1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help wanted

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by Jules, Jun 27, 2011.

  1. Jules

    Jules Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi all i have just replaced my heater matrix on A4 B5 1.9 tdi 1997, right pain of a job, but the problem i am having is that I have no indicators no horn no outside tepmperature display fans will not stabilise. But i have a spare wire that has a brown cover on and it is a push on spade connector with a brown and grey wire which is a a permanet live, i thought it was to do with the heater controls so when I had all the dash out i laid it to the side with all of the other heater control wires but had nowhere for this connector to push onto. I have a picture of the wire which i will try and get up onto photobucket in the meantime.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Jules

    Jules Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    1
    In this picture below you can just make it out by the yellow box sat on the tunnel
    [​IMG]
    here is the cable when poked through the stereo apperture.
    [​IMG]

    Any ideas where this cable connects to?
     
  4. Bradderz_1988

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583
    Likes Received:
    163
    It's not for the ashtray light or glove box light is it ?
     
  5. Jules

    Jules Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    1
    Nope got both of them sorted cheers
     
  6. griswold

    griswold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    5
    Im sure i got the same wire behind my stereo?
    I changed the standard headunit for aftermarket and im sure that is one of the cables left over?
    I'm sure somebody will know what it is.
     
  7. Jules

    Jules Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    1
    Maybe it is but that doesn't explain the other bits not working, maybe if I plug in vagcom will this show any readouts? as i can get hold of one?
     
  8. Jules

    Jules Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    1
    found some pictures on the net and it does look like the a stereo lead or power lead but as mine has a JVC cd player in there obviously not needed then so if anyone can help with the other problems then.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    #7 Jules, Jun 27, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2011
  9. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,607
    Likes Received:
    469
    Its just an earth for the stock head unit.
     
  10. griswold

    griswold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    5
    meant to add. probably not related
    get a vag com cable and scan it
     
  11. Jules

    Jules Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ran a vagcom scan and it threw up these error codes?
    Address 08 -------------------------------------------------------
    Controller: 8L0 820 043 B
    Component: A4 KLIMAVOLLAUTOMAT_D72
    Coding: 04144
    Shop #: WSC 06325
    4 Faults Found:
    00604 - Potentiometer Positioning Motor for Air Flow Flap (G113)
    29-10 - Short to Ground - Intermittent
    00792 - A/C Pressure Switch (F129)
    29-00 - Short to Ground
    00532 - Supply Voltage B+
    07-00 - Signal to Low
    01273 - Fresh Air Blower (V2)
    17-10 - Control Difference - Intermittent

    anyone got any ideas on any of these?
     
  12. AR-rkon

    AR-rkon AllROOOOOOOOOAD!!!
    Staff Member Moderator Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,828
    Likes Received:
    125
    Its also an alarm trigger. if the alarm is armed and the HU is unplugged the alarm should go off :thumbsup:
     
  13. Jules

    Jules Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    1
    also got no wipers as well, so there is obviously a electrical problem somewhere ???? but where do i start or look
     
  14. Jules

    Jules Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    1
    Right then a mate of mine who is very good with fault finding diagnosed it down to the ignition starter switch, what i found weird was the fact that it would start but it would not supply the power to the electrics. £10.44 to replace form euro car parts, job done
     
  15. jcb

    jcb Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,122
    Likes Received:
    13
    might be a stupid suggestion but have you checked the fuses?
     
  16. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,607
    Likes Received:
    469
    Thats because there are 3 or 4 different contacts inside the switch, which are used for different things!
     
  17. Jules

    Jules Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    1
    I did check all the fuses and it was down to the ignition starter switch as above.
     
  18. Jules

    Jules Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    1
    Cheers I know now
     

Share This Page