1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

help required.a3 8l

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by dexter35yrs, Nov 3, 2013.

  1. dexter35yrs
    Offline

    dexter35yrs New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 3, 2013]
    hi all i have an a3 1.8t 8l 2002 - when i bought the car the flashing indicators when arming/disarming alarm had been turned off i now have the fully registered vag com system and want to turn them back on - someone mentioned central convenience but thats not accessible - does anyone have a guide for enabling this thanks derek
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 18, 2014]

  3. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,800
    Likes Received:
    499
    [Nov 3, 2013]
    look in the wiki
    #2
  4. dexter35yrs
    Offline

    dexter35yrs New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 3, 2013]
    which wiki bez ? tha vag com one ?
    #3
  5. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,800
    Likes Received:
    499
    [Nov 3, 2013]
    #4
  6. dexter35yrs
    Offline

    dexter35yrs New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 3, 2013]
    hi bez its not a fault code - im looking to re-arm the indicators when arming alarm ( someone mentioned recodeing the alarm but im not sure)
    #5
  7. epox
    Offline

    epox Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Nov 3, 2013]
    Alarm coding s3

    orig setting 15178

    to beep on lock 16202 (plus 1024 on to 15178)

    to beep and lock 16234 ( plus 32)


    Go to the central locking module and select coding.
    The 'soft. coding' figure in the box needs to be increased by 1024 for beep locks, and another 32 for auto-locks at 15MPH.(i.e. if your figure is 14000, you change it to 15024 for beep, 15056 for beep and auto-lock)
    I don't think the e-bay lead will access the coding block, although I may be wrong.
    Make a note of the 'soft. coding' number when you access the module, so you can go back if it goes wrong


    try this but take a note of thr original coding.

    if it goes wrong dont blame me....

    think the 15178 flashed the lights.

    i thing i got this on the vcds forum on here
    #6
  8. dexter35yrs
    Offline

    dexter35yrs New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 3, 2013]
    epox thats what im after resetting to rearm the flashing lights - thanks will try in the morning.. i do have a registered lead and software.
    #7
  9. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,800
    Likes Received:
    499
    [Nov 3, 2013]
    its not only for fault codes
    its got guides etc etc
    have a look comes in very useful
    #8
  10. dexter35yrs
    Offline

    dexter35yrs New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 3, 2013]
    ok thanks bez ill check it out
    #9
  11. dexter35yrs
    Offline

    dexter35yrs New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 3, 2013]
    hi epox /bez this was what i was trying to get into but i cannot access central convenience module: to get indicators to flash when setting alarm.

    Lock/Unlock Horn/Flash:

    [Select]
    [46 - Cent. Conv.] (35 - Cent. Locking for manual window cars)
    [Adaptation - 10]
    Channel (03..08)
    Adaptation Value (1 = on, 0 = off)
    [Save]

    Channel 03 Auto Lock
    Channel 04 Auto Unlock
    Channel 05 Unlock, horn sounds
    Channel 06 Lock, horn sounds
    Channel 07 Unlock, turn signals flash
    Channel 08 Unlock, turn signals flash
    #10
  12. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,800
    Likes Received:
    499
    [Nov 3, 2013]
    you may have a bad alarm siren
    #11
  13. dexter35yrs
    Offline

    dexter35yrs New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 3, 2013]
    the alarms ok i tested it earlier - when locking the car it gives one single beep ( do older cars not have access to central convenience module with the vcds system ? )
    #12
  14. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,800
    Likes Received:
    499
    [Nov 3, 2013]
    my daughters old 2001 was ok
    where did you get the lead from?
    #13
  15. dexter35yrs
    Offline

    dexter35yrs New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 3, 2013]
    got the lead from NHN one of the mods on the other forum works fine also registered fine
    #14
  16. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,800
    Likes Received:
    499
    [Nov 3, 2013]
    contact ross tech for info or ask nigel (nhn) he should beable to help you
    #15
  17. dexter35yrs
    Offline

    dexter35yrs New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 3, 2013]
    yeh will do he's offline at the mo thanks
    #16
  18. epox
    Offline

    epox Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Nov 3, 2013]
    sure i just went into cent lock then coding iirc then typed in 15178
    #17
  19. dexter35yrs
    Offline

