1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HELP s3 facia woes!!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by fran-s3, Apr 16, 2008.

  1. fran-s3
    Offline

    fran-s3 Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 16, 2008]
    Hey peeps,

    Hoping someone here can shed some light on this as im having a complete and utter nightmare finding a facia that fits!!!!!

    Basically I have a 2001 S3 with a double DIN Sat Nav + which Im replacing...

    [​IMG]
    I want to fit a single DIN head unit so need a double to single facia... But all the A3 ones have rounded corners on the top not squared ones like mine above... (http://caraudiosecurity.com/shop/product/products_id/7861.html)


    So far I've tried fitting this Autoleads one for the Audi A4:

    http://caraudiosecurity.com/shop/product/products_id/3497.html

    But it's too high and won't fit!!!!

    So then I tried the A6 version which wasn't Autoleads was some dodgy make I've never heard of from car audio direct:

    http://www.caraudiodirect.co.uk/aud...7.html?cadid=c3060565bfb1353c8ad293c6858dada2

    The height is bang on... BUT it's to wide... Far to wide!!!!!! Raaaaaaaaar so im going to have to return that to!!!

    And now im none the wiser! The only manufacturer I haven't tried is connects2! If anyone has any advice on what to try next I'd love to hear from you as it's draining me!!!!! I just want to fit a single din unit!!!! :search:

    Local halfords dont seem to have the foggiest idea what to suggest either!

    Any help/suggestions would be much appreciated before I completely lose it! Thanks.

    :(
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 20, 2014]

  3. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Apr 17, 2008]
    #2
  4. fran-s3
    Offline

    fran-s3 Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 17, 2008]
    Thanks Andy, nightmare then! :sadlike:

    Any idea who in the US can source this facia for me? I would go to the effort of getting one from there....

    Do you think Connects2 are pretty much going to be the same as autoleads? (www.connects2.com)
    #3
  5. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Apr 17, 2008]
    They don't even do one for the A3 of either flavour.
    Can't find anything on 8L, don't even think it was available in the US until the 8P, but I'm sure someone on here found a supplier. You just need to trawl through the search function.
    #4
  6. fran-s3
    Offline

    fran-s3 Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 17, 2008]
    Arr man what a nightmare, thanks so much for your help....

    Hmm ok, first one to find a supplier wins a prize!!! :p Ok looks like it's a case of searching.... If you remember the forum member please let me know!!!!!!
    #5
  7. fran-s3
    Offline

    fran-s3 Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 19, 2008]
    Andy, been searching the forums for this american supplier for ages and not seen anything about this USA supplier who can supply a facia for an 8L chassis... Can you remember anything about the forum member or post about it please? Anything would be really usefull... Cheers
    #6
  8. wellhouse0
    Offline

    wellhouse0 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 22, 2008]
    i've got the same problem on my 2000 x reg A4 b5, is your opening about 25.5cm wide at the top, 23.5cm wide at the bottom and about 11.8cm high?
    #7
  9. steve1975l
    Offline

    steve1975l Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 22, 2008]
    Or do a swap with someone doing a single to double DIN conversion...expect to get some cash for the exchange as well. Then sell the RNS-D on Ebay.
    #8
  10. fran-s3
    Offline

    fran-s3 Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 12, 2008]
    SUCCESS!!!!!!!!!!!!

    After a lot of digging, I came to the conclusion that I'd never be able to source a facia to convert double to single, and the only solution would be to have it custom made.

    I came across a company called Autotronics (http://www.autotronicsuk.com/) who specialise in fitting Audi stereo systems who also so a lot of fibreglass custom work. They managed to modify my A4 facia, and actually fibreglass and spray over the facia and move it to the middle.. Took a few visits as they'd spray it try it again for size and re-fibreglass it, but the end results were so worth it... Highly recommended! Looks so oem, very pleased with the results:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    There's a slight top lip as you'll notice that can't be helped due to the metal cage directly behind that panel.

    So yes if you want it doing they'll supply and modify a A4 facia plate, worth popping down and having a chat with them. If you want to contact them speak to 'Nell' on 0116 222 8389. Top service and very proffesional. :)
    #9

Share This Page