1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HELP NEEDED PLEASE

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by RAV, Feb 9, 2004.

  1. RAV
    Offline

    RAV New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 9, 2004]
    Hi everyone i have a big problem with my car its a audi A3 quattro turbo 1999 V reg the problem is that my car does not give me a accurate petrol reading the car needle seems to keep changing its reading it keeps moving from showing empty to sudenly showing fulland half way it keeps changing all the time and i dont know how much petrol i have in the car.. Can someone please tell me what the problem is as its driving me mad any help would be very appreciated /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 2, 2014]

  3. lost_it
    Offline

    lost_it Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 9, 2004]
    Mine was the fuel sensor, of course there could be other reasons.
    #2
  4. RAV
    Offline

    RAV New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 9, 2004]
    What other reason besides the fuel sensor could it be? and is the sensor expensive?
    Do you know of any audi breaker?

    Thanks
    Rav
    #3
  5. chimmo
    Offline

    chimmo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 9, 2004]
    Hi Rav,

    I had an identical problem with my 2001 A3 TQ. I'd turn the ignition on one morning and the fuel gauge would not move, turn the ignition off and then back on again and it would register. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif

    It was a faulty fuel sender gauge and was replaced by the dealer under warranty.

    Sorry I can't be of any more help....
    #4
  6. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Feb 9, 2004]
    Does the "range" still work accurately on the DIS, or is that all over the place as well? don't know if that uses the same sensor.
    #5
  7. chimmo
    Offline

    chimmo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 9, 2004]
    When the sender gauge went on mine, the range on the DIS went too. The Petrol Icon appeared showing 0 miles in tank, so can be pretty sure they use the same sensor.
    #6
  8. RAV
    Offline

    RAV New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 10, 2004]
    How would i find out what the problem is and if it is the sensor which one it is?

    Thanks everyone for all your help
    #7

Share This Page