1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help needed!..3.2Q DSG Hesitant engine ~ 2k rpm

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by 3.2 Ju, Aug 26, 2009.

  1. edition
    Offline

    edition Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 1, 2009]
    With no airbag hehehe
  2. Slimbaldy
    Offline

    Slimbaldy Hammer it!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 1, 2009]
    There's the problem Paddy If you look in the drivers footwell there's pedals try the one on the right!:undwech:

    Only kidding
  3. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    123
    [Nov 1, 2009]
    I was just turning it over on the starter motor in gear...:laugh:
  4. Coxylaad
    Offline

    Coxylaad Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 1, 2009]
    jesus man, mine usually shows about 21mpg!!!

    Although i drove from durham the other day and managed to get 34mpg, but that was reset after I had set off and was clear of the traffic. it seems to really suffer in slow moving traffic, and also at a constant 85 mph its dropped to sub 25mpg. cant be right.


    wonder what the hell is going on with mine! I do get the fan coming on at a really high speed when i dont think it should. On my R32 the fan use to kick in and out, but it was on a low speed and you could hardlies hear it, on the a3 i worry its going to suck in hedgehogs and birds and stuff!

    I thought that could point at a temperature sender, but i checked on VAG COM and it appears to be readin the correct temperature.

    Might look into getting a remap on a trial basis. If it works I will keep it.

    I actually have an VF engineering supercharger setup for a mk4 R32 in my garage i might fit that first before I map it ;)
  5. Coxylaad
    Offline

    Coxylaad Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 1, 2009]
    out of interest - I managed to get 263 miles to a full tank of fuel - to the needle right to the bottom of the gauge. does that sound about right?
  6. Coxylaad
    Offline

    Coxylaad Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 1, 2009]
    one final note to counter piss paddy off - I have a company fuel card lol
  7. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    123
    [Nov 1, 2009]
    Yea as soon as you hit traffic it will plumet but your constant 85-90mph should be 30-ish mpg.

    My home journey is 6 miles and after 5 miles its reading 30 but the last mile is traffic into the town and the overall ave will drop to 18-20mpg.
    The 3.2 just hates standing still, expecially on the brake in drive (dsg)
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2009
  8. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    123
    [Nov 1, 2009]
    Lucky sod :)
  9. Slimbaldy
    Offline

    Slimbaldy Hammer it!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 1, 2009]
    I get about 295 out of mine before the low fuel warning comes on, can go to about 320 before running on air, and i don't hang about with a hard run in the morning with no traffic about lots of hills and fast A roads then sat in traffic on the way home. its a 2004 manual.
  10. garyburton29
    Offline

    garyburton29 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 1, 2009]
    I drove to Serbia this summer in my 3.2 and was happy to get between 320 & 340 miles to the tank on long journeys....Have had my car a year now and ( touch wood ) nothing has gone wrong with it so far. Drove just under 3000 miles round trip and it never missed a beat overseas
  11. Coxylaad
    Offline

    Coxylaad Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 1, 2009]
    really?! so 265miles to running on fresh air is way off the mark isnt it!

    wonder what the hell is going on there
  12. garyburton29
    Offline

    garyburton29 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 1, 2009]
    Mind you, now i'm getting abit worried about the threads I'm reading with the problems of the 3.2's
  13. garyburton29
    Offline

    garyburton29 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 1, 2009]
    but around town my car drinks fuel....between 140 & 160 miles to the tank
  14. Coxylaad
    Offline

    Coxylaad Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 1, 2009]
    ah right, then mine might not be so bad, I do 6 mile journey to work and there is a bit of stop starting involved in it too.
  15. 3.2 Ju
    Offline

    3.2 Ju Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,374
    Likes Received:
    82
    [Nov 1, 2009]
    My previous A3 3.2 used to return 13mpg on the commute home and over the 18 months I had it, the overall average was around 18-19mpg. Didn't stop me getting another though!
  16. Coxylaad
    Offline

    Coxylaad Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 2, 2009]
    well I have just been on the phone to audi Teesside and they say they are no reported issues with the 2004 A3 3.2 mapping. The guy is going to speak to the manager but he mentioned putting a quote together to get it reflashed, err I cant wait to here how much he wants for that.

    Spoke to my local revo dealer and he said he could map it and if it was the original map at fault it would fix the problem, but he doesnt think there is any trial period on it, so if i go for it and it doesnt fix the problem I have just wasted a lot of money!
  17. 3.2 Ju
    Offline

    3.2 Ju Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,374
    Likes Received:
    82
    [Nov 2, 2009]
    Yeah, I went for the revo trial and as you say they don't do one, only the full program.
    I also went for the APR one which it does list a trial for, but apparently after trying twice to connect to the server it was found that there wasn't one for my ECU. Awesome did say though that they would be interested in producing a map for mine using my ECU as a base, but I never got that done before my problem got worse.
    I could imagine a different map could "solve" the problem but suspect the underlying fault code still be there.
    No word on mine as yet!
  18. edition
    Offline

    edition Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 2, 2009]
    I have heard it is meant to improve throttle responce.

