Help me to Understand An 8L S3

Pren

Reaction score
Hi everyone,Ive been following this forum for quite a while but this my very first post:icon_thumright:

Im going to buy an 2001 AMK (154Kw)S3 soon but im totally new to the whole turbo thing I know very less when it comes to turbo'd engines or any engine for that matter,I just need some help understanding everything.I have a few questions so any help or links will be much appreciated.Apologies in advanced for the people who will be bugged by this post.

1.What is a 007p Forge?

2.What does a MAF sensor do?

3.What does a Lambda Sensor do?

4.How would you know if an S3 is in limp mode if there is no boost gauge?Is it easy to fit on a boost gauge?

5.If you had around 2K to spend on engine and interior mods what would you spend it on?Im not looking to race my S3 I just want to improve its reliability im looking to keep it for another 80000 miles then get the 8P S3.

6.What oil is the best for the S3?

7.Ive noticed some S3's have a console which can take a Double Din what model is this?The ones I have seen have like a ashtray/little cubby thing under the climate control.

8.also read in one of the threads that the BAM S3 has a different suspension is this suspension more stiffer or does it have a smoother ride?

9.With regards to wear and tear of the seats is the Alcantara more durable than the Nappa leather?Do all S3's have a storage compartment in the front seats?

10.Is it possible to change the LCD display in the speedo to the LCD you get in the 8P A3?Just a thought:eyebrows:

11.What is a decat exhaust system?does fitting a branch make any difference performance wise?I know it sounds much better.

12.Is a bigger intercooler necessary for a stock S3?

13.If an S3 is remapped is there a significant difference in the performance?

14.Was cruise control an option on the S3?

15.What does a N75 valve/sensor do?

16.Common problems with the S3?