1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help with me MAF sensor please

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Beany113, Oct 25, 2013.

  1. Beany113
    Offline

    Beany113 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 25, 2013]
    Hi all I had to replace my MAF sensor at the beginning of the week and I bought a brand new genuine Bosch one from GSF car parts. As soon as I fitted it the car was back to normal. Then a day later it went back to how it was when the MAF had gone. I reset my ecu as I read on a forum you should after fitting a new MAF and it was fine again. Another day later it's gone back to being like the MAF is faulty again! What shall I do? Many thanks!
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 21, 2014]

  3. Jay A3
    Offline

    Jay A3 More power

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,935
    Likes Received:
    262
    [Oct 25, 2013]
    Scanned and cleared using vagcom?
    #2
  4. Beany113
    Offline

    Beany113 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 25, 2013]
    When I scanned to find the fault was with the MAF. I bought a new MAF, scanned it again and the codes wernt there. Do I need to clear them even if there not there then? Thanks for your reply!
    #3
  5. Jay A3
    Offline

    Jay A3 More power

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,935
    Likes Received:
    262
    [Oct 25, 2013]
    I was just wondering what you were using to clear it. Don't need to clear it if it ain't there. What code is appearing?
    #4
  6. Beany113
    Offline

    Beany113 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 25, 2013]
    17743 - engine torque monitor 2 control limit exceeded p1335 intermittent


    16622 - manifold pressure/boost sensor (g31) signal too high p0238 intermittent


    16490 - manifold/air pressure =>- g71/ - f95 not a plausible signal p0106 intermittent


    17695 - control valve boost pressure - n249 open circuit p1287 intermittent


    16535 - fuel trim bank 1 (mult) system too rich p1127 intermittent


    18010 - power supply terminal 30 voltage too low p1602 intermittent


    The only code that is left is 17695. I've made sure the n249 valve is plugged it and it is, really don't know what else to do. Thanks again for your reply!
    #5
  7. Jay A3
    Offline

    Jay A3 More power

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,935
    Likes Received:
    262
    [Oct 25, 2013]
    What code made you think it's maf? What are the symptoms?
    #6
  8. Beany113
    Offline

    Beany113 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 25, 2013]
    Tufty said he thinks it was due to MAF. And I searches the codes and a few come back with MAF related. But the car just runs like a n/a car with a dump valve. Like you can't hear the turbo spool and it's seriously down on power.
    #7
  9. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    16,278
    Likes Received:
    1,484
    [Oct 25, 2013]
    Torque limit code points to the MAF...

    <tuffty/>
    #8
    Jay A3 likes this.
  10. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    16,278
    Likes Received:
    1,484
    [Oct 25, 2013]
    Clear all the fault codes and see which ones return...

    <tuffty/>
    #9
  11. Beany113
    Offline

    Beany113 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 25, 2013]
    Thanks for pointing it out tufty :). I'm still having problems with the car :(
    #10
  12. jojo
    Offline

    jojo Looking for Boost! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,590
    Likes Received:
    1,953
    [Oct 25, 2013]
    How does the car drive with the MAF disconnected?
    #11
  13. Beany113
    Offline

    Beany113 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 25, 2013]
    Car drives just as poorly with the MAF disconnected jojo
    #12
  14. jojo
    Offline

    jojo Looking for Boost! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,590
    Likes Received:
    1,953
    [Oct 25, 2013]
    Just under powered or actually running bad? If it's just underpowered, like an N/A like you say, consider taking MAF back and swop under warranty. It could be a fault with the connector to MAF, which is not uncommon with the age of the car now. If it's actually running bad, like spluttering, it could be another fault.
    #13
    Jay A3 likes this.
  15. Beany113
    Offline

    Beany113 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 25, 2013]
    It's literally just slow and under powered jojo, when I bought the MAF I literally just got the sensor. I didn't get the plug. Are you saying my plug could be faulty?
    #14
  16. Jay A3
    Offline

    Jay A3 More power

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,935
    Likes Received:
    262
    [Oct 25, 2013]
    It's not uncommon to have wiring issues over time. Worth checking though
    #15
  17. Beany113
    Offline

    Beany113 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 25, 2013]
    Okay , what would be the best thing to do? Firstly replace the maf then if no fix then check the wiring? Thankyou
    #16
  18. Jay A3
    Offline

    Jay A3 More power

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,935
    Likes Received:
    262
    [Oct 25, 2013]
    Like jojo said worth sending that maf back and get a new one under warranty to eliminate the maf. Is the price much different from a TPS one?
    #17
  19. Beany113
    Offline

    Beany113 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 25, 2013]
    I paid £72 and got it though trade price. Tbh I don't know what tps is :/ lol
    #18
  20. Jay A3
    Offline

    Jay A3 More power

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,935
    Likes Received:
    262
    [Oct 25, 2013]
    Trade parts specialist, they sell genuine parts and majority of the time cheaper than dealer.
    #19
    kwistof likes this.
  21. kwistof
    Offline

    kwistof South East Events Moderator Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    481
    [Oct 25, 2013]
    #20
    Jay A3 likes this.
  22. Beany113
    Offline

    Beany113 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 25, 2013]
    Thanks for them links!! I have a tps half hour away so will get a refund or will just buy one direct!! Thanks pal fingers crossed it works
    #21
  23. epox
    Offline

    epox Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    44
    [Oct 25, 2013]
    Just replaced mine last night, car would not run at all with the maf disconnected, put new maf on and it ran like a bag of nails. did a full scan cleared the codes, also went into engine settings rescanned cod was still there wiped it from there...... started the car and now seems ok... so I would check and make sure all codes were cleared.... maf from ecp fyi.

    mark
    #22

Share This Page