1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help no sound from rnse

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by tony-b-3.2-v6, Jul 8, 2012.

  1. tony-b-3.2-v6

    tony-b-3.2-v6 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hope someone can help my rnse has just stopped putting out any sound it still showing cd,s playing and sat nav but no sound

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. max69vk

    max69vk Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    49
    Try tapping the volume button once (so it clicks), you may have put in into mute mode.
     
  4. tony-b-3.2-v6

    tony-b-3.2-v6 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    1
    Tried this but to no avail its also started playing up and not finding my local stations think its something to do with my fin any help would be appreciated anyone know the best place to take it i live in the bolton area dont want to go to audi
     
  5. cooktowers

    cooktowers New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0

    Hi I am having the same problem - started today. No sound at all

    did you manage to get this fixed?
    cheers
     
  6. Sidhu88

    Sidhu88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    76
    What systems do both of you have?

    If you have a rear amplified system and you have no sound whatsoever its mostly issues with the RNSe

    If you have full amplified (bose) then it could be either the amp or the RNSe
     
  7. OCD-A3

    OCD-A3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    11
    ^ Second this, check the fuse for your amp.
     
  8. hades-

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep.
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    625
    or take the main fuse out and leave it 12 hour
    this will reset the unit
    if it dont work then no idea
    TONY i dont think your fin will stop the sound
     
  9. PH1L

    PH1L Gievf Buckets
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,864
    Likes Received:
    39
    if it turns out to be your rns i have one i can do you a good deal on (MK1 SDS unit)
     
  10. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,327
    Likes Received:
    1,461
    Do a reset by either removing radio & unplugging quadlock or press radio & setup together for as long as needs (usually 30 seconds or so) until screen goes of, see if this helps, if not then ideally needs testing in another car before sending of.

    Obscure I know but remove the nav dvd aswell.
     
  11. cooktowers

    cooktowers New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for all the responses.

    It is the Bose system I have - I have tried the reset option / checked the fuse etc. I will try taking the fuse out overnight - will also take the DVD out

    I phoned a couple of local audio garages - if it is the amp they are quoting between £300 - £500 to replace. Think I will attempt it myself!


    The unit itself if still working fine as is the navigation - just no sound...

    Hard job to do - anyone attempted it?
    cheers
     
  12. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,327
    Likes Received:
    1,461
    AMP is plugnpray, so not to much trouble, just make sure you get the correct one, just little pita to get too, behind rear drivers quarter panel.
     
  13. Plastic_Badger

    Plastic_Badger New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi did you get this fixed?
    I have the same problem!!
     
  14. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,327
    Likes Received:
    1,461
    Does it have Bose?
     
  15. Plastic_Badger

    Plastic_Badger New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yes, from looking at other threads, could be the amp by the sound of it (or lack of in this case!)
     
  16. tomos8304

    tomos8304 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did u find out what was causing this issue I've got the same problem on my tt 3.2 it also has the Bose setup
     
  17. Plastic_Badger

    Plastic_Badger New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    PHP:
    It was the amp. I fitted a used replacement one I bought off eBay and worked fine after, wasn't cheap though at about £100.
     
  18. tomos8304

    tomos8304 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your reply I've just sent Audi customer services a email saying that I'm not happy & I want this resolved but I won't hold my breath , looks like I'll be forking out for a new amp.
     
  19. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,327
    Likes Received:
    1,461
    On a car how old?
     
  20. tomos8304

    tomos8304 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    The car is a 2007 but that's not the issue really I should of contacted them when the window regulator went (another well know issue ) but I just forked out for it, it's about time Audi addressed these issues,it's just a big money pit for them . I know people slag Renault off but I had my Clio 172 for nearly 10years & it never missed a beat maybe Audi should take some advice from them & sort there prices out accordingly
     
  21. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,327
    Likes Received:
    1,461
    7 year old car, with respect you cant really expect everything to work perfectly for years & years, appeal to them for goodwill, but 7 years down the line I just don't see them being that kind unless you can show a repeated same fault on that chassis for numerous others.
     
  22. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. B5NUT

    B5NUT Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,777
    Likes Received:
    369
    Have to agree with NHN on this you have to expect some things to go wrong over the years, yes they can fail but I've got a couple of Bose amps from 2005 and they are still running fine. Also with the amps it's not really Audi's fault they buy them from Bose and Audi cannot test them for 7 years before they put them into production.
     
    NHN likes this.
  24. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,327
    Likes Received:
    1,461
    Also factors could of contributed to the failure, heat, cold, dampness, all kinds of things, which may not have been the amp at fault but something connected shorted or had a surge, etc, these things all have to be seriously considered, it happens.
     

Share This Page