1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help no sound from rnse

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by tony-b-3.2-v6, Jul 8, 2012.

  1. tony-b-3.2-v6
    Offline

    tony-b-3.2-v6 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 8, 2012]
    Hope someone can help my rnse has just stopped putting out any sound it still showing cd,s playing and sat nav but no sound

    Thanks in advance
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 17, 2014]

  3. max69vk
    Offline

    max69vk Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    760
    Likes Received:
    43
    [Jul 8, 2012]
    Try tapping the volume button once (so it clicks), you may have put in into mute mode.
    #2
  4. tony-b-3.2-v6
    Offline

    tony-b-3.2-v6 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 12, 2012]
    Tried this but to no avail its also started playing up and not finding my local stations think its something to do with my fin any help would be appreciated anyone know the best place to take it i live in the bolton area dont want to go to audi
    #3
  5. cooktowers
    Offline

    cooktowers New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 14, 2012]

    Hi I am having the same problem - started today. No sound at all

    did you manage to get this fixed?
    cheers
    #4
  6. Sidhu88
    Online

    Sidhu88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    797
    Likes Received:
    74
    [Aug 14, 2012]
    What systems do both of you have?

    If you have a rear amplified system and you have no sound whatsoever its mostly issues with the RNSe

    If you have full amplified (bose) then it could be either the amp or the RNSe
    #5
  7. OCD-A3
    Offline

    OCD-A3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Aug 14, 2012]
    ^ Second this, check the fuse for your amp.
    #6
  8. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,800
    Likes Received:
    499
    [Aug 14, 2012]
    or take the main fuse out and leave it 12 hour
    this will reset the unit
    if it dont work then no idea
    TONY i dont think your fin will stop the sound
    #7
  9. PH1L
    Offline

    PH1L Gievf Buckets VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,864
    Likes Received:
    39
    [Aug 15, 2012]
    if it turns out to be your rns i have one i can do you a good deal on (MK1 SDS unit)
    #8
  10. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Aug 15, 2012]
    Do a reset by either removing radio & unplugging quadlock or press radio & setup together for as long as needs (usually 30 seconds or so) until screen goes of, see if this helps, if not then ideally needs testing in another car before sending of.

    Obscure I know but remove the nav dvd aswell.
    #9
  11. cooktowers
    Offline

    cooktowers New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 15, 2012]
    Thanks for all the responses.

    It is the Bose system I have - I have tried the reset option / checked the fuse etc. I will try taking the fuse out overnight - will also take the DVD out

    I phoned a couple of local audio garages - if it is the amp they are quoting between £300 - £500 to replace. Think I will attempt it myself!


    The unit itself if still working fine as is the navigation - just no sound...

    Hard job to do - anyone attempted it?
    cheers
    #10
  12. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Aug 15, 2012]
    AMP is plugnpray, so not to much trouble, just make sure you get the correct one, just little pita to get too, behind rear drivers quarter panel.
    #11
  13. Plastic_Badger
    Offline

    Plastic_Badger New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jan 14, 2013]
    Hi did you get this fixed?
    I have the same problem!!
    #12
  14. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jan 14, 2013]
    Does it have Bose?
    #13
  15. Plastic_Badger
    Offline

    Plastic_Badger New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jan 14, 2013]
    Yes, from looking at other threads, could be the amp by the sound of it (or lack of in this case!)
    #14
  16. tomos8304
    Offline

    tomos8304 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 9, 2014]
    Did u find out what was causing this issue I've got the same problem on my tt 3.2 it also has the Bose setup
    #15
  17. Plastic_Badger
    Offline

    Plastic_Badger New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jan 9, 2014]
    PHP:
    It was the amp. I fitted a used replacement one I bought off eBay and worked fine after, wasn't cheap though at about £100.
    #16
  18. tomos8304
    Offline

    tomos8304 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 10, 2014]
    Thanks for your reply I've just sent Audi customer services a email saying that I'm not happy & I want this resolved but I won't hold my breath , looks like I'll be forking out for a new amp.
    #17
  19. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jan 10, 2014]
    On a car how old?
    #18
  20. tomos8304
    Offline

    tomos8304 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 10, 2014]
    The car is a 2007 but that's not the issue really I should of contacted them when the window regulator went (another well know issue ) but I just forked out for it, it's about time Audi addressed these issues,it's just a big money pit for them . I know people slag Renault off but I had my Clio 172 for nearly 10years & it never missed a beat maybe Audi should take some advice from them & sort there prices out accordingly
    #19
  21. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jan 12, 2014]
    7 year old car, with respect you cant really expect everything to work perfectly for years & years, appeal to them for goodwill, but 7 years down the line I just don't see them being that kind unless you can show a repeated same fault on that chassis for numerous others.
    #20
  22. B5NUT
    Online

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,285
    Likes Received:
    258
    [Jan 12, 2014]
    Have to agree with NHN on this you have to expect some things to go wrong over the years, yes they can fail but I've got a couple of Bose amps from 2005 and they are still running fine. Also with the amps it's not really Audi's fault they buy them from Bose and Audi cannot test them for 7 years before they put them into production.
    #21
    NHN likes this.
  23. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jan 12, 2014]
    Also factors could of contributed to the failure, heat, cold, dampness, all kinds of things, which may not have been the amp at fault but something connected shorted or had a surge, etc, these things all have to be seriously considered, it happens.
    #22

Share This Page