1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help with fault code

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Grale1, Apr 8, 2013.

  1. Grale1

    Grale1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    41
    Hi guys, plugged the car in to vcds lite and it came back with vehicle speed sensor implausible signal 16685, can anyone shed any light on this for me as I have no idea what it is and not sure where to look up the code given.

    any help would be much appreciated.

    Simon
     
  2. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    17,449
    Likes Received:
    2,024
  3. Grale1

    Grale1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    41
    Cheers tuffty, what would I need to do now, I know that sounds stupid best to take to a vw/audi garage and get them to have a look?
     
  4. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    17,449
    Likes Received:
    2,024
    No... don't take it to a dealer... is the car driving ok at the moment? I assume there was something that prompted you to scan the car? and I am also guessing you have posted the wrong code as the code you gave is for a misfire not a speed sensor...

    If its actually the speed sensor I assume you are having speedo or other gauge issues?... have you tried clearing the code and seeing if it comes back?

    <tuffty/>
     
  5. Grale1

    Grale1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    41
    I plugged it into my friend vcds and she can't clear the codes for some reason, I've had no problems with the speedo apart from when I had the clutch done the garage forgot to reconnect some plug onto the gearbox as it didn't read a speed but the rev counter worked and the fuel gauge kept going up and done, but once connected it went back to normal, recently I have noticed or I think it has and that is the petrol seems to be going quickly on the gauge.

    simon
     
  6. gen.heinz guderian

    gen.heinz guderian Well-Known Member
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,346
    Likes Received:
    125
    VCDS lite has limited capabilities.
     
  7. Grale1

    Grale1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    41
    Yes that's what I understood
     

Share This Page