1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

help needed with lights please

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by Deeming77, Oct 1, 2013.

  1. Deeming77
    Offline

    Deeming77 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 1, 2013]
    my headlight switch has recently gone faulty. the headlights main beam is always on. i cant switch it off for love nor money. also none of the fogs etc come on. i ordered a new one off ebay. all looks the same. however ive plugged it all in. still the same.
    is there anything like a relay somewhere that could of blown when the switch went?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 31, 2014]

  3. Woorlord
    Offline

    Woorlord shifting to Hyperspace... . VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    949
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Oct 1, 2013]
    Car Model, Original switch part number, replacement switch part number?
    Then can likely advise where to look.
    #2
  4. Deeming77
    Offline

    Deeming77 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 1, 2013]
    Ok I'll get the part numbers in a bit. Car model is a4 tdi sport 53 plate avant. Has front and rear fogs etc.
    thanks.
    #3
  5. DieselJake
    Online

    DieselJake God Mode

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,608
    Likes Received:
    249
    [Oct 1, 2013]
    Sounds like the switch isn't the issue if it's still the same :shrug:

    This video was crazy useful for me but guessing you don't need it
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 15, 2014
    #4
  6. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,924
    Likes Received:
    528
    [Oct 1, 2013]
    is the new unit the same part number inc the end letter ?
    is it oem or a chinese copy (as there known not to work

    if thats all good them its your central electrics module (located under the dash above your right knee
    remove open up and check for water damage
    #5
  7. Deeming77
    Offline

    Deeming77 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 11, 2013]
    I've checked the part numbers and they are the same. The lights come on as soon as you start the car. Also the high beam flasher only flashes, you can't keep it on.
    Is there anything else it could be before I buy a new control module?
    #6
  8. Woorlord
    Offline

    Woorlord shifting to Hyperspace... . VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    949
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Oct 11, 2013]
    As requested - What is the part number of the original switch so I can determine if you are Hi-Line or Lo-Line circuit spec.
    This will reveal how the car is wired as there are a set of circuits for each.
    At least we have established the replacement switch is the same as the original.
    #7
  9. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,924
    Likes Received:
    528
    [Oct 11, 2013]
    and is it a copy switch you got or oem ?
    #8
  10. Deeming77
    Offline

    Deeming77 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 24, 2013]
    hi sorry for late reply . the original switch number is : 8E0 941 531 A 01A- K2803 BK7 .
    ?
    #9

Share This Page