1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help locating / replacing engine mounts - pics please!!!

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by technics100, Nov 15, 2005.

  1. technics100
    Offline

    technics100 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Nov 15, 2005]
    I have a 2002 1.9 Tdi (130bhp) I get an error code with vag-com saying that the engine mount solenoid sensor has an intermittant fault. I believe my car has solenoids built into the engine mounts that adjust the stiffness of the mounts as required. I want to check the wiring etc of each mount and was wondering where to locate each of them. Any pics or a nice diagram from the bentley manual would be much appreciated.

    cheers
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 16, 2014]

  3. Jimmeh
    Offline

    Jimmeh Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,438
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Jul 25, 2010]
    Technics,

    Did you ever have any joy with this?

    Sorry to dig up a thread that is 5 years old, but, I recently had my A4 Avant on VAGCOM and it through up a 17996 fault code - engine mount solenoid valve - open.

    I have read your other posts RE how they work etc, but, did you find a fix for this? If I can locate the valve on the mount, what should I do?

    Any tips much aprpeciated :)
    Jim
    #2
  4. quattrojames
    Online

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,888
    Likes Received:
    477
    [Jul 25, 2010]
    I've had this error code on mine for a couple of years now, I think the complete mound needs replacing when there is a fault. I've never noticed any difference tbh......
    #3
  5. chrisash32
    Offline

    chrisash32 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 26, 2010]
    do any of you lot noticing your car shaking side to side when idle? i had this fault last time i scanned mine.. and the reason i scanned was because was getting these little side to side shake. not noticed any other problems though.
    #4
  6. quattrojames
    Online

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,888
    Likes Received:
    477
    [Jul 26, 2010]
    My car doesn't shake, the V6 is surprisingly smooth at tickover when warm. I can't say I noticed any difference between the times the mount was/wasn't working.
    #5
  7. nanafagis
    Offline

    nanafagis Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 26, 2010]
    Snap. Ive had engine mount code for nearly 2 years and don't think the car drives any differently. Though I've had the fault since I've owned it so it might actually drive like a bag of spanners and I don't know any different. I'd be interested if anybody does locate and replace the engine mounts as this has been on my to do list since I got it. If it's a diy job I'll have a go but ive asked a number of times on forums and nobody seems to know.

    Anyone know of any issues a faulty mount can cause? Aside from a fault code?
    #6

Share This Page