1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help needed!..3.2Q DSG Hesitant engine ~ 2k rpm

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by 3.2 Ju, Aug 26, 2009.

  1. glenn-3.2
    Offline

    glenn-3.2 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 14, 2010]
    just thought ,out of the blue regarding 3.2 & tt ,never gave it thought of it been FSI system. new to this german stuff,beging to wish i stayed with toyota reliability
  2. glenn-3.2
    Offline

    glenn-3.2 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 14, 2010]
    is that the key word FUELING ,fuel pump,fuel filter, injectors ,maf
  3. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    123
    [Jan 14, 2010]
    Wel, it seems most likely to Me Glenn. when i took mine to Audi the guy said it was a fueling glitch to do with air flow. i havnt been able to prove him wrong so far........
  4. edition
    Offline

    edition Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 15, 2010]
    As I said before I think its a map issue

    It seems very odd to me that the R32 had this exact issue and they brought a new map out for them that cured it!!!!
  5. cdco2
    Offline

    cdco2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 15, 2010]
    Hi all , just found this forum ironicaly after owning a A3 3.2 DSG for nearly 4 years... found you guys hunting for information on its probable replacement... (A4 Avant 2.0 T Quattro S-line Special Edition)

    Anyway on to topic Ive had the car since 12k and it has now done 63k ish pretty reliably engine wise its never hunted or hesitated , been on the long life services (which has meant every 14 to 15k with the way I drive it) and has averaged about 23 MPG over that time covering everything from Mway Cruises (26 to 28 at a steady 75 to 85 cruise) or alot less on my 9 mile B road blast to work every day. The internals of the engine still look bright n shiney even with the long life oil changes.

    The only significant issue Ive ever had engine wise was a failed coil pack which started with hesitation at 1500 to 2000 rpm but it didnt last long before complete failure (ie about 2 days) so for me the engine & DSG box are the best bits of the car...

    The only issue Ive had is 1k's worth of work last summer to replace the prop shaft UJ at the front that was knocking like a b*****d and the front suspension bushes .... both of which were sent back to Audi for inspection as they weren't supposed to wear that quickly.

    So best of luck to you guys cant add anything to help your woes but can say that not all the 3.2's have these issues.
  6. glenn-3.2
    Offline

    glenn-3.2 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 15, 2010]
    maybe a very stupid question,would it be posible to use the R32 new map on the a3. as there all part of vag group???
  7. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    123
    [Jan 15, 2010]
    Last time i took mine in i told them of the issue with the R32 and the remap and they checked to see if it was available for the Audi but as they refuse to admit there is a problem they are hardly going to say they have a fix ! i went to look at a TTS today but the bottom line is that if Audi cant help with a problem like this i would be a bit daft to buy another Audi so i have shelved that idea again.
  8. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    123
    [Jan 20, 2010]
    Finally after all this time and as my problems get worse i now have a fault code

    2 Faults Found:
    18025 - Glow Plug Pre-Heat Indicator (K29): Open or Short to Ground
    P1617 - 001 - Upper Limit Exceeded - Intermittent
    16395 - Bank 1: Camshaft A (Intake): Retard Setpoint not Reached (Over-Advanced)
    P0011 - 008 - Implausible Signal - Intermittent
    Readiness: 0000 0100


    Any thoughts ?
  9. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    123
    [Jan 20, 2010]
    Vagcom says
    Possible Symptoms
    Power Loss
    Possible Causes
    Camshaft Adjustment Valve 1 (N205) faulty
    Fuel Pump Relay (J17) faulty
    Possible Solutions
    Check Camshaft Adjustment Valve 1 (N205)
    Check Fuel Pump Relay (J17)
    Special Notes
    When found in Engine: 4.0l W8
    Check TPL 2010059(RoW)
    Check/Replace Oil Sieve in Timing Case (Camshaft Adjuster)
    Category: Fault Codes

    Anybody know which engine is 4.01 W8 ????
  10. AuldReekie
    Offline

    AuldReekie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    767
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 20, 2010]
    No pi$$ take mate, but could that be 4.0L W8? As is the Passat one? I know it would make no sense, but it is a remarkably similar designation.
  11. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    123
    [Jan 20, 2010]
    Yea...Doh !!
    That would make sense :think:
  12. edition
    Offline

    edition Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 21, 2010]
    Fuel pump relay then for starters????
  13. 3.2 Ju
    Online

    3.2 Ju Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    63
    [Jan 21, 2010]
    Coxyladd's already changed his relay to no effect!

