks for the advice mate.
    i wasnt sure if it was electrical fault somewhere because when im headlights are on and i press the brake peddle the lights flicker and the revs can drop sometimes.
    seem to have no luck with cars!lol
    #5
  7. djdougalno1
    Offline

    djdougalno1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Feb 7, 2010]
    you shouldnt really just buy the sensor it usually comes as a whole unit made buy bosch think they cost bout 70quid for the genuine part sounds like uve got the wrong one just unplug it for the time being an see how u get on i think it should drive better untill u can get the right maf for your car
    #6

Share This Page