1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help Grrrrr at air con!!!!

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by dantdi, Jul 10, 2008.

  1. dantdi
    Offline

    dantdi ...

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    4
    :sob:HI Got my a3 2004 tdi regased other day. had no joy couldnt get it working. So took it to seat (lol) because audi charge 100 quid to put on there computer. Got them to do it for free they found 3 faults 2 sensors and blower moter fault but blower is working. Now they are saying it's the compressor ?? and possible fault wit radiator cooling fan but compresor need to be changed to be replaced to test further.
    compressor at 4 years old?? bit soon that isnt it ??
    compressor ia about 400 quit +
    #1
  2. khalil
    Offline

    khalil Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    1
    what sort of problems did you have to begin with mate??
    #2
  3. dantdi
    Offline

    dantdi ...

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    4
    Well air con never was great when got the car. just thought it needed regasing but try it about week ago for first time in few months . Now i just get out side tep on LO all time.
    #3
  4. cliveywolves
    Offline

    cliveywolves Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    they can go faulty i had to have a new compresor on my 2007 a3 last week.....
    #4
  5. PaulAr
    Offline

    PaulAr S3 (8P)

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,063
    Likes Received:
    174
    Yep.

    Had the a/c compressor changed on my MK5 Golf at 2 1/2 year old.
    Luckily under VW warranty and unfortunately it aint cheap mate.

    Good luck

    Paul
    #5
  6. crazylegscrane
    Offline

    crazylegscrane Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    10
    I had a compressor replaced on my 2004 2.0 TDI in 2006, I had it on economy over winter and when I first put it back on it just didn't work, not nice when its hot...
    #6
  7. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    #7
  8. Teejay
    Offline

    Teejay Mellow Yellow

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    0
    You're more likely to get issues with compressors failing if you use Eco all the time. The Oil in the refridgerant needs to circulate to keep the moving parts as they should be. If you turn it off for 6 months then you're gonna cause problems. For the sake of 20 miles in a tank and 3bhp loss, why not keep it on all the time?
    #8
  9. newbiecrg
    Offline

    newbiecrg windsurfer

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Exactly Teejay!!! That is why my os always on no matter what!!

    Pedro
    #9
  10. mattandrew
    Offline

    mattandrew Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    5
    Same here mine stays on all the time. We have a fleet of coaches and we service them every year and the same time they do all the cars on our fleet, mines first on the list. If the aircon is not used for long periods of time the seals in the compressor can dry out and the gas can leak out, regassing will not cure the problem as the dry seal will still be there. Running the aircon at least once a week will help keep the seals lubricated
    #10
  11. dantdi
    Offline

    dantdi ...

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    4
    well just had warm air on LO mate all time
    #11
  12. dantdi
    Offline

    dantdi ...

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    4
    HMM time to trade in then ??
    #12
  13. Teejay
    Offline

    Teejay Mellow Yellow

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    0
    doubt it's expensive enough to need trading in, but it's not cheap. :(
    #13
  14. dantdi
    Offline

    dantdi ...

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks all for getting back to me. Any one know where can get cheap parts lol
    #14
  15. dantdi
    Offline

    dantdi ...

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    4
    Just to let you all know got new A/C pump myself from Euro parts for £323 and 25 quid for my old one. Got it fitted to day and needed repairs to condensor fan wireing!
    Not a new fan.
    all in total
    £ 431
    Very happy and cold Wooooo!
    #15
  16. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    So was there actually a fault with the compressor? It doesn't sound like it to me.
    #16
  17. PNH80
    Offline

    PNH80 Low life livin' the high life.

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,633
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well my air con just died (the car is exactly a year old). Booked the car in for it's service and to have this fixed.... I can safely say i wouldn't buy an Audi out of warranty. Technically i just don't trust them enough and they aint cheap to fix...
    #17
  18. synthdood
    Offline

    synthdood Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    4
    I have always found the Aircon in my A3 very weak and have read many complaints about the same problem in the forum over the last few years. I suspect that the original factory fitted pumps are just not strong enough but a replacement pump probably is.
    #18
  19. dantdi
    Offline

    dantdi ...

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    4
    wel what i think is Staz1000 the bad wireing to the condensor caused the pressure switch to fail.
    But presure switch is build in to the compressor i dont think can just buy switch.

    plus need to take the compressor off to change it.
    compressor its self i bet is ok. Bloody electronics again
    Had the old one in bits lol looked fine. Hard to take a part tho.
    Yea PNH80 audi just not reliable any more even more so for cost to get one first place.
    #19

Share This Page