    Would be interested in hearing how it drives mapped.....
  19. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    123
    [Nov 2, 2009]
    I might get mine done soon AMD have quoted £360 but i am looking into another set up who specialise in TVR racing. they have a 4wheel drive rolling road and will build a custom map to suit the car.
  20. edition
    Offline

    edition Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 2, 2009]
    Ah look forward to reading how you both get on.
  21. Coxylaad
    Offline

    Coxylaad Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 3, 2009]
    any news 3.2 ju?

    I am getting a spare ecu from my mate to try this week. What are the odds of both being faulty!

    btw I have no fault codes on my car at all.
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2009
  22. 3.2 Ju
    Offline

    3.2 Ju Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,374
    Likes Received:
    82
    [Nov 3, 2009]
    I'll give you your due coxyladd, you're confronting the problem head on!:respekt:
    I'm not sure though that you can just swap ECU's, are they not coded to the car?
    As for mine, no news yet:tumble:
    Am I right in thinking that you can tell what software map you have on the ECU using vagcom?. Could be interesting comparing codes with a known "good" ECU!

    I also didn't have any fault codes on the car when I first got it, took around a month to show up!
  23. Coxylaad
    Offline

    Coxylaad Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 3, 2009]
    i dont like faults on cars! :)

    hmm i will have a look at the car tomorrow to see what info i can get from vagcom.


    i did have fault on the inlet cam, but i cleared it and its not come back since.

    I wonder if its something like a coil going down or something?

    not much else to test :D
    we will get it I am certain!
  24. ricje
    Offline

    ricje remap me

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 6, 2009]
    Hello all, seems a few people are living my exact car woes!! Hesitates at 2k-3k then goes like a dodgy mapped turbo lag!

    VAG COM reads intermitent out of range cam sensors. But Newcastle audi have none in stock so will find out on monday if the issue is resolved (but according to this thread probably not!!)..

    Any news on yours 3.2 ju??
  25. Coxylaad
    Offline

    Coxylaad Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 6, 2009]
    hello and welcome to our world lol

    you have exactly the same problem as i have. and you are close by too!

    I have changed both my cam sensors to no avail, have replaced the maf, no joy, and i have replaced the fuel pump relay.

    what did newcastle audi say?
  26. ricje
    Offline

    ricje remap me

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 6, 2009]
    I havnt taken it to Newcastle audi (not been all that good in my experience with my last a3!), took to a place called Pitstop VW specialist in centre. Just Newcastle Audi havnt got the correct cam sensors in stock until monday. £80 each does that sound right? Worth a shot, trust the garage and he was adament that this would resolve the issue. Will change relay this weekend while I wait.

    It feels like it has less power it noticable and the MPG is SHOCKING maybe 15-20mpg even in miss daisy mode...
  27. Coxylaad
    Offline

    Coxylaad Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 6, 2009]
    sounds exactly like mine mate. my mpg is pretty awful too!

    the cam sensors i put in mine were proven good on another engine.
  28. ricje
    Offline

    ricje remap me

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 6, 2009]
    May of been bit hasty with mpg. Got car back after long life service and mpg is better now maybe 26-30 normal driving.

    Well sound like I could be spending money for nothing ekk! Bloke did say he had fixed a TT 3.2 with same codes by doing sensors and MAF. So I'll try it anyway and report back. Probably to get more advice by sounds of it though!!

    Hope this problem can be sorted, where are you at? might be worth comparing if it goes on and on....
  29. 3.2 Ju
    Offline

    3.2 Ju Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,374
    Likes Received:
    82
    [Nov 6, 2009]
    The only news I have on mine is that as of Wednesday they hadn't started it!. They were waiting for authorisation from the supplying garage before starting.
    I did ask the master tech what his diagnosis was and he said he suspected a stretched chain. TBH though I don't think they really know what is causing the problem and just want to strip it to see whats going on.
    I am getting seriously miffed off though with the garage I bought it from. I'll not say who they are yet, but they are a Major national chain and also a main dealer for a prestige brand:mad:
  30. ricje
    Offline

    ricje remap me

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 6, 2009]
    I bought my privately so it's wallet time. But let's see how everyone gets on. Hope it turns out to be an electrical fault. Can't see it being the chain mines on 63k, problem would be more talked about since 3.2 lump is used in allsorts...(fingers toes etc crossed)
  31. 3.2 Ju
    Offline

