1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help! ESP & ABS light just came on :( :( :(

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by Grangey., Jan 12, 2012.

  1. Grangey.
    Offline

    Grangey. Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jan 12, 2012]
    Yep, just like that out of the blue, both the ESP and ABS Light came on. I restarted the car for it to clear, only to come on 30 seconds later. ESP button is unresponsive when its on.

    Any ideas? :(

    God I hope its not expensive :(
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 28, 2014]

  3. Mike B
    Online

    Mike B Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Jan 12, 2012]
    Brake light switch?
    #2
  4. Grangey.
    Offline

    Grangey. Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jan 12, 2012]
    ...Are you able to elaborate?
    #3
  5. hades-
    Offline

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,024
    Likes Received:
    542
    [Jan 12, 2012]
    when the brake light switch packs in it puts abs esp light on
    your better off scanning it for fault codes
    #4
  6. quattrojames
    Online

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,931
    Likes Received:
    488
    [Jan 12, 2012]
    A fault in the brake light circuit can cause this, be it a bulb out or a faulty pedal switch (most common).

    If the brake lights are working fine then it might an abs sensor or something, best bet is to try and get a scan done.
    #5
  7. Grangey.
    Offline

    Grangey. Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jan 12, 2012]
    How much do audi charge for scans?

    How much is a brake light switch and is it something im likely to be able to do myself?
    #6
  8. hades-
    Offline

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,024
    Likes Received:
    542
    [Jan 12, 2012]
    very easy to do
    10 min job but why replace unless you know its at fault
    try your brake lights 1st
    #7
  9. Grangey.
    Offline

    Grangey. Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jan 12, 2012]
    any ideas on cost of the switch?
    #8
  10. hades-
    Offline

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,024
    Likes Received:
    542
    [Jan 12, 2012]
    cant rember what i paid was defo under 20 quid tho
    #9
  11. hades-
    Offline

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,024
    Likes Received:
    542
    [Jan 12, 2012]
    audi charge to much for a scan where u from
    #10
  12. Grangey.
    Offline

    Grangey. Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jan 12, 2012]
    Im in Oxford- so it deffo wont be cheap.

    For the sake of under £20 il give the switch a shot lol.

    Any guides or how tos on it? No idea where to find it!
    #11
  13. quattrojames
    Online

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,931
    Likes Received:
    488
    [Jan 12, 2012]
    Its on the brake pedal mechanism.

    If you PM me your email I'll send you a pdf guide, it's pretty simple.
    #12
  14. Pabs
    Offline

    Pabs Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    48
    [Jan 12, 2012]
    Audi charge an hours labour rate for a scan which is over £100 (think its actually £135) which is ridiculous, see if someone on here local has vag com, its definately a worthwhile tool to have
    #13
  15. Grangey.
    Offline

    Grangey. Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jan 13, 2012]
    Yep, it does appear to be the break switch.

    Drove for as long as possible to work without using my brakes at all and the lights remained off for a good 5 minutes, a second after I used the brakes they both shot on.

    So il get one of them ordered and hope that sorts it :)

    I assume my brake lights still work? I havnt been able to check yet!
    #14
  16. quattrojames
    Online

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,931
    Likes Received:
    488
    [Jan 13, 2012]
    I doubt they do.
    #15
  17. S3 GAZ
    Offline

    S3 GAZ Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Jan 14, 2012]
    £10 ish from audi. 10mins to fit and break your back when your upside down with your head in the footwell lol

    When i did mine. The switch is located on the metal arm of the brake pedal. Just unclip wiring connector and remove the switch. the new one will probably look different as mines did but its probably an upgraded design.
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2012
    #16

Share This Page