1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HELP NEEDED Urgently Please!!!!! Fuse Holder Battery Top

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by mr_sjc, Mar 4, 2010.

  1. mr_sjc
    Offline

    mr_sjc Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 4, 2010]
    Hi Chaps n Chapesses

    Got a huge issue. Just replaced my fuse holder batter top thingy as the last one had a fuse that melted. Now the car wont start - its completely dead. No central locking, nothing, nada. Any ideas???

    Thanks in advance Simon
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 18, 2014]

  3. mr_sjc
    Offline

    mr_sjc Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 4, 2010]
    I have disconnected the battery before carrying out the job BTW.
    #2
  4. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,597
    Likes Received:
    274
    [Mar 4, 2010]
    I would say uoi have failed to connect the fuse box to the positive term by the sounds of it.
    #3
  5. mr_sjc
    Offline

    mr_sjc Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 4, 2010]
    Ill give that a whirl but all seems screwed back in as before and is tight
    #4
  6. mr_sjc
    Offline

    mr_sjc Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 4, 2010]
    New one off, old one back on and BING shes back to life!!! Cant see what the difference is as the two parts look identical although they have different part numbers. Weird.... Know of any good Audi breakers in Nottingham?

    Cheers Simon
    #5
  7. Keeno
    Offline

    Keeno Spooly Spooly Boosty Boosty!

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 4, 2010]
    Did you swap the metal strips over as well?
    #6
  8. 02audis3
    Offline

    02audis3 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 4, 2010]
    Aye good point there. Check and see you havnt blown any of them, I stupidly connected the battery the wrong way and one of the metal strips bloo. Had fault on dash red battery sign, just changed and sorted it thankfully
    #7
  9. mr_sjc
    Offline

    mr_sjc Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 4, 2010]
    Im not able to swap over the metal strip as this is moulded in to the fuse holder. Ive got 3 new 30amp fuses in the new unit and these havent blown from what I can see.
    #8

Share This Page