Help, engine feels like it's misfiring

• Thread starter imported_spuddie007
  • Start date
I

imported_spuddie007

Hi All

Haven't driven the car for a few days, took it for a spin today (it's an S3) and usually feels juddery for half a mile, then fine when it's cold.

Today, the car wouldn't pull away, although there was power if youi put your put down, but felt like there was no power in the mid-range at all.

Still feels juddery, afetr running the car on side roads for a few miles, but isn't feeling right? I'm no mechanic or expert, so just wanted to know if anyone had any ideas as to what it could be?

Cheers in advance for your help guys!

Spuddie

That sounds dangerously, hideously expensive. Okay, what am I looking at in cost then? Hit me?

Coilpacks are about £28 each from audi for the part, it could also be your MAF (mass airflow meter) which is about £80 for the part, but it's quite unlikely this would have failed so suddenly without any hesitation before.

Does it feel like it's only running on 3 of the 4 cylinders - if it does it's probably coilpack related.

[ QUOTE ]
Coilpacks are about £28 each from audi for the part, it could also be your MAF (mass airflow meter) which is about £80 for the part, but it's quite unlikely this would have failed so suddenly without any hesitation before.

Does it feel like it's only running on 3 of the 4 cylinders - if it does it's probably coilpack related.

[/ QUOTE ]

Yep, definately feels like all the cylinders aren't firing, so to speak. Oh well, another expensive trip to Audi Stealer tommorrow (don't really feel comfortable doing that kind of stuff myself!)

[ QUOTE ]
[ QUOTE ]

[/ QUOTE ]

Yep, definately feels like all the cylinders aren't firing, so to speak. Oh well, another expensive trip to Audi Stealer tommorrow (don't really feel comfortable doing that kind of stuff myself!)

[/ QUOTE ]