1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help - Buying Cable Online

Discussion in 'VCDS (formerly VAG-COM) forum' started by griffin, May 25, 2012.

  1. griffin
    Offline

    griffin Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 25, 2012]
    Hello.
    I have thinking of getting a VAG-COM cable and i found one online thats cheap and that seems to work with my car according to their description but im not sure and i would like to get some confirmation on it. The cable version is 11.10 ( there are other versions there but i this seems to be the more recent there). Will this version work on my 2007 a3 8p? Has anyone bought their cable in online stores ( cheaper cables)?
    Thanks for the help
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 20, 2014]

  3. a6_chris
    Offline

    a6_chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    152
    [May 25, 2012]
    If its too good to be true - then it probably is.

    Probably a fake copy mate
    #2
  4. griffin
    Offline

    griffin Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 25, 2012]
    Im guessing it is a copy/clone cable, especially considering the price. But are any dangers for cables like this? Could it mess up the car electronics or something like that?
    #3
  5. a6_chris
    Offline

    a6_chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    152
    [May 25, 2012]
    Dont think so - you wont get any support from rosstech if anything goes wrong.

    And yes, that version will work on your car.
    #4
  6. griffin
    Offline

    griffin Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 25, 2012]
    Thanks for the help! :thumbsup:
    I might get it, but i will look more into vag-com tutorials and articles to see if there are any changes i would like to do,because right now what i wanted most is to test the car because i get a strange "bip" when i start it but the error message on the screen disappears quickly,so i want to see what thats all about.
    #5
  7. Ste_Nova
    Offline

    Ste_Nova Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,225
    Likes Received:
    43
    [May 26, 2012]
    #6
  8. griffin
    Offline

    griffin Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 26, 2012]
    Thats exactly the one i was thinking of getting, same store and everything. I just didn't post it because i didn't know the rules about posting links(if it was allowed or not).
    So this is of course a clone cable right? It probably couldn't be used with their original software or connected to the internet(i think i read something about cables like this stop working if you put your computer online)?
    #7
  9. a6_chris
    Offline

    a6_chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    152
    [May 26, 2012]
    Yep if you update it it makes the cable inoperative.

    Genuine all the way IMO

    Nigel (NHN) can supply a genuine one cheaper than retail.
    #8
  10. Ste_Nova
    Offline

    Ste_Nova Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,225
    Likes Received:
    43
    [May 26, 2012]
    and later on you can sell your genuine cable on ebay for £15 less than you paid from NHN so you will never loose much ££ anyway
    #9
    Charles Tait likes this.
  11. Sandra
    Offline

    Sandra MODERATOR Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    16,182
    Likes Received:
    2,384
    [May 26, 2012]
    User NHN for genuine cable. Money well spent, fully supported by Ross - Tech and good reliable service. Its a worthwhile investment. :) x
    #10

Share This Page