HELP!!! Wiperblades and changing tail bulbs...

tboy

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to the B6, and one of my tail lights has gone- I've already bought replacement bulbs. I've only had a quick look, but can't see how to get access to the tail light assembly. Most cars I've had in the past have had an access panel, but on my B6 it's all carpeted. HELP!!

Problem 2: I went to Halfords to replace my wiperblades, but they said that they don't do them for my model of car- is this right?! Where is the best place to get replacements (I've heard that it can be cheaper to by the whole wiper assembly from the main dealer- is this true?)

Cheers /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif

Problem 1: Just inside the boot opening, at the same height as the tail light is a round disc shape in the carpet (behind the tail light cluster. Insert a flat screw driver into the one side (side nearest the bumper and prise open. It will hinge from one side. Behind this cover is a bolt/screw. If you undo this, the til light will hinge outwards and you can get at the rear of the cluster to change bulbs.

Problem 2: You dont mention the year of your car, early A4's came with pretty "normal" wipers and these are available from your dealer for about £25. Newer models came with "floppy" wipers - same as new a3 and sportback called "Aero" wipers. These should also be available from the dealer. Mine is an early A4, and I did replace the blades once through the dealer. I have since bought a new set of "Aero" wipers - arms and blades from vagparts.com for about £55. They are better wipers, and have less wind noise, however they don't like rainx and similar water repelant. But the blades should be about the same price as the other blades from your dealer.

cheers- it's a 2001< model. Thanks for your response /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif

I also recently fitted the Aero wipers. Definately worth doing especially if you need to change your rubbers any way.

Cheers Lon,