1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help needed with my Key. Won't start the car just says SAFE?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Hendo, Feb 17, 2012.

  1. Hendo

    Hendo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi Guys

    I bought a new key fob off ebay and just took all the electronic bits, key and transponder out the old key and put it in the new case. It will unlock the door with the remote but when I try start the car it just come up saying "safe"

    Anyone got any idea's?

    Thanks

    Richard
     
  2. towcestervag

    towcestervag Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    5
    immobilizer issue
    did you damage the chip?
     
  3. Hendo

    Hendo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    3
    Dont think so!
     
  4. S3 Dave

    S3 Dave Now running on Heavy Oil

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hold your old key by dash/ignition if it works you need to take the key apart find the chip and put it in the new one!
     
  5. mike foster

    mike foster Fossie
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    80
    Are you sure you transferred the immobiliser chip across? It's a capsule shaped glass object that is held in the plastic and nothing to do with the circuit board.

    The one in the new key fob will not work with your car.
     
  6. Hendo

    Hendo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    3
    Din't work!!
     
  7. Hendo

    Hendo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yeah I transfered the chip across?
     
  8. mike foster

    mike foster Fossie
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    80
    Not good ! You couldn't have got the chips mixed up could you ? Clutching at straws I know but if the chip has been damaged it's a trip to Audi (somehow!) and a new key coded.
     
  9. Hendo

    Hendo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    3
    Got it sussed I stripped the key down and found it already had a immobiliser chip hidden inside. I removed that chip and replaced it with my original on and worked no problem.
    So turns out that it will not work with 2 immobiliser chips inside the key housing lol.

     
  10. mike foster

    mike foster Fossie
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    80
    Obviously not ! That's why I said transfer the old chip to the new fob (see post #5). There is only room for one chip in the fob so how and why you put two chips in is a bit of a mystery I have to say !! :think:
     
  11. Hendo

    Hendo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    3
    Well I was presented with a plastic area where the old chip was hidden underneath. I couldn't get it out originally so I assumed it wasn't meant to be move to I just secured in place my old chip and hoped for the best!

    I should have maybe asked for advice first rather than just go at it. Oh well live and learn.
     
  12. jsosic

    jsosic Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    2

    Thank you for this thread :D I also bought fob off ebay and moved everything except immobilizer chip! :D And boy was I scared when engine shut down, and yellow heater sign started to flash with SAFE :-/

    Google saved me :)
     

Share This Page