    3.2 Ju Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,374
    Likes Received:
    82
    [Nov 6, 2009]
    LMAO ......you're kidding me right?.......The internet is your friend, search and you shall find!
    If you can speak German I can direct you to a 150ish page pdf on the 3.2 chain/tensioner/oil pump and long life service problems.
    Saying that, I'm not saying the problem is chain related, but as mine has a rattle from the chain, I DO have a chain problem.
    By the way, mines on 51k at the moment.
  32. Coxylaad
    Offline

    Coxylaad Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 6, 2009]
    i agree with you there. people are developing the problem at 37k miles!
    My chains are little noisy now that i have checked, no nasty noises really.

    I have this thing in my head that the oilways are fouled into the VVT, as my engine is not very clean inside. I am working on cleaning it up, but that is going to take time.

    Bought mine privately too.

    How long have you had your car ricje? and has it been like this from day 1?

    Let us know how you get on!

    I have a spare ecu to try at the weekend (de immobilized of another project of mine)
    I suspect that isnt going to work either.

    Similar mileage to mine. Does your engine look all brown and caked up when you peer into the oil filler cap?
  33. ricje
    Offline

    ricje remap me

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 6, 2009]
    And someone crashed into me outside my house just now!!! Unlucky car week :(
  34. ricje
    Offline

    ricje remap me

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 6, 2009]
    My engine looks fine no caking at all, looks clean. Chains making no noise. Completely quite at idle steady rev meter, still sounds as it should, just doesn't go as it should!!!

    I'm not a supreme car buff ( havnt fully maintained a car since the diy Sierra days!) havnt looked to much on Internet apart from r32 issues, I'll look further (a noob as you might say)

    when I first bought it, no issues sweet as a nut loved the performance, only last say 5 months it has bugged me. Juddered in a big way on m6 last month almost stopped which was pretty hairy. Emmison light been on since until today's service. Came back two hours later before I got smashed into!!!

    Would like to hear how ecu change goes on, if you are close wouldn't mind taking a look as well coxy. Cheers
  35. ricje
    Offline

    ricje remap me

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 6, 2009]
    Had car year and 7 months
  36. edition
    Offline

    edition Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 6, 2009]
    Lamba?
  37. ricje
    Offline

    ricje remap me

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 6, 2009]
    Camshaft sensors? Only thing that cropped up on vag com.. reminds me of my not getting up to 90 degrees temp on my old a3 pain in neck dodgy fault!!!
  38. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    123
    [Nov 7, 2009]
    Lambda ?? done that...

    I did just under 500 miles yesterday and i can report that mine is worse on a run. I went through three 50 mph ave speed check area's which happens to be 2k rpm, in 6th and put it on cruise. LOL ! its like sailing a boat on choppy seas !
    I did however speak to a mate in Ipswich who works at a top Marques garage and had this problem with Bentleys which he said used the same coil packs ??. He said you could see burn marks on them where they were arcing out. He was quite sure it was going to be plugs/coils and said that on a Rolling road the misfire would stick out like a sore thumb on the telemetry read out ??. I did question why it would be at 2k on so many engines and he said its possible that a plug or coil is breaking down under compression linked to the VVT and a specific advance retard position.

    I wonder if it would prove anything to run the engine with a coil pack off on each pot and just see if the fault was less noticeable at 2k with one pack off as opposed to the other 5 if you get my drift.
  39. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    123
    [Nov 7, 2009]
    another thought while playing around this morning, if you slacken the oil filler cap while the engine is running your motor gets the shakes.....so could we be looking for an air leak ???
  40. Coxylaad
    Offline

    Coxylaad Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 7, 2009]
    I have looked all over the place for air leaks on mine and found nothing at all.

    Coils could be a one to try. need to find some spares :)

    I took all my plugs out and they seemed to be ok, but its not really a full on misfire as such is it.

    been doing some logging and stuff today.
    firstly I have a voltage of 12.8 volts at tickover, i would have thought that should have been in the region of 14.5v? can someone check that?

    had another check for leaks, couldnt really find anything.

    So, I have decided, tomorrow I am going to take my rocker cover off, and have a look see if I can see anything.
    My mate was saying the inlet cam sits in a naturally advanced state, and for some reason its not retarding properly. I think the the oil way into the VVT could be blocked, as there its a small opening and there is a very fine gauze over the inlet, which i reckon could block very easy.

    will report back tomorrow night.

    I have been given lots of spares by my mate who put and A3 3.2 lump into a mk3 golf, and had to get it running on r32 management (different sprockets etc. )

Share This Page