    I have the 16398 code which is the same as the 16395 that you have Paddy, but for the exhaust, although I have also had that code as well in the past. Both the vvt's and the camshaft sensors have been replaced on mine and tbh they both can't be faulty, so it must be something indirectly causing it . Next on my list is the oil pump but not just yet, I might just book it into the dealers first and see what they say.
    What I can't understand is it doesn't seem to affect other cars with the same engine, maybe the internals are slightly different? From what I can remember mine is a BMJ.
  14. 3.2 Ju
    Online

    3.2 Ju Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    63
    [Jan 21, 2010]
    A bit of searching around for the 16395 fault code brought this up

    Although it's not our engine, some of the pointers seem relevant

    The poster also says he is a VW/Porsche/Audi master tech!
  15. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    123
    [Jan 21, 2010]
    Thanks for that Julian.
    I will try the relay as its very cheap. Interestingly it has done this erratic running game from start 4 times in 5 weeks so its very random but this is the first time its had a fault code. Seems to be when the air temp is cold. If you switch off and re start it usually does the trick.
  16. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    123
    [Jan 23, 2010]
    Well in true Audi form they gave me the wrong relay.....I took it back and the right one is special order and nearly £30!!..it a std bloody 5 pin relay for crying out loud !!
  17. edition
    Offline

    edition Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 23, 2010]
    :aggressive:
  18. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    123
    [Feb 7, 2010]
    We are going to meed a new thread here soon...lol

    Has anyone changed the throttle body ???? ( still working on this)
  19. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    123
    [Feb 7, 2010]
    Latest codes

    8 Faults Found:
    18025 - Glow Plug Pre-Heat Indicator (K29): Open or Short to Ground
    P1617 - 001 - Upper Limit Exceeded - Intermittent
    16395 - Bank 1: Camshaft A (Intake): Retard Setpoint not Reached (Over-Advanced)
    P0011 - 008 - Implausible Signal - Intermittent
    16486 - Mass Air Flow Sensor (G70): Signal too Low
    P0102 - 002 - Lower Limit Exceeded - Intermittent
    16684 - Random/Multiple Cylinder Misfire Detected
    P0300 - 008 - Implausible Signal - Intermittent
    16685 - Cylinder 1: Misfire Detected
    P0301 - 008 - Implausible Signal - Intermittent
    16690 - Cylinder 6: Misfire Detected
    P0306 - 008 - Implausible Signal - Intermittent
    16686 - Cylinder 2: Misfire Detected
    P0302 - 008 - Implausible Signal - Intermittent
    16688 - Cylinder 4: Misfire Detected
    P0304 - 008 - Implausible Signal - Intermittent
    Readiness: 0000 0000
  20. 3.2 Ju
    Online

    3.2 Ju Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    63
    [Feb 7, 2010]
    Wow Paddy, that's some fault list lol!
    I've changed my oil pump this weekend and although it's early days it does seem a heck of a lot better. It idles smooth as you like now and feels a lot more free reving. However the jumping around at 2k when stationary is still there although less than before. I'm going to put a few miles on the clock to give it time to adapt and then drop the oil out and put mobil 1 in.
    First impresions though are definately positive
  21. glenn-3.2
    Offline

    glenn-3.2 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 7, 2010]
    good call. i've just got the car back after 17 days while toyota [car purchased & warranty] audi specialist, audi. have all had ago at fixing this problem, fuel filter ,maf, ecu re-set.etc . basicaly p*ssing in the wind. scratched 3 of my new wheels.& want they want to refurb,i've only done 300 miles on them. now arguing that i want 3 new wheels,cheeky buggers say i won't no the difference once refurbed:sadlike:. cars going to rk engineering ,specialist in cornwall. who's going to road test linking lap top, so as to check as we go. one thing he mentioned was monatering the throttle body settings, etc. so hopefuly know more tuesday
  22. Coxylaad
    Offline

    Coxylaad Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 7, 2010]
    ah balls, I was pinning my hopes on the oil pump.

    throttle body could be one to try.
  23. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    123
    [Feb 7, 2010]
    I have been told by a guy who is **** hot with race engines that its the throttle body. He looked at my car and revved it a couple of times and just said throttle body...without a doubt ! i will pull it off tomorrow and have a look. It might be just dirty but if the stepper motor of carbon tracks are shot then i will have to get some prices for a new one.
  24. Coxylaad
    Offline

    Coxylaad Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 7, 2010]
    I have have examined mine, it was as clean as a whistle, but doesnt say its not knackered inside.

    My mate is bringing the one of his spare engine up for me tomorrow, I will swap it over and check.

    thing is thought, v6pete fixed his and he didnt change the throttle body. unless he had a very different problem to us.
  25. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    123
    [Feb 7, 2010]
    I dont think V6 Pete had the same problem.
  26. Coxylaad
    Offline

    Coxylaad Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 7, 2010]
    well the only thing that v6 pete changed that i havent yet is the oil pump, and julians just done his to no avail. doesnt make sense.
    will try the throttle body this week hopefully, then if that doesnt fix it its the oil pump.

