1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help with auto lights please.

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by BBlackburn, Oct 16, 2011.

  1. BBlackburn
    Offline

    BBlackburn Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Oct 16, 2011]
    Hi I changed the light switch for my car to the newer chrome style then a thread was posted about the auto lights, I have the problem now where my lights stay on all the time and also I realised my fog lights won't come on due to this. So I changed the switch back to the original one and still the same thing is happening now, does anyone know what it can be just simple coding or something else? Need to get it sorted asap as need to get it in for an MOT.
    Thanks guys any help is much appreciated.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 22, 2014]

  3. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,554
    Likes Received:
    408
    [Oct 16, 2011]
    if you have put the original light switch back in then it might just be a case of clearing errors if any...
    i posted up the issue with the Auto lights but it just seemed to work after i cleared errors and recoded the code i already had... for some reason it decided that it now likes the switch and carried on working... however yesterday i put in the facelift switch from a TT and that is also working perfectly.
    #2
  4. BBlackburn
    Offline

    BBlackburn Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Oct 16, 2011]
    Thanks for the help, is there anyone near Epsom surrey who can clear any error codes for me? Just need to get this sorted.
    #3
  5. Paullie
    Offline

    Paullie Banana Menace!

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    267
    [Oct 16, 2011]
    If you can't get anyone to help you out in clearing any error codes you have, it might be worth disconnecting the battery for 10 minutes as this might clear the codes for you. I wouldn't recommend this if you had anything other than a simple light problem that wasn't there before you tried out your new switch, but since the codes don't relate to how your car is running, it might solve the problem quickly so you can get your MOT done and you can sort your new switch out when you're ready. :)
    #4
  6. BBlackburn
    Offline

    BBlackburn Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Oct 16, 2011]
    Okay thanks paullie I'll give that a try yeah everything else is working fine apart from the switch just isnt operating. Thanks for the help guys appreciate it.
    #5
  7. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Oct 16, 2011]
    Codes dont clear from battery disconnect, errors may/may not, but not codes.

    Epsom bit far from me, but I'm in East Sussex tomorrow.
    #6
  8. Paullie
    Offline

    Paullie Banana Menace!

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    267
    [Oct 16, 2011]
    Hmm thanks Nigel. I wasn't sure how it worked on Audis TBH, ..was just a thought as no one had replied :) x
    #7
  9. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Oct 16, 2011]
    Hey no worries, good of you to help.
    #8
  10. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    123
    [Oct 16, 2011]
    I dont see that clearing error codes will help ?
    #9
  11. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,554
    Likes Received:
    408
    [Oct 17, 2011]
    i didnt think so either but on friday when i got mine working i logged onto the CE with VCDS and checked for errors and ha a couple of bulb out warnings. i then changed the coding by deactivating the rain and light sensor and then changing the bi-xenon setup to something else random and saved it and the coding was accepted. i straight away went back in and recoded the rain and light sensor and set the bi-xenon back to to the right one (in my case bi-xenon with separate drl) and then saved that.
    then i flicked the light switch a couple times from off to auto and the headlight (xenon) stopped coming in the daylight. it makes no sense how it suddenly decided to work after a couple months of me trying to get this right but it has been working perfectly since friday. :blink:
    #10
  12. BBlackburn
    Offline

    BBlackburn Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Oct 17, 2011]
    So we are sure here it is an error on the coding side of things just to narrow it down? NHN if you could pm me your number I might be able to find you some point this week I'm on the road all week might be able to catch up with you.
    Thanks
    #11
  13. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,554
    Likes Received:
    408
    [Oct 17, 2011]
    No do not make that assumption... your error came up when you plugged in the new facelift light switch, not for any other error... bare in mind that i have retrofitted bi-xenon headlights and auto lights/auto wipers pack onto my car so in my case errors and coding has alot to do with it.

    coding or fault clearing is where i would start with your car as you did not rewire anything just simply changed a light switch so that looks to be the most sensible option.


    just out of interest can you post up a pic of the light switch you originally had on the car and the facelift switch you were trying to fit.
    #12

Share This Page