1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help with fault code

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Grale1, Apr 8, 2013.

  1. Grale1
    Offline

    Grale1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    23
    [Apr 8, 2013]
    Hi guys, plugged the car in to vcds lite and it came back with vehicle speed sensor implausible signal 16685, can anyone shed any light on this for me as I have no idea what it is and not sure where to look up the code given.

    any help would be much appreciated.

    Simon
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 28, 2014]

  3. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    16,487
    Likes Received:
    1,543
    [Apr 8, 2013]
    #2
  4. Grale1
    Offline

    Grale1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    23
    [Apr 8, 2013]
    Cheers tuffty, what would I need to do now, I know that sounds stupid best to take to a vw/audi garage and get them to have a look?
    #3
  5. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    16,487
    Likes Received:
    1,543
    [Apr 8, 2013]
    No... don't take it to a dealer... is the car driving ok at the moment? I assume there was something that prompted you to scan the car? and I am also guessing you have posted the wrong code as the code you gave is for a misfire not a speed sensor...

    If its actually the speed sensor I assume you are having speedo or other gauge issues?... have you tried clearing the code and seeing if it comes back?

    <tuffty/>
    #4
  6. Grale1
    Offline

    Grale1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    23
    [Apr 8, 2013]
    I plugged it into my friend vcds and she can't clear the codes for some reason, I've had no problems with the speedo apart from when I had the clutch done the garage forgot to reconnect some plug onto the gearbox as it didn't read a speed but the rev counter worked and the fuel gauge kept going up and done, but once connected it went back to normal, recently I have noticed or I think it has and that is the petrol seems to be going quickly on the gauge.

    simon
    #5
  7. gen.heinz guderian
    Offline

    gen.heinz guderian Well-Known Member Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    125
    [Apr 8, 2013]
    VCDS lite has limited capabilities.
    #6
  8. Grale1
    Offline

    Grale1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    23
    [Apr 8, 2013]
    Yes that's what I understood
    #7

Share This Page