1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help with A3 8L Fascia Adapter

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by phabran, May 8, 2010.

  1. phabran
    Offline

    phabran New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 8, 2010]
    Hello, folks!

    Can anybody help me to find a fascia adapter to fit my 2din dvd at the dashboard? I have the Audi Symphony and want to remove it and put a 2din DVD at the place.

    I canĀ“t find any 2din fascia for A3 8L. Has the A4 B6 Symphony's the same shape? I found this: http://www.dynamicsounds.co.uk/conn...2002-double-fascia-panel-adaptor-p-11471.html

    Do you think it will fit? I have an Audi A3 1.8T 180 8L 2003 (the brazilian one).

    Thanks!

    Patrick
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 25, 2014]

  3. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    16,482
    Likes Received:
    1,542
    [May 8, 2010]
    Hi mate, had the same problem looking for a double din adaptor... put simply there isn't one... I got hold of an A4 one to mod (not like the one in your link though) which is close in shape but couldn't find a double din headunit I liked so just converted over to single din... lot of work but more options HU wise.

    <tuffty/>
    #2
  4. phabran
    Offline

    phabran New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 8, 2010]
    #3
  5. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    32
    [May 8, 2010]
    No A4 and A3 are different. So anything claiming to fit both is just wrong.
    #4
  6. phabran
    Offline

    phabran New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 8, 2010]
    But looking at the symphony panel on A3 and A4, they look exactly the same. What's the difference?

    Here is my Symphony picture:

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: May 8, 2010
    #5
  7. phabran
    Offline

    phabran New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 8, 2010]
    And Here is the Pioneer one, P/N 12.301321-03 Car Fascia Double DIN kit for Audi A4

    [​IMG]
    #6
  8. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    32
    [May 8, 2010]
    The difference is that if they were exactly the same then all the A4 adapters would claim to fit the A3 as well. As you have found none do, apart from a very few which just do it out of ignorance. You'd need to buy an A4 one and see how well it fits and what mods would be needed. To the naked eye lots of things look identical until you come to fit them, the curve could be slightly different, or the dimensions. I'm pretty sure the part numbers for the Symphony II are different for the A3 & A4 so there must be something different.
    #7
  9. silvr6
    Offline

    silvr6 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 8, 2010]
    i got an a4 adaptor and had to trim bottom edge to fit was closet fit i could get
    #8
  10. phabran
    Offline

    phabran New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 8, 2010]
    Thanks, AndyMac. I believe you, just don't believe that an A3 8L adaptor had never been created.

    Do you have any pics silvr6?
    #9
  11. phabran
    Offline

    phabran New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 9, 2010]
    I've heard that the A6 fascia is a little bigger than A3 and I can cut the border to fit. Someone already tried that?
    #10
  12. phabran
    Offline

    phabran New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 16, 2010]
    Someone can help me?
    #11
  13. leshkin
    Offline

    leshkin Hold my beer... VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    105
    [May 17, 2010]
    I have a Kenwood 2-din HU and searched high and low for an adapter, but after a few months searching, found nothing that is a direct fit. You can use the A4 adapter, but will have to trim the sides and bottom edge to make it fit. You will also have to make your own bracket to hold the unit in properly.

    Alternatively get someone to make you a custom adapter.
    #12
  14. phabran
    Offline

    phabran New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 18, 2010]
    Thanks, Leshkin. I will habe to do that.
    #13
  15. 991daniel
    Offline

    991daniel New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 13, 2011]

    Hi mate, i know you posted this a while ago, I am have the excat same problem now and its a nightmare, want that tape player out! and I am just wondering how much work went into converting to a single die and what is needed?

    Cheers

    Dan
    #14
  16. TDIQ
    Offline

    TDIQ 8L > 8P > 8V

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Apr 14, 2011]
    Daniel, you'd need to swap the cage. I have a brand new RNS-D for sale if you're interested which is double din. Isn't the better RNS-E but I've got it sitting here and want to sell it.
    #15
  17. Reesy
    Offline

    Reesy Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,614
    Likes Received:
    133
    [Apr 14, 2011]
    Bit of a thread jack, BUT can anyone tell me: What's the difference between the symphony and concert HU please?
    #16
  18. TDIQ
    Offline

    TDIQ 8L > 8P > 8V

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    6
  19. Westy
    Offline

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,348
    Likes Received:
    993
    [Apr 14, 2011]
    I'll keep an eye on this thread as I've been put off from changing my HU since day 1 of ownership.
    #18
  20. 991daniel
    Offline

    991daniel New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 14, 2011]
    Ive read a few post's about putting an a4 nav unit in and "trimming" the edges, any one with advice on this or who has done it?
    #19
  21. Reesy
    Offline

    Reesy Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,614
    Likes Received:
    133
    [Apr 15, 2011]
    Thanks for those links Aaron, and now on topic, seeing as this is a fascia based thread.:I currently have a concert HU with a tape in the front and a 6CD in the boot. As it's single DIN i have the little storage area below the Climate Control. If I wanted to fit a double din unit, can the AC be dropped to the lower position?? (Can the storage area be removed?
    #20
  22. TDIQ
    Offline

    TDIQ 8L > 8P > 8V

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Apr 15, 2011]
    To install a double din you need to have a double din cage. So it would mean buying one which would remove the little cubby hole I believe, and the AC moves down, then you can install a double din unit. You may still need a fascia though, I'm not sure.
    #21
  23. TheButtonz
    Offline

    TheButtonz Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
  24. TheButtonz
    Offline

    TheButtonz Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
  25. 991daniel
    Offline

    991daniel New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 16, 2011]
    #24

Share This Page