    dexter35yrs New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 3, 2013]
    hi epox the current set value is 15691 which give one single beep with no indicator flashes - so if i go back into cent lock and input 15178 it should work ? or is there a way to reset the value back to the original and then do as you suggest thanks
    #18
  20. epox
    Offline

    epox Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Nov 3, 2013]
    last year last time i did it, give it a try...you can always put the old code back in if it wont work...16234 gives me lights beep and locking at 15mph
    #19
  21. dexter35yrs
    Offline

    dexter35yrs New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 3, 2013]
    ok ill have a look in the morn and let you know thanks
    #20
  22. dexter35yrs
    Offline

    dexter35yrs New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 6, 2013]
    hi bez/epox only just got round to checking values as macbook battery died - i tried all variations as you suggested - none worked - the current value is 15691 = 1 beep, then i subtracted 1024 = 14667 = no beep. the screenshot are the values you can change, i tried various ones but none gave me flashing indicators ant ideas ??

    [​IMG]
    #21
  23. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,800
    Likes Received:
    499
    [Nov 6, 2013]
    did you add the 04096 2 blinks unlock
    and 00512 1 blink lock
    #22
  24. dexter35yrs
    Offline

    dexter35yrs New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 6, 2013]
    hi bez i tried both of them seperately and none seemed to work
    #23
  25. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,800
    Likes Received:
    499
    [Nov 6, 2013]
    start afresh (save old codeing)

    +8192 remote
    +4096 2 blinks unlock
    +512 1 blink lock
    +1
    +2
    +8
    + 32 auto lock at 15kph
    +64 windows on remote

    add that up and try
    #24
  26. dexter35yrs
    Offline

    dexter35yrs New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 6, 2013]
    ok cheers i'll give it a go in a few mins
    #25
  27. dexter35yrs
    Offline

    dexter35yrs New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 6, 2013]
    hi tried that and nothing no beeps/signals
    #26
  28. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,800
    Likes Received:
    499
    [Nov 6, 2013]
    when your changeing the code
    are you saveing it does the new code show in the codeing box ?
    #27
  29. dexter35yrs
    Offline

    dexter35yrs New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 6, 2013]
    yes the new value shows when saved
    #28
  30. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,800
    Likes Received:
    499
    [Nov 6, 2013]
    looks like you have problems with the unit then
    any codes when you scan it ?
    #29
  31. dexter35yrs
    Offline

    dexter35yrs New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 6, 2013]
    yes i get a full diag readout whch i save - im just searching the net and one post states the default setting and all the setting shown in the screenshot above - so if i change back to the defauly setting it should work as new ?
    #30
  32. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,800
    Likes Received:
    499
    [Nov 6, 2013]
    i may do unless its got problems
    #31
  33. dexter35yrs
    Offline

    dexter35yrs New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 6, 2013]
    i just tried the default setting - no change - the guy i originally got it from, his wife used it and he got someone from audi where he worked to turn off the flashes when arming/unarming the alarm
    #32
  34. epox
    Offline

    epox Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Nov 6, 2013]
    did you try the settings in my post?
    mark
    #33
  35. dexter35yrs
    Offline

    dexter35yrs New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 6, 2013]
    hi mark yes i did try your settings nothing worked so far,,
    #34
  36. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,570
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Nov 6, 2013]
    try 16203.

    15691 doesnt have the "flash on arm" bit set (512)
    #35
  37. dexter35yrs
    Offline

    dexter35yrs New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 6, 2013]
    thanks aragorn i'll try that one and see ...
    #36
  38. dexter35yrs
    Offline

    dexter35yrs New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 6, 2013]
    hey aragorn tried 16203 still no go ....
    #37
  39. dexter35yrs
    Offline

    dexter35yrs New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 9, 2013]
    other setting that i have tried:
    13130, 16162, 00266, 16202 no seem to work anyone have any ideas - it lokks to be a simple fix but can i find it.......
    #38
  40. dexter35yrs
    Offline

    dexter35yrs New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 13, 2013]
    i spoke to audi near to me the tech said the code 15197 should solve my indicator issue - i tried it no luck ....
    #39
  41. epox
    Offline

    epox Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Nov 13, 2013]
    is the cable a real vcds? or ebay? if ebay could be the cable......as nothing else seems to be working.

    mark
    #40

Share This Page