    How much are oil pumps?
  27. 3.2 Ju
    Online

    3.2 Ju Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    63
    [Feb 8, 2010]
    I wouldn't say it's to no avail Ian, the car is a different animal and has definately made a big difference, even the missus says so! I was getting misfiring from 1200rpm to 2800rpm, now it's restricted to between 1600rpm and 2000rpm and it drives a lot smoother, where it used to hesitate up certain hills, it doesnt now. However as I said earlier the missing is still there so at the moment it's not a complete fix, will try a throttle body adaptation tonight and see if that improves it.
    How many miles does it take for the ECU to adapt, I've done about 50 so far?
  28. 3.2 Ju
    Online

    3.2 Ju Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    63
    [Feb 8, 2010]
  29. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    123
    [Feb 8, 2010]
    The throttle bodys coke up due to oil vapor being recycled through the system. They need to be very carefully cleaned with brake or carb cleaner but not sprayed direct. Dont force the butterfly flap open. there is a small stepper motor attached. so clean it from both sides. even that will not account for a faulty stepper motor or carbon track ( potentiometer) but its a start. Re align it with vagcom.
    There are some interesting articles on the web if you search "Cleaning throttle body"...
  30. Coxylaad
    Offline

    Coxylaad Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 8, 2010]
    doesnt make sense how v6pete managed to fix his without touching his throttle body tho does it.
  31. Coxylaad
    Offline

    Coxylaad Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 9, 2010]
    ok i have acquired said throttle body from mate, I may even swap it out at dinner time.

    I will let you know how i get on. Its from a MK5 golf R32.
  32. edition
    Offline

    edition Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 9, 2010]
    Let us know!!
  33. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    123
    [Feb 9, 2010]
    I'm going to look silly if its not the TB :)
  34. glenn-3.2
    Offline

    glenn-3.2 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 9, 2010]
    car has been to the garage, hooked up to lap top & out on the road, firstly when car cold this morning prior to going to garage ,reved to 2k no bother & very smooth, got to garage warmed up would'nt do 2k ,back to road test,done varied runs ie speeds etc. the throttle setting seem fine, the only thing showing was the thermostat sticking @ 82 deg instead of 90 deg. @ speed the 82 would probebly go down to 78 deg. causing the car to throw in more fuel ,like when starting car from cold, which might be my low mpg .apart from this the car is fine. i've stated all the things you guy's have done,the 2 chaps @ garage recon it's down to the mapping of the car and unless audi bring out re-map like thr r32, it's something we'll have to put up with. as much has he would love to take my money off me. so cars booked in for new thermastat next week,will update. ps.i asked the question of , seen the throttle is wire less could it be the throttle pedal sensers.but aparently the pedal has 2 sensors 1 of which is get me home mode, and if faulty would show up. [just with toyota in the news .just thought no one had mentiond
  35. edition
    Offline

    edition Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 9, 2010]
    I'm sure its the R32 mapping issue!!! STILL hehe
  36. edition
    Offline

    edition Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 9, 2010]
    Oh. On the R32 if you were not to have the VW upgrade map and took it to say revo did this sort them?

    If it does then it might b worth doint the same.......
  37. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    123
    [Feb 9, 2010]
    I would love to think that was the answer but.............mine only started doing it after 40k miles AND its getting steadly worse ( see fault codes above.) some times its so bad now that i have to stop, switch off and re start which cures it. This is partly why i think its the throttle body because that does a sweep and re sets its self when you stop and re start. also i have had a remap....And as you say its fine on initial start up which again points to airflow/mixture.
  38. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    123
    [Feb 9, 2010]
    also the peddle does have 2 potentiometers and one is get you home .......which i am sure is a 2k rpm limit and these pots work together but while both sweep to 2k only one carries on above that. i refuse to believe this no fault code no problem attitude when my car clearly has a problem. Fault codes are only a rough idea.
  39. edition
    Offline

    edition Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 9, 2010]
    I vote its the MAP........

    You going to change the throttle body?

    Coxy hasn't got back to us...... maybe he's driving about because he's sorted hehe
  40. glenn-3.2
    Offline

    glenn-3.2 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 9, 2010]
    the garage also said some times issues like we are getting,would point to lamba sensors [being old] and not responding/changing information quick enough, but he's adament it's mapping issues, and although he re-maps he would not garantee success. in all honesty my car has done 59k.and i think i could live with these issues as they are ever so slight.just thought if there was quick fix to get perfect running, i would go for it. plus i've got 12month warranty
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2010

